HyperDeck Studio Mini

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Gary Payne

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:34 am

HyperDeck Studio Mini

PostFri Dec 01, 2017 10:45 am

Hej, Am i right in reading that the HyperDeck mini can't record in H.264 codec?
Is the lowest codec Pro res Proxy.
If this is the case how do i record in H.264 ,having a stand alone recorder and not to computer.
This is for a large music house , needing to record live shows to Sd card or to network, and then to be given to the client after the show without conversion and filling up 100gb.
Shows are normally 3 hours and H.264 gives the needed quality while not being too heavy for the client.
Thanks Gary.
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2991
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: HyperDeck Studio Mini

PostTue Dec 05, 2017 12:09 am

The only option for stand alone recording in H.264 from us is the Blackmagic Duplicator 4K.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

Andrew Martin

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: HyperDeck Studio Mini

PostTue Dec 05, 2017 3:56 pm

Tony,
What's the h264 bit rate recording settings available to the duplicator 4k ?

I couldn't find the info from the website.

A.
Offline

Gary Adams

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 458
  • Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:14 am

Re: HyperDeck Studio Mini

PostTue Dec 05, 2017 5:18 pm

Hello Andrew. The bit rates are on a chart in the manual which you may download from the Support section of the web site.

Regards, Gary
Gary Adams
Blackmagic Design
Offline

Andrew Martin

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: HyperDeck Studio Mini

PostWed Dec 06, 2017 8:33 pm

Tnx Gary.
I did think of that after my initial post and did so.

I have noticed a post here today that references broken segmented recordings and an inability to name the actual recording media, instead files are saved in device as..
BMD duplicator 4K (0000)
BMD duplicator 4K (0001)
BMD duplicator 4K (0002).

Is that so? Does it have the ability to name the card /files whilst in situ?
As both of these inabilities, if true would have it appear limited in its intended use case. Instead id much prefer one continuous file (as I think is indicated in the sales material) With an ability to name it for eg. School recitals Dec 6th 2017 or something more meaning full than BMD duplicator 4k 0000 given the shown expectation in selling the recordings/media to an expected non tech present audience.

A.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests