Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Tracking Paint in Fusion

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Baptiste Carrara

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:02 am

Tracking Paint in Fusion

PostMon Dec 24, 2018 12:36 am

Hey there,

Recently started using Fusion along side the Color tab and I seem to be stuck on a pretty armature issue. For reference, the shot pans down.

So I have this dirty sign:
1.jpg
Dirty sign
1.jpg (198.11 KiB) Viewed 974 times


And I wanted to clean it up, pulled up the Paint tool and clone stamped it.
2.jpg
Clean sign
2.jpg (195.82 KiB) Viewed 974 times


Great, I go to track it using the planar tracker, tracking works great, and I line it up as shown.
3.png
Nodes
3.png (60.91 KiB) Viewed 974 times


Great, then I hit play and... it falls apart. It seems to be tracking and moving the entire source into the paint, and not just the paint effect itself.
I can't post more than 3 images, so here is a link to the issue.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6at0z0a7kr17fpi/4.jpg?dl=0

I'm sure I'm doing something super stupid, but can't figure it out.

Thanks.
Ursa Mini 4.6K
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1221
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Tracking Paint in Fusion

PostMon Dec 24, 2018 9:06 am

You are right. That is what is happening, because you feed the original - presumably moving - image into the paint node.

This creates a new composite image of the original combined with the painted result.
What you need to do is create a freeze image of your sign. Use a timestretcher with the source time set to what you want your source to be.

Then do your painting. Mask out the sign, because that's the only part you want to replace in your original shot - you could use a matte control after the paint tool for this. And THEN use the planar transform to matchmove the sign to your original footage and merge it with a merge tool.

I hope this helps.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Baptiste Carrara

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:02 am

Re: Tracking Paint in Fusion

PostSun Jan 20, 2019 2:00 am

Alright, I sort of understood that, in theory.
This is what I got out of it:

Resolve_2019-01-19_21-02-25.png
Resolve_2019-01-19_21-02-25.png (52.33 KiB) Viewed 713 times


Naturally it doesn't give me an output that is different than the input.

I also can't seem to get the matte to work for me.. But that is just something I need to learn.

basically, does this node choice / order make any sense or am I off track here?

Thanks.
Ursa Mini 4.6K
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1221
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Tracking Paint in Fusion

PostSun Jan 20, 2019 8:47 am

The nodes in itself are fine, but what does the Matte Control do in your setup? You probably want a garbage matte mask in there to 'cut out' the new thing you just created. And then you still need to feed the original footage in the background input (the orange thingee) of your merge. By definition a merge merges two things (hence the name) so if you only have input you're doing it wrong ;-)

But you're definitely getting somewhere.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Baptiste Carrara

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:02 am

Re: Tracking Paint in Fusion

PostTue Jan 22, 2019 6:56 pm

Gotcha, thanks!
Good to know I'm on the right track.

Still have no idea how a Matte Control works, currently reading the manual:
https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/UserManuals/DaVinciResolve15/ReferenceManual/20181123-46b82e/DaVinci_Resolve_15_Reference_Manual.pdf

Doesn't seem to make a whole lot of sense to me, but we'll see. Basically flipping switches till something does something.
Ursa Mini 4.6K
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1221
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Tracking Paint in Fusion

PostTue Jan 22, 2019 8:32 pm

What is your overall skill in compositing? Are you completely new to it, or are you coming from AE or Nuke or other packages? The explanation on page 1573 is pretty technical, but it covers the tool pretty well.
What part don't you understand?
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Baptiste Carrara

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:02 am

Re: Tracking Paint in Fusion

PostTue Jan 22, 2019 10:28 pm

So to answer that, the Color Tab in Resolve I'm pretty familiar with. The Fusion tab, this is my first time at it.
I come from a AE background, and would just be masking and tracking everything at this point, but I want to learn basic Fusion as well because as someone who aspires to one day be a colorist, it really helps being able to do adjustments like these within Resolve without having to do a round trip nonsense.

Tell you the truth, not sure which part I'm not getting. I figured there would just be a way to 'show effect only' of sorts were it would just copy the actual painted parts. But seems Fusion doesn't work that way.
Ursa Mini 4.6K
Offline

Baptiste Carrara

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:02 am

Re: Tracking Paint in Fusion

PostThu Feb 07, 2019 8:57 pm

Baptiste Carrara wrote:Great, then I hit play and... it falls apart. It seems to be tracking and moving the entire source into the paint, and not just the paint effect itself.
I can't post more than 3 images, so here is a link to the issue.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6at0z0a7kr17fpi/4.jpg?dl=0

I'm sure I'm doing something super stupid, but can't figure it out.

Thanks.


Gonna post the image here instead of my dropbox so it stays as a reference.

4.jpg
Image Reference
4.jpg (275.05 KiB) Viewed 507 times
Ursa Mini 4.6K

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bryan Ray and 6 guests