Why does Blackmagic RAW SDK use .idl at windows platform?

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

yoshimura

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:21 am
  • Real Name: Atsushi Yoshimura

Why does Blackmagic RAW SDK use .idl at windows platform?

PostFri Sep 21, 2018 2:34 am

Hi, Blackmagic RAW SDK looks so cool.

But, Why does Blackmagic RAW SDK use .idl at windows platform?
I think It causes unnecessary difficulty. Are there frequently used set of the .lib .dll .h ?

cheers.
Offline

Anton Shekhovtsov

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:22 pm
  • Real Name: Anton Shekhovtsov

Re: Why does Blackmagic RAW SDK use .idl at windows platform

PostTue Sep 25, 2018 8:43 pm

I guess com framework is supported by many languages, that's the reason.
In fact there is direct export from the dll: "CreateBlackmagicRawFactoryInstance", so you can use it too.
Offline
User avatar

yoshimura

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:21 am
  • Real Name: Atsushi Yoshimura

Re: Why does Blackmagic RAW SDK use .idl at windows platform

PostWed Sep 26, 2018 2:34 pm

Hi Anton.

I understand. I succeeded to get IBlackmagicRawFactory * by LoadLibrary and GetProcAddress.

Code: Select all
        typedef IBlackmagicRawFactory* (_stdcall *CreateBlackmagicRawFactoryInstance)(void);
        HMODULE hMod = LoadLibraryA("BlackmagicRawAPI.dll");
        CreateBlackmagicRawFactoryInstance createBlackmagicRawFactoryInstance = (CreateBlackmagicRawFactoryInstance)GetProcAddress(hMod, "CreateBlackmagicRawFactoryInstance");


it's so simpler than regsvr32 BlackmagicRawAPI.dll aproach.

Thank you!!

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests