Resolve 14 closes when opening project

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Nick Kurucsev

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:26 am

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostFri Sep 29, 2017 5:42 am

I also have this problem running GTX 1080 TI Driver 384.94
So I would say it certainly isn't just happening to people with
older NVIDIA cards.
It has only happened twice and both times i had to reboot my computer.
Thanks,
Nick
DR 14 Studio
Dell T7910 Dual 2678v3 Xeon 64Gig Ram Windows 10 GTX1080TI
Offline

Robert Westendorp

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:08 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostFri Sep 29, 2017 3:19 pm

Hi Folks,

Ah, ok, I didn't see the CUDA 3.0 requirement anywhere. I know I saw a list of cards that were < CUDA 2.0 not being supported. Thanks Guys! Makes sense.

Any chance of adding something so this type of easier to diagnose? Like a pop-up vs just quietly crashing?

Thanks again,
Robert.
Offline

Robert Westendorp

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:08 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostFri Sep 29, 2017 3:35 pm

ah, I was looking at this thread I was looking at that said min CUDA 2.0

viewtopic.php?t=47271

I missed that there was reference to CUDA 3.0 in this thread.
Offline

Nick Mercer

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostFri Oct 06, 2017 7:08 am

I get the same problem, however, I am using a mac on High Sierra. 2016 15" MBP with 4GB Radeon.
The mac app store version works fine. The version from the website crashes when I try to open a project. Everytime.

Logs show these errors:
[0x700010c9d000] | GPUManager | INFO | 2017-10-05 23:42:02,858 | Skipping unsupported device Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6920HQ CPU @ 2.90GHz
[0x700010c9d000] | GPUManager | INFO | 2017-10-05 23:42:02,858 | Found qualified OpenCL board 0: platform - Apple, vendor - Apple, device name - Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 id - 0x1024500, global memory size (MB) - 1536, local memory size (KB) - 64, max global memory alloc size (MB) - 384
[0x700010c9d000] | GPUManager | INFO | 2017-10-05 23:42:02,858 | Found qualified OpenCL board 1: platform - Apple, vendor - Apple, device name - AMD Radeon Pro 460 Compute Engine id - 0x1021c00, global memory size (MB) - 4096, local memory size (KB) - 32, max global memory alloc size (MB) - 1024
[0x700010c9d000] | GPUManager | INFO | 2017-10-05 23:42:02,858 | Skipping Intel device Intel(R) HD Graphics 530
[0x700010c9d000] | GPUManager | INFO | 2017-10-05 23:42:02,858 | 1 OpenCL boards detected
[0x700010c9d000] | GPUManager | ERROR | 2017-10-05 23:42:02,864 | No OpenCL boards available
[0x700010c9d000] | IP | ERROR | 2017-10-05 23:42:02,864 | Failed to initialize OpenCL boards

[0x7fff89480340] | UI | ERROR | 2017-10-05 23:42:18,783 | Failed to find value '524287' in combo-box
[0x7fff89480340] | UI | ERROR | 2017-10-05 23:42:24,005 | Failed to find value '-1' in combo-box
[0x700012198000] | GPUManager | ERROR | 2017-10-05 23:42:26,860 | MultiBoardManager.cpp 515: void ReactorGPU::MultiBoardManager::ScheduleJobInternal(const ReactorGPU::BoardIdx &, ReactorGPU::JobEntry *): Assertion 'p_Board.boardIndex < getNumBoards()' Failed
Offline

Johannes Holz

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:35 am

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostFri Nov 03, 2017 5:31 pm

Oh no, that's why! I was already wondering, why I get a black image when I use a LUT (and it crashes sometimes at various tasks; not too often though).
Everything else seems to be working fine and fast (just editing 5h of footage).
Why don't the LUTs work, but manual color correction does? Is there no way to make it work?
It seems to work on a ******* Laptop of mine without a dedicated GPU (it "works" but eveything is pretty slow).
Is there any reason you "restrict" those older GPUs, or did you just not bother, because they're old?
Seems like I'm gonna have to buy a new GPU :( this is the first time, that this is an issue for any program that I use though... "Unfortunately" a good and useful program that I need...
Offline

Mike Dettmer

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostMon Nov 06, 2017 7:13 pm

No problems running with 14 beta, now updated to resolve 14 and wont stay open, tried all suggestions my card is Quadro m4000 with 64gb ram scores 5.2 so is fast enough.

Reason I want to try Resolve was that I foolishly thought it may be better than Premiere Pro cc and its constant problems, but at least that runs.

From what I have read, many people can't run the programme, so stop wasting their time pretending they are at fault and also side tracking the problem by asking for logs etc, it don't open, it did, end of story.

So to put this as simple as poss: IS BM GOING TO FIX IT?

No iff or butts it don't work, thanks for reading and if this upsets then please fix it!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3629
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostMon Nov 06, 2017 10:33 pm

@Nick: Open a Terminal window. Type:

/Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve/oclDeviceQuery > ocl.txt<RETURN>

Put the resulting text here, or link to the ocl.txt file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Sam Weston

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:36 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostTue Nov 07, 2017 5:36 am

I just started getting this today, too. No way to set up a log, but I ran Resolve through the command line and here's what it spat out:
Code: Select all
sam@theseus ~ $ /opt/resolve/bin/resolve
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= 2282, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= 8, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c005, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c006, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c007, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
14.0.1 (#008)
Main thread starts: 2280EB00
[0x7f632280eb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2017-11-06 23:27:17,982 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[0x7f632280eb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2017-11-06 23:27:17,982 | Loaded log config from /opt/resolve/configs/log-conf.xml
[0x7f632280eb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2017-11-06 23:27:17,982 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Opening communication to resolve..
Resolve communication is open and waiting..
Accepted new client
Reallocating buffer: 65536, need 69312, will go: 131072
Socket disconnected
Segmentation fault
sam@theseus ~ $ Socket disconnected

Resolve 14.0.1 / Nvidia GTX 1060, driver 384.90 / Linux Mint
(And yes, this happens on CentOS too, on a clean install of the ISO Blackmagic provided.)
Offline

BryceBertola

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:46 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostSun Nov 12, 2017 10:18 pm

Hey there, I'm jumping on the bandwagon since this seems relevant. I downloaded DaVinci Resolve 14 on a windows 10, I had a previous version of Resolve that worked normally. I can open Resolve, create a project, and start adding media to the pool. I can also start to edit, but when i begin previewing media or trying to drag files into the pool, I get the dreaded "DaVinci Resolve has stopped working" dialogue.

I am using resolve v14.0.1.008 as it was the only version available for download.

After reading through this thread, I switched to OpenCL in the preferences but the crash continues.

Here is the Capture Logs Disagnostic file - redmonstergaming.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20171112-145339.zip

Here is the oclDeviceQuery text output - redmonstergaming.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/ocl.txt

As mentioned before, I had some revision of v13 that ran without problem on this same hardware setup on windows 10.
CPU: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz
GPU: AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3629
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostTue Nov 14, 2017 4:14 am

@Bryce: What version of the AMD Crimson driver do you have installed?

Please run Windows System Information and save that as a .nfo file and post a link to that.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

BryceBertola

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:46 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostTue Nov 14, 2017 6:34 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:@Bryce: What version of the AMD Crimson driver do you have installed?

Please run Windows System Information and save that as a .nfo file and post a link to that.


Dwaine, I downloaded the latest driver versions (17.11.1) last night and things are working now! Got a little ahead of myself after the fresh windows install. :(

Thanks for the quick response.
CPU: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz
GPU: AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB
Offline

JohnLabbe

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:42 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostMon Nov 27, 2017 6:26 pm

I am having this same problem.

Background: I am a very new user of DR14, and have used it for about two weeks, during which I created several projects that I rendered and uploaded to YouTube. Yesterday I installed a new hard drive. After re-installing Windows 10, I downloaded the latest version of DR14 and installed it. Now, when I open Resolve I get the Project Manager window but the application closes immediately when I try to open the default new project or create another new one.

I have saved my system info and ran a batch file of the Resolve diagnostic log. These files can be viewed via Dropbox, so I guess a message to me for the link is necessary?

I think that my video card should be compatible with DR14 but after reading the system requirements in the ReadMe file, I wonder if it's a problem that my operating system is Win10 Home and not Win10 Pro. If so, has this requirement changed recently? I haven't changed my operating system other than to load it onto the new hard drive and had been using Resolve successfully with it before.

I will greatly appreciate any help anyone can give, as I have only a few days before I am scheduled to upload the next video in a series - and I need to get Resolve working in order to do so.

Thanks.
Resolve 14.1.1
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT730
Offline

JohnLabbe

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:42 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostMon Nov 27, 2017 9:50 pm

After posting my issue earlier today, I took a good look at the contents of my system information file. I saw that two different video adapters were showing. One appeared to be the adapter built into the mother board and the other was clearly my Nvidia card. I disabled the onboard adapter and after a reboot launched Resolve. This time, I was able to open a project and even create and save new projects. For now, it seems that I may have solved my own problem.

However, I'm still curious if anyone thinks I might run into trouble at some point because I'm using the Home version of Win10 and not the Pro version. Any thoughts?

Thanks.
Resolve 14.1.1
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT730
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostTue Nov 28, 2017 12:51 am

Not had any problems with any DR14 version on Win10 Home. The only serious problem was the Win10 Creators update which shut down my GPU and would not allow it to be re-enabled. Only solved by a reinstall of Win 10.
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce GTX 750Ti, Win 10 Home, DaVinci Resolve 14.2 free.
Dell Precision 490 dual 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, Win 7 Ultimate, Pro Tools 12.8.2, Wavelab
Offline

DickDavis

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:23 am

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 4:34 am

Rick Emerson wrote:
Bela Pesics wrote:I've found a fix (switching to OpenCL from CUDA). Now it starts and seems to work fine...

Find your Resolve config.dat file and stick this in the end:
Code: Select all
Local.GPU.Mode = OpenCL


enjoy ;)


Or open the project page and use CTL+comma to open the preferences page. Chose OpenCL in the preferences. The point here: no file editing needed.

(I wish I could credit a user here who told me about the above)


Once I get it to open using the CTRL, where exactly do I choose "open CL"? I don't see it anywhere.
Offline

DickDavis

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:23 am

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 10:44 pm

Allow me to ask the big question - Does this problem happen with the full paid version?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3629
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 closes when opening project

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 11:19 pm

Assuming you have the Resolve Preferences window open, select System - Hardware Configuration - GPU Processing mode, and select OpenCL.

Save the preferences and restart Resolve for the change to take effect.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Piotr Wozniacki, Uli Plank and 18 guests