Decklink Duo 2 and Linux problem

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Alex Pirey

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:22 pm

Decklink Duo 2 and Linux problem

PostThu Mar 08, 2018 8:57 am

Exsi 6.5

I've install VM Ubuntu 16
give vm card Decklink Duo 2 via PCI-E Pass-through
built ffmpeg + nvenc + newtek ndi + decklink,

All work well. Can get NDI stream with video on other VMs
But get error, when I try to get stream from 3,4 ports of Decklink card

ffmpeg -f decklink -list_devices 1 -i dummy
ffmpeg version N-90204-ge45d557 Copyright (c) 2000-2018 the FFmpeg developers
built with gcc 5.4.0 (Ubuntu 5.4.0-6ubuntu1~16.04.9) 20160609
configuration: --prefix=/root/ffmpeg_build --pkg-config-flags=--static --extra-cflags=-I/root/ffmpeg_build/include --extra-ldflags=-L/root/ffmpeg_build/lib --bindir=/root/bin --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-nonfree --enable-libass --enable-libfdk-aac --enable-libfreetype --enable-libmp3lame --enable-librtmp --enable-libopus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libx264 --enable-libndi_newtek --enable-decklink
libavutil 56. 8.100 / 56. 8.100
libavcodec 58. 13.102 / 58. 13.102
libavformat 58. 10.100 / 58. 10.100
libavdevice 58. 2.100 / 58. 2.100
libavfilter 7. 12.100 / 7. 12.100
libswscale 5. 0.102 / 5. 0.102
libswresample 3. 0.101 / 3. 0.101
libpostproc 55. 0.100 / 55. 0.100
[decklink @ 0x310e900] Blackmagic DeckLink input devices:
[decklink @ 0x310e900] 'DeckLink Duo (1)'
[decklink @ 0x310e900] 'DeckLink Duo (2)'
[decklink @ 0x310e900] 'DeckLink Duo (3)'
[decklink @ 0x310e900] 'DeckLink Duo (4)'


This works well:

ffmpeg -format_code Hp60 -f decklink -i "DeckLink Duo (1)" -f libndi_newtek -y NDI1
ffmpeg -format_code Hp60 -f decklink -i "DeckLink Duo (2)" -f libndi_newtek -y NDI2

But if we change to Duo (3) or (4):

ffmpeg -format_code Hp60 -f decklink -i "DeckLink Duo (4)" -f libndi_newtek -y NDI4
ffmpeg version N-90204-ge45d557 Copyright (c) 2000-2018 the FFmpeg developers
built with gcc 5.4.0 (Ubuntu 5.4.0-6ubuntu1~16.04.9) 20160609
configuration: --prefix=/root/ffmpeg_build --pkg-config-flags=--static --extra-cflags=-I/root/ffmpeg_build/include --extra-ldflags=-L/root/ffmpeg_build/lib --bindir=/root/bin --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-nonfree --enable-libass --enable-libfdk-aac --enable-libfreetype --enable-libmp3lame --enable-librtmp --enable-libopus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libx264 --enable-libndi_newtek --enable-decklink
libavutil 56. 8.100 / 56. 8.100
libavcodec 58. 13.102 / 58. 13.102
libavformat 58. 10.100 / 58. 10.100
libavdevice 58. 2.100 / 58. 2.100
libavfilter 7. 12.100 / 7. 12.100
libswscale 5. 0.102 / 5. 0.102
libswresample 3. 0.101 / 3. 0.101
libpostproc 55. 0.100 / 55. 0.100
[decklink @ 0x386da00] Found Decklink mode 1920 x 1080 with rate 60.00
[decklink @ 0x386da00] Cannot enable video input
DeckLink Duo (4): Input/output error


Linux w/o GUI.
Offline

Alex Pirey

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:22 pm

Re: Decklink Duo 2 and Linux problem

PostSat Mar 10, 2018 12:13 pm

Any thoughts?
Offline

Alex Pirey

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:22 pm

Re: Decklink Duo 2 and Linux problem

PostThu Mar 29, 2018 1:17 pm

2 weeks and no one answer :(
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2318
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Decklink Duo 2 and Linux problem

PostThu Mar 29, 2018 2:20 pm

Wrong sub forum.. Should have put this in Software Development. ;) Maybe one of the Moderators can move it.

Also this is a User forum.. Sometimes people from BMD chip in.. And in the Software Development subforum there are a few guys from BMD that are quite active to help on such matters. ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Mustafa

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:47 pm
  • Real Name: Mustafa Al Ani

Re: Decklink Duo 2 and Linux problem

PostFri Apr 06, 2018 5:05 pm

I had the same issue using the same card.

To enable the video input on SDI3/4 you need "blackmagic desktop video utility" which requires ubuntu desktop.

Maybe there is another way to do it using command line.. idk :?
Offline

Cameron Nichols

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:05 am

Re: Decklink Duo 2 and Linux problem

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 6:13 am

Hi Alex,

The default configuration for the DeckLink Duo 2 device is in full duplex, ie device 1 input maps to device 3 output and 2 input maps to 4 output.

You can change to 4 half duplex inputs, either through the Desktop Video Setup as Mustafa has described, or you can write a short application to achieve this. See the Desktop Video Developer Suppoty FAQ page under "How to programmatically configure DeckLink Duo 2 and DeckLink Quad 2 in half or full duplex mode"

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/faq/59024

Regards
Cameron
Offline

carlosx86-64

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:57 pm
  • Real Name: Carlos Owusu

Re: Decklink Duo 2 and Linux problem

PostThu May 03, 2018 2:57 pm

Just curious. How did you get PCI Passthrough to work with your VMs? Any special tutorials?

Thanks in advance!

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest