Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Julien Cadilhac

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:16 am

Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostThu Feb 08, 2018 9:16 am

Hello,
I recovered a used Workgroup Videohub without power, with a plug as in the photo —clic on it to see it complete— (it is specified "Power + 5V 6A"). In order to test it, I would like to know first:
- Where is the + terminal and the minus terminal on this kind of plug?
- Can I use a 5V 0.2-2.5A transformer? (see photo too) which is the one that comes closest to the stock I have. Or do I risk damaging the Videohub

I found it on Amazon, will it be good for me ? But how to know where are + and - ??
[url]https://www.amazon.fr/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?__mk_fr_FR=ÅMÅŽÕÑ&url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=DC5V+30W+6A+Power+Supply[/url]


3rd question: what driver software do I have to download to drive it via USB from my computer? Is the latest Blackmagic Videohub 6.4 Update going to be compatible?


Thanks for your help
Attachments
IMG_3723.JPG
IMG_3723.JPG (1003.1 KiB) Viewed 1138 times
Offline

Andrew Martin

  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostThu Feb 08, 2018 8:54 pm

Whilst I cant tell you the polarity of that plug I can tell you that pwr supply is under rated
Supply 2½ amps when 6 is asked for isn't gonna cut it. Sure it might start or even power up
but amps are the 'power' (current) that push volts around a circuit. Kinda like pulling 2 plug caps of you car engine.
sure it'll run but it won't hit its top speed and fall flat on it's ar** when it comes to the first uphill :D

A.
Last edited by Andrew Martin on Fri Feb 09, 2018 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Julien Cadilhac

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:16 am

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostThu Feb 08, 2018 9:19 pm

Thank You.
Offline

Julien Cadilhac

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:16 am

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostMon Feb 12, 2018 12:18 pm

Hello, I managed to feed my Videohub. I have two red LEDs next to the USB socket. They are streaming, except when I connect the USB plug to my computer. The left LED will blink.

Communication with Blackmagic Videohub Setup and Controol software is going well. I can do the settings etc, rename the inputs and outputs, affect the routing.

But I do not have any video signal. I tried bcp of input / output configurations. And I tried with a source in 1081 50i and a source in 1080 25p = NOTHING!

Any idea ?
Offline

Julien Cadilhac

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:16 am

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostFri Feb 16, 2018 9:42 am

frankly, I do not understand how NOTHING works, no combination of inputs / outputs.

Would someone here have spistes to help me please.

Thank you very much.
Julien (France)
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2393
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostFri Feb 16, 2018 12:37 pm

Might be that the hub is dead?! Control logic / software interface is a different chip as the actual router that is inside..

Try with a resolution and framerate of 1280x720 or 1920x1080i because these older hubs are probably 1,5Gb maximum.. I'm not sure if 25P was a standard back then.. ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Julien Cadilhac

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:16 am

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostMon Feb 19, 2018 4:47 pm

Thanks for the advice, I had already tried.
It's the same thing in 720 50p and 1080 50i ...

By the way, my temporary power supply only 2A, could that play on the operation while the original power supply 6A?

I demoted the machine to see if there were things in it to check, but I do not have access to anything other than the back of the e-card.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2393
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostMon Feb 19, 2018 10:07 pm

Yes that can be very good your problem.. You could even kill your hardware running it off a 2Amp power supply instead of 6A..

Your power supply can not keep up with the power needed by the actual router chip. This does not get enough power to run and will not startup / propper reset / or struggeling..

But also the high demand on your power supply may break your power supply and depending on the design of the powersupply may even give up and apply much much higher voltage to the output. Killing your videohub instantly!!

So stop using a crappy powersupply and get a decent one at wallmart or LED webshop.. Led power supplys are often in high output power versions.. you need a 12V 6A or 75W power supply at least!!!
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Andrew Martin

  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostTue Feb 20, 2018 11:11 am

Told him this 10 days ago.

Why oh why do people ask Q's and then ignore the answers they get.
Makes a waste of time asking in the first place :?
Offline

Julien Cadilhac

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:16 am

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostWed Feb 21, 2018 8:29 am

thank you. It is very difficult to understand English. I go through Google Translate to try to express well. But you know that autonmatic translation is not always very understandable.

In short, I ordered a power supply 2v 6A 30w and will test with. At least, what is certain is that I have spotted range + and range - and even, for info, if on the contrary, nothing happens but it does not alter the machine ( there must be security).

It's 5V and not 12V

I will keep you informed at the reception of the power supply
Offline

Julien Cadilhac

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:16 am

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostWed Feb 28, 2018 9:50 am

Hello, I received my power supply. 5v 6A so 30W
and ....

it works perfectly!
so you needed power for internal processes as you suggested.

thank you all for your help and advice


so I made a great deal (50 euros used! and it works!)



By the way, a little extra question:

does Videohub act as a signal recovery? In other words, does it allow to extend the range of distances between ATEM and cameras eg. I think to make a small flycase with the Videohub to place near the scene to film, to connect the cameras in SDI, and on the other side to connect the Videohub to the control room. The videohub will be halfway, will it boost the signal.

Example:
BMD STUDIO CAMERAS> 50m from SDI> VIDEOHUB <50m from SDI <ATEM 1M / E 4K

will the signal be better than
BMD STUDIO CAMERAS> 100m from SDI <ATEM 1M / E 4K

?

thank you for your clarification
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2393
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostThu Mar 01, 2018 12:28 pm

Yes that will work.
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Julien Cadilhac

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:16 am

Re: Workgroup Videohub 12x24 to get going again

PostThu Mar 01, 2018 12:50 pm

great !
thanks

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests