Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Pete Tomkies

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 9:22 am

Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostTue Jan 08, 2019 6:37 pm

I am considering the Blackmagic Micro Converter BiDirectional SDI/HDMI to enable my Blackmagic Pocket 4K camera (when it arrives!) to talk to my SDI-in only electronic viewfinder.

The camera can output up to 1080P at 120fps via its HDMI but the Blackmagic Micro Converter BiDirectional SDI/HDMI is only able to handle up to 60fps. What will happen if I input 120fps, will it just output a blank screen or could the covnerter be damaged?

Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3830
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostTue Jan 08, 2019 8:30 pm

The converter will not lock at anything else then the resolutions and framerates. Also 120Fps is not a SDI standard.. So i wonder why you would benefit from it IF you could convert it.. As your monitor will not be able to handle 120Fps on sdi either.. (apart from Atomos screens.. But those 120Fps on sdi are special protocol and only usable on cameras described in their manual! As it is not real sdi anymore.. ) ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Pete Tomkies

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 9:22 am

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostTue Jan 08, 2019 8:57 pm

Xtreemtec wrote:The converter will not lock at anything else then the resolutions and framerates. Also 120Fps is not a SDI standard.. So i wonder why you would benefit from it IF you could convert it.. As your monitor will not be able to handle 120Fps on sdi either.. (apart from Atomos screens.. But those 120Fps on sdi are special protocol and only usable on cameras described in their manual! As it is not real sdi anymore.. ) ;)

Thanks for your help :)

If I was shooting at 120fps it would be so that I could replay at 24fps for extreme slow motion. I will be able to use my EVF up to 60fps and then will need to rely on the screen for the times when I need to shoot very high frame rates.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3830
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostWed Jan 09, 2019 12:50 pm

Well in most cases, recording at 120Fps does not say the output of the camera is also 120Fps.. Almost all cameras just output 50/60 fps on there HDMI / SDI connector.. They leave out frames to do so.. ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Pete Tomkies

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 9:22 am

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostThu Jan 10, 2019 1:45 pm

Now that would be great news! I will ask in the Cinematography forum.

Thanks for your help!
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2624
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostThu Jan 10, 2019 3:12 pm

I've tried it out for you on my PCC4k and Shogun Inferno. Even at offspeed 120/60 the HDMI outputs a 1080p60 signal to the monitor.
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Pete Tomkies

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 9:22 am

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostFri Jan 11, 2019 2:01 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:I've tried it out for you on my PCC4k and Shogun Inferno. Even at offspeed 120/60 the HDMI outputs a 1080p60 signal to the monitor.

That's awesome, thank you so much for taking the time to do that Robert :)
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2624
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostSun Jan 13, 2019 2:33 pm

Pete Tomkies wrote:
Robert Niessner wrote:I've tried it out for you on my PCC4k and Shogun Inferno. Even at offspeed 120/60 the HDMI outputs a 1080p60 signal to the monitor.

That's awesome, thank you so much for taking the time to do that Robert :)



You are welcome! :)
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Niklas Olofsson

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:00 pm

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostTue Feb 26, 2019 8:23 pm

Have anybody tested higher frame rates with the new Atomos Shinobi?
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3830
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostWed Feb 27, 2019 8:03 pm

Niklas Olofsson wrote:Have anybody tested higher frame rates with the new Atomos Shinobi?

Euh what higher framerate?? :roll:


Code: Select all
4K 4096 x 2160    23.98p, 24p, 25p, 29.97p
UHD 3840 x 2160   23.98p, 24p, 25p, 29.97p
HD 1920 x 1080    23.98p, 24p, 25p, 29.97p, 50p, 59.94p
HD 1280 x 720     50p, 59.94p
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Niklas Olofsson

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:00 pm

Re: Blackmagic Micro Converter high frame video

PostWed Feb 27, 2019 8:16 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:I've tried it out for you on my PCC4k and Shogun Inferno. Even at offspeed 120/60 the HDMI outputs a 1080p60 signal to the monitor.



... I suppose the Shinobi will act like the Shogun .. max 60 with 1080 and 30 with 4K not matter what offspeed is set?

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JMSAZA and 4 guests