Blackmagic eGPU settings for Resolve.

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

gazcarr

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:45 am

Blackmagic eGPU settings for Resolve.

PostSun Aug 12, 2018 5:14 am

So I just bought the new Blackmagic eGPU to speed up Resolve on my 2016 MacBook Pro but I can hardly see any difference in speed. I’m new to using eGPUs and I can’t seem to find any instructions about optimal settings to use in Da Vinci Resolve 15 in order to get the most out of using the eGPU so can anyone shed some light on the settings I should be using? Thanks in advance :-)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 835
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Blackmagic eGPU settings for Resolve.

PostSun Aug 12, 2018 6:01 am

There are no “special” setting for the eGPU in resolve. Only you have to make sure it is active / selected in the resolve system prefferences and not your internal mbp gpu.
If you want to use more then 1 gpu (recommended only if similar power and gpu memory otherwise slowest card will be the bottleneck) then you need the studio version.
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig :HACK OSX10.12.4 | 4790K | 2xGTX980ti | 32GB | DRS 15.2
V: CUDA387.128 | 378.05.05.05f02 | DTV10.11.2 | MiniMon-SDI |HDlink
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline

garethcarr

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:44 am
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Blackmagic eGPU settings for Resolve.

PostSun Aug 12, 2018 9:35 am

I am using Resolve Studio using the following settings attached. Do I need to change anything?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-08-12 at 19.32.33.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-12 at 19.32.33.png (101.17 KiB) Viewed 259 times
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3674
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Blackmagic eGPU settings for Resolve.

PostSun Aug 12, 2018 11:00 am

That's fine, but to see obvious advantages, you'll need to use demanding effects, like NR, Film Grain or the like.
And 4K should present more challenges than HD. Codecs that need to be decoded by the CPU might be a bottleneck now.

Actually, an eGPU will not suddenly turn your laptop into a workstation. The biggest gains are to be expected when you are using a laptop without any decent GPU, like the 13" with Intel graphics.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 835
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Blackmagic eGPU settings for Resolve.

PostSun Aug 12, 2018 5:05 pm

p.s. Also try OpenCL instead of Metal to see if which one is better as you have AMD card.
Then throw in some GPU accelerated OFX FX and you should easily see a difference between your internal card and the eGPU.
Try all combinations (dual vs single card, opencl, metal ) and stick with what is best for your codec/workflow etc
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig :HACK OSX10.12.4 | 4790K | 2xGTX980ti | 32GB | DRS 15.2
V: CUDA387.128 | 378.05.05.05f02 | DTV10.11.2 | MiniMon-SDI |HDlink
A: 5.1RME-FireFace

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests