Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

"Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Pavel Kyzlink

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:13 pm

"Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 11:19 am

Hallo all Fusioners,
I have question - is there any way to track Z-Depth position to change Foreground Z-offset in the Merge node? ...

I need composite planes in to the 3D scene render with Z depth (or WP pass) position but with moving camera (Z channel is changing the coordinates - in my situation the plane is moving in Z during the shot) You can pick the color (in Merge-Channels-Foreground Z-Offset), but you cant link it to the Probe modifier (eather animate the value during the time) - is there any easy way to comp planes into 3D render on exactly position?
Pleas help me :-)

Sorry for my english
Pavel
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 668
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: "Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 7:13 pm

You can read it with a Probe if you promote the z channel to a color channel using a ChannelBooleans or CopyAux (Studio only for CopyAux).
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 866
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: "Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostThu Mar 08, 2018 7:32 am

Doesn't have the merge node a "z comp" mode?
Didn't use that for a long time but there is a checkbox like "do z comp"
If your foreground and background have the same depth values it should work
Offline
User avatar

Pavel Kyzlink

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:13 pm

Re: "Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostWed Mar 21, 2018 6:21 pm

michael vorberg wrote:Doesn't have the merge node a "z comp" mode?
Didn't use that for a long time but there is a checkbox like "do z comp"
If your foreground and background have the same depth values it should work


Yeas! You have the z comp mode, but if is yours camera moving the z-depth "color" is changing (but you cant animate the value!!!) You can set the value - but no "right clic animation" posibilities!!! Why? Can you link a script? (read the value from this locked position?)
i did the posproduction of 3D animated movie in Combustion (but i was able to make the problems ower - but now I cant!)
Thanks for your s time :-)
Pavel
Offline
User avatar

Pavel Kyzlink

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:13 pm

Re: "Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostWed Mar 21, 2018 6:39 pm

Bryan Ray wrote:You can read it with a Probe if you promote the z channel to a color channel using a ChannelBooleans or CopyAux (Studio only for CopyAux).


Yeas it is my idea! But you cant link the value of the "Probe" to Z-Link - you can link only the "Perform depth" or dont "perform depth" no the value of "Foreground Z - offset" why? I dont know! its value - the number! But You cant change It!!! WTF!

Pleas solve my problem! :-)
THNKS
Pavel
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 866
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: "Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostWed Mar 21, 2018 7:50 pm

Pavel Kyzlink wrote:
michael vorberg wrote:Doesn't have the merge node a "z comp" mode?
Didn't use that for a long time but there is a checkbox like "do z comp"
If your foreground and background have the same depth values it should work


Yeas! You have the z comp mode, but if is yours camera moving the z-depth "color" is changing (but you cant animate the value!!!) You can set the value - but no "right clic animation" posibilities!!! Why? Can you link a script? (read the value from this locked position?)
i did the posproduction of 3D animated movie in Combustion (but i was able to make the problems ower - but now I cant!)
Thanks for your s time :-)
Pavel


what i meant was if you render you Background footage and with an animated Z and the foreground also with an animated Z then both should still work in Z comp mode. as long as both have the same Z values and camera animation
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 668
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: "Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostWed Mar 21, 2018 8:30 pm

Pavel Kyzlink wrote:
Bryan Ray wrote:You can read it with a Probe if you promote the z channel to a color channel using a ChannelBooleans or CopyAux (Studio only for CopyAux).


Yeas it is my idea! But you cant link the value of the "Probe" to Z-Link - you can link only the "Perform depth" or dont "perform depth" no the value of "Foreground Z - offset" why? I dont know! its value - the number! But You cant change It!!!


Read the advice again. Use a ChannelBooleans to Copy Z into the R channel. Then you can use a Probe modifier to read that new R value.

But your main concern regarding animation of Foreground Z-Offset… I can animate it just fine.

Untitled.png
Untitled.png (73.91 KiB) Viewed 1005 times


Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Merge2_6 = Merge {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            UseOpenCL = Input { Value = 0, },
            PerformDepthMerge = Input { Value = 0, },
            ForegroundZOffset = Input {
               SourceOp = "Merge2_6ForegroundZOffset",
               Source = "Value",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 2860, 16.5 } },
      },
      Merge2_6ForegroundZOffset = BezierSpline {
         SplineColor = { Red = 88, Green = 68, Blue = 235 },
         NameSet = true,
         KeyFrames = {
            [1017] = { -116.84, RH = { 1037.33333333333, -116.921333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
            [1078] = { -117.084, LH = { 1057.66666666667, -117.002666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
         }
      }
   },
   ActiveTool = "Merge2_6"
}
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline
User avatar

Pavel Kyzlink

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:13 pm

Re: "Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostWed Mar 28, 2018 12:25 pm

Thnks,
finaly i Got it!
Thanks for your time!

Bryan Ray wrote:
Pavel Kyzlink wrote:
Bryan Ray wrote:You can read it with a Probe if you promote the z channel to a color channel using a ChannelBooleans or CopyAux (Studio only for CopyAux).


Yeas it is my idea! But you cant link the value of the "Probe" to Z-Link - you can link only the "Perform depth" or dont "perform depth" no the value of "Foreground Z - offset" why? I dont know! its value - the number! But You cant change It!!!


Read the advice again. Use a ChannelBooleans to Copy Z into the R channel. Then you can use a Probe modifier to read that new R value.

But your main concern regarding animation of Foreground Z-Offset… I can animate it just fine.

Untitled.png


Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Merge2_6 = Merge {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            UseOpenCL = Input { Value = 0, },
            PerformDepthMerge = Input { Value = 0, },
            ForegroundZOffset = Input {
               SourceOp = "Merge2_6ForegroundZOffset",
               Source = "Value",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 2860, 16.5 } },
      },
      Merge2_6ForegroundZOffset = BezierSpline {
         SplineColor = { Red = 88, Green = 68, Blue = 235 },
         NameSet = true,
         KeyFrames = {
            [1017] = { -116.84, RH = { 1037.33333333333, -116.921333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
            [1078] = { -117.084, LH = { 1057.66666666667, -117.002666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
         }
      }
   },
   ActiveTool = "Merge2_6"
}
Offline

Mark Grgurev

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:22 am

Re: "Deep" compositing (Merge + zdepth + probe + WP pass))

PostSun Jul 15, 2018 10:16 am

Sorry for necro-posting but I think I did exactly what you were trying to do but without using the z-merge option. Basically, I just used the Custom tool to do a manual depth test. Just type

Code: Select all
if(z1>z2,1,0)


into all the color channels and 1 into the alpha channel and that will give you a luminance mask that you can then apply to the first image/video you connected to it. It will always composite it correctly into 3D space without needing to animate anything.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kel Philm and 5 guests