Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion 9 - Render Issues

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Philipp Schröppel

  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:41 pm
  • Location: Potsdam - Germany

Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostThu Jan 31, 2019 12:19 pm

Hi there,

I have some serious rendering issues with Fusion 9. Sometimes it's that bad I have to try and error for hours to get a non-problematic output.

Here are the issues I can see in the output files (ProRes) and sometimes from the cached previews:

- Repeated frames
- Frame jumps
- sudden colored masks
- completely gray pictures
- glitches

And these are not ultra huge projects, complex but not that bad.
Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-31 um 13.13.24.jpg
Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-31 um 13.13.24.jpg (355.45 KiB) Viewed 1186 times


Here are my preferences:
Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-31 um 13.15.59.jpg
Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-31 um 13.15.59.jpg (64.4 KiB) Viewed 1186 times

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-31 um 13.15.jpeg
Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-31 um 13.15.jpeg (54.76 KiB) Viewed 1186 times


Render settings are set to standard (best) with MB and HQ turned on. My machine is a Mac Pro Tube 6-core 3.5 GHz, 32 GB Ram and Dual D700.

Any ideas?
Pete
Offline
User avatar

Pieter Van Houte

  • Posts: 366
  • Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:04 am

Re: Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostThu Jan 31, 2019 1:45 pm

Are the same issues present when you write to frames?
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1298
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostThu Jan 31, 2019 1:48 pm

Pieter Van Houte wrote:Are the same issues present when you write to frames?

And in addition to this question: are you reading from a frame sequence or a movie-format?
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Jiri Mravec

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:38 pm

Re: Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostThu Jan 31, 2019 5:40 pm

Hi Man
I have the same issue. Unfortunately BM don't give damn, fixing Fusion bugs. I solved the render exactly same render problems by totally disabling OpenCL. The problem is that without OpenCL some nodes don't work, but not many. I went almost crazy, re rendering comps always with some problems some hours before total deadline of our project. I mean you can always spend crazy money on nuke but its pity that BM don't care about customers. We know there are many unpredictable glitches.
I hope it helps
https://vimeo.com/cirquegaruda
http://cirquegaruda.cz
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 895
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 4:21 pm

I've only seen it on OpenCL with old GPU:s (5-6 years or more). Switching to a newer system fixed the issue.
Offline

Jiri Mravec

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:38 pm

Re: Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostSun Feb 03, 2019 9:57 pm

Unfortunately in my experience that was not the case. The problem was manifesting with gtx1070 also with rtx2080, on different systems
https://vimeo.com/cirquegaruda
http://cirquegaruda.cz
Offline
User avatar

Philipp Schröppel

  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:41 pm
  • Location: Potsdam - Germany

Re: Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostTue Feb 05, 2019 12:43 pm

Pieter Van Houte wrote:Are the same issues present when you write to frames?


Seems not. But this is very complicated due to very tight deadlines when delivering ProRes files to clients.
Pete
Offline

Petur Karlsson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:14 pm

Re: Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostTue Feb 05, 2019 12:58 pm

I'm having a similar issues when rendering to Prores.

My workflow is, Loader :"prores in" and a Saver :"prores out". Both in 4444 XQ.

My issues are jumps in frames, it's random. I usually have to render the same comp two or three times to get it right.

It seems, when the timeline is cached to memory in highest quality, then I get it clean and no jumping in frames most of the time. But that's not always a feasible choice regarding the memory and the length of some shots, which are 1000 frames or more.

* When rendering to image sequence, no issues.
* When transcoding image sequence to "prores", some issues, but not as frequent.

It seems that the problem is the Saver : "Prores out".

These are time consuming workarounds, and the clients usually ask for "prores" so, this is a kind of dilemma. Unfortunately, it seems BM has no interest in upgrading Fusion standalone anymore. But I really hope I'm wrong on that.

P.
Offline

Dennis Summers

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 7:51 pm

Re: Fusion 9 - Render Issues

PostTue May 21, 2019 8:22 pm

There are several threads on this issue (so I'm responding to the most recent), and it appears to remain unsolved in 9. I have a new "state of the art" system, all drivers updated, and I have to turn off OpenCL. Oddly enough, I'm not using any OpenCL tools, and on my very old previous system I only had this problem when using such. It's a shame. I don't know that I'll be updating to 16 based on what I've read, but does anyone know if this problem was solved for that version?

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests