Help with Panasonic GH5 File Formats

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

nicklit

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:24 pm
  • Real Name: Nicholas Lituanio

Help with Panasonic GH5 File Formats

PostThu Mar 08, 2018 1:50 am

Hi All-

I'm shooting on the Panasonic GH5 and having a hell of a time getting my footage in with transcoding. I have reviewed the format chart in the User Guide but honestly am having trouble getting to a solution as the last time I **** footage for a living was News and tape.

So I'm looking for a little help on what format I should be capturing to avoid transcoding footage to bring it into Resolve. I would like to import 10 bit 422 MOV files but so far no luck. Specifically I have tested:

3840 x 2160 at 29.97
422/10 bit/LongGOP
150 Mbps
LPCM (48kHz/24bit)

Ideally I could stay in the MOV world and shoot "FHD" or 4K at 422 10 bit at 24/30 and 60 fps based on project needs. The MPS is either 150 or 400 based and it can be All-I or LongGOP.

If I go to the MP4 container I lose functionality in other menu items that I need (don't ask me why). I have been working this for a while and looking for a solution but am stumped.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Nick

Resolve 14.2.0.012
(27-inch, Late 2013) 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
MacOS 10.13.3 (late 2013)
27 Inch IMac 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 263
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: Help with Panasonic GH5 File Formats

PostThu Mar 08, 2018 4:12 am

Hi Nick, are you on the free or paid version of Resolve? Only the paid version supports the Panasonic 10bit files. I use it all the time and no problems with the paid version
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k| 32GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 14.3
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 460
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: Help with Panasonic GH5 File Formats

PostThu Mar 08, 2018 4:13 am

Resolve Studio supports this format, the free version does not.
Offline

nicklit

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:24 pm
  • Real Name: Nicholas Lituanio

Re: Help with Panasonic GH5 File Formats

PostThu Mar 08, 2018 8:11 pm

Thank You Gents...

Guess I am going to pony-up the dough!

Nick
Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
MacOS 10.13.3 (late 2013)
27 Inch IMac 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Offline
User avatar

MikeMeagher

  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm
  • Location: Bellingham, WA. USA

Re: Help with Panasonic GH5 File Formats

PostFri Mar 09, 2018 8:34 pm

I have the full paid version and work with these same exact files with no issues.
Mike Meagher Underwater Cinematographer
Www.meagherproductions.com
Win 10 64 pro I 7 6 core X99 board 64 GB ram
M.2 app drive. 2x SSDs in Raid 0 for cache.
3x spinning HHDs raid 0 for source files.
Dual 2x EVGA1080 ti video cards
Resolve 14.3 studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests