Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Setting Viewer LUT Default

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

daniel.partzsch

  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:13 am
  • Location: Berlin

Setting Viewer LUT Default

PostTue Feb 06, 2018 11:57 am

Hey,

I almost all the time working with OpenEXR files which were created in Cinema 4D with "Linear Workflow" enabled and using sRGB as "Input Color Profile". From Fusion I then export files with a "sRGB" set for the output gamma space. So in order to see my colors as intended when I am working in Fusion I always find myself enabling "LUT" in the viewer, switching to "Gamut View LUT" and edit the LUT to use "sRGB" as "Output Space" as well. Is there a way to set the viewer to these settings by default (so also for all of my viewers)? Thanks!
Offline

alan bovine

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Setting Viewer LUT Default

PostTue Feb 06, 2018 12:50 pm

right click in the viewer > settings > save new defaults

If you want to use a buffer lut that also works in 3d space :

Disable your LUT button on the viewer, then
right click in the viewer > global options > buffer lut > enable
right click in the viewer > settings > save new defaults

The settings files are stored in your fusion config files so you can easily copy and paste them between installs/machines/network storage.

Note that you need to set this to each one of the viewer and each one of their A/B settings. Unless you override it in the preferences, which you can also do.
Fusion video tutorials : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTCeDas53OEcWcRujkQiwLg/videos?view_as=subscriber
Fusion Tools : https://github.com/statixVFX/stx_tools
Nuke 2 Fusion nodes : https://github.com/statixVFX/nuke2fusion
Offline

daniel.partzsch

  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:13 am
  • Location: Berlin

Re: Setting Viewer LUT Default

PostTue Feb 06, 2018 1:04 pm

Great, thanks Alan!


alan bovine wrote:right click in the viewer > settings > save new defaults

If you want to use a buffer lut that also works in 3d space :

Disable your LUT button on the viewer, then
right click in the viewer > global options > buffer lut > enable
right click in the viewer > settings > save new defaults

The settings files are stored in your fusion config files so you can easily copy and paste them between installs/machines/network storage.

Note that you need to set this to each one of the viewer and each one of their A/B settings. Unless you override it in the preferences, which you can also do.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: majstorovich and 7 guests