Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jason T

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:11 pm

Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostSun Jan 20, 2019 10:15 pm

I think I threw out the DaVinci Resolve packaging sleeve that had my serial number. Is there anyway to see it in DaVinci Resolve somehow? It doesn't show up in the about window and I'm afraid to hit the de-authorize button because I'm not sure what my serial number is anymore.

Jason
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostMon Jan 21, 2019 6:25 am

If you are using a Resolve activation code, that would have some on a printed card with the Resolve package you bought. If you've lost that card and don't have that number recorded somewhere, there is not a way to retrieve it.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jason T

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:11 pm

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostMon Jan 21, 2019 2:20 pm

This seems to be an unorthodox concept?

No other software I've purchased behaves in this manner. Usually the serial would be displayed in the About window or Preferences. Or else it is registered with customer support when the software is first initialized.

So if I unauthorize this install I've basically thrown away my license and need to re-purchase?
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5698
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostMon Jan 21, 2019 2:29 pm

One of few BM very strange decisions.
Surely those things should be logged.
At least it does say on the sticker that you need to keep it safe.
Offline

Christian Lessner

  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:56 am

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostMon Jan 21, 2019 6:51 pm

Jason T wrote:No other software I've purchased behaves in this manner. Usually the serial would be displayed in the About window or Preferences.

Really? I haven't seen any software that would display the activation code just like that. It would be a risk for companies to install that software. Any employee or freelancer could just open the software, display the activation code, write it down, and then activate that license at home on their own computer.
Resolve Studio 15.3.1 | Windows 10 Pro (1809)
Intel i7-6850K | GTX 1080Ti (431.86 SD) | 32 GB RAM | Mini Monitor 4K (11.4) | Mini Panel
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostMon Jan 21, 2019 7:41 pm

Note that it says to keep this card, and that lost cards or activation keys cannot be replaced.


resolve_activation_card_back.jpg
resolve_activation_card_back.jpg (118.12 KiB) Viewed 5997 times
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

robcart

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:44 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Hall

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostThu Mar 07, 2019 10:59 pm

Argh ****, same thing happened to me.

Surely this has to be a support issue for BMD, can't I just show proof of purchase to get a new serial?
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 600
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostFri Mar 08, 2019 1:20 am

[quote="robcart"]Argh ****, same thing happened to me.

Surely this has to be a support issue for BMD, can't I just show proof of purchase to get a new seri

When I download an upgrade I think the serial shows up on the top right hand of the form that you fill out. Of course, you needed to have installed and activated it. I'm not at my resolve computer at the moment.

Ricardo Marty
Last edited by ricardo marty on Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve 16, Abelton, Focusrite,
Inspiron 5675 1800x 8/16 core, Radeon RX580/8,16 GB ram, 512 sd, 500 Samsung Pro ssd.
Lenovo Y520, Quad 1777hq,NV1059/6,16gb ram,512 nvme sd, 1tb Samsung Evo pr
Sony FS700R, Bmp4k,
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 600
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostFri Mar 08, 2019 1:22 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:One of few BM very strange decisions.
Surely those things should be logged.
At least it does say on the sticker that you need to keep it safe.


I took a photo and emailed it to me just in case.

Ricardo Marty
Resolve 16, Abelton, Focusrite,
Inspiron 5675 1800x 8/16 core, Radeon RX580/8,16 GB ram, 512 sd, 500 Samsung Pro ssd.
Lenovo Y520, Quad 1777hq,NV1059/6,16gb ram,512 nvme sd, 1tb Samsung Evo pr
Sony FS700R, Bmp4k,
Offline
User avatar

dlt123me

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:28 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Triplett

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostFri Mar 08, 2019 1:43 am

After reading this page I have to make a comment... I'm surprised by their activation and registration process. Weird. I suspect it's for their reseller process.

I just purchased the Studio version today. To my surprise, I find that the reseller has to send me, by snail mail, my activation code. I can't even use the Studio version till I get my serial code. :cry:

I find this registration process rather archaic, to say the least, for such an amazing, ahead of its time video editing software. I had to install the Free version to continue learning the software, but I still love the software. LOL

Really surprised me and after reading this thread, I will keep copies of my serial number in my DB app. i.e. B-Folders.

Take care...
Last edited by dlt123me on Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
What you believe, does not change reality.
Offline
User avatar

Leslie Wand

  • Posts: 399
  • Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:56 am
  • Location: rural nsw, australia

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostFri Mar 08, 2019 5:10 am

very strange indeed.

why can't bm simply register the number to your name as do adobe (well they did anyway), vegas, etc.,

if i 'lose' either of them i simply log into my account and there they are... surely it's not that difficult?
www.lesliewand.com.au
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 5976
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostFri Mar 08, 2019 8:27 am

dlt123me wrote:I just purchased the Studio version today. To my surprise, I find that the reseller has to send me, by snail mail, my activation code. I can't even use the Studio version till I get my serial code.

There are retailers out there who will agree to grab a photo of your serial number and email it to the buyer the moment the payment goes through, and then they ship the actual packaging and physical serial number card to you. Find a dealer who will do that for you.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

dlt123me

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:28 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Triplett

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostFri Mar 08, 2019 6:21 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:
dlt123me wrote:I just purchased the Studio version today. To my surprise, I find that the reseller has to send me, by snail mail, my activation code. I can't even use the Studio version till I get my serial code.

There are retailers out there who will agree to grab a photo of your serial number and email it to the buyer the moment the payment goes through, and then they ship the actual packaging and physical serial number card to you. Find a dealer who will do that for you.


Too late... The retailer has already shipped the card. No big deal, I am still learning the ropes and really do not need the paid version yet. I just wanted to support the company by buying this amazing application. If we don't support them, they can't continue to deliver such a great product or stay in business. Gotta support your local Sherriff you know. Grin

Besides, I deplore the pay as you go model of software rental such as Adobe. They're getting too bloated. I'll support companies such as BM instead. :D
What you believe, does not change reality.
Offline
User avatar

dlt123me

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:28 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Triplett

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostSun May 05, 2019 5:13 pm

I don't know how long Private Messsages are stored in your profile, but why not send a Private Message to yourself with the registration code? This way, you will have a copy of your registration code stored in your Private Message area of your account on this board..

Dennis
What you believe, does not change reality.
Offline

Justin Jackson

  • Posts: 627
  • Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 3:50 am

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostFri May 10, 2019 11:57 pm

I just want to add.. this is ridiculous that we sign up, register to download, and yet there is no way to log in and get this info. What is the purpose of registering to download if it offers no way to retrieve the info?

That said, I just had this scare.. I did NOT update to DR 16 Beta 2, started DR and it was inactivated some how and asked me for my activation key. It worked fine last night, and for the past many weeks, so not sure why I had to enter this again. Maybe it goes out from time to time to validate the key after you enter it once.. or requires you to re-enter it every so often?

So.. the BEST way to solve this, is to get yourself a free Last Pass account. It works in browsers on all platforms as an extension, or a web site, as well as there is a mobile app. It isnt just for passwords. You can store secure notes, etc. I put a bunch of notes for things like exactly this info. So if you dont already use Last Pass, you should be or something similar.. saved my butt many times now, and it is just so much faster/easier for sites. Anyway, the purpose in this case is to create a secure note, put in your DR activation key AND the serial number, and save it. You can then access it anytime anywhere.

But really, BlackMagic should have a way to log in to the site, obtain your product registrations, etc. It is 2019, this stuff is easy to implement.
Custom DIY AMD1950x 16-core/32-thread, liquid cooled, 64GB 3600Mhz RAM, 950Pro-512GB NVMe os/apps, 2x500GB 850 Evo RAID 0 SATA3, Zotac 1070 8GB video, USB 3.1Gen2 RAID0 2x4TB, 2x2TB Crucial MX500 SSD SATA3.
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 915
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostSat May 11, 2019 5:23 am

Easy maybe, but tell that to Adobe which leaked my and 152 million other accounts with easily decrypted passwords.

European privacy law GDPR also makes it kind of a chore nowadays. Since BMD only sells through retailers I prefer they concentrate on their products rather than web services anyway.

Last Pass is nice, I use 1Password.
Offline

bmman8

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Aaron Guy

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 3:38 am

How do I get the serial number if I bought Resolve Studio from Apple's App Store? I imagine the Order ID and Document Number that is on the receipt is for apple's DB.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostMon Sep 09, 2019 10:17 pm

What's the context of your question? All the stuff in this thread has no bearing on App Store Resolve.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4942
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 12:49 am

The App Store Version is linked to your App Store account, no serial needed. But it’s severely limited.
For those who are afraid that some freelance or intern might use your key, don’t worry! If you input it again it will be cancelled for them, wherever they are.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Mike1938

  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:44 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Stehly

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 2:57 pm

Wake up Black Magic Design. You need to have a record of the Serial Numbers. A very poor way to run a business.
Offline

Mike1938

  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:44 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Stehly

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostThu Sep 19, 2019 5:49 pm

Get rid of the Dongle. What other software editing program requires a Dongle?
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 127
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostThu Sep 19, 2019 6:37 pm

Mike1938 wrote:Get rid of the Dongle. What other software editing program requires a Dongle?


I wont speak for BMD, but my guess is that they would like to get rid of the dongle. But the dongle is a vestige of the original, cross platform version of Resolve, which used to cost $995 (and the Linux version, which was $19,995).

Many dongle users have been long time Resolve users in large post-production facilities (e.g. CO3), from before it was just an "software editing program". I purchased my dongle in 2011, and have been using it ever day ever since then. I actually like the flexibility that a dongle gives you, in that you are not dependent on internet activation, and you cant forget to deactivate licenses when you move to a new machine, or if a machine dies on you.

I dont know of any other developer that allows you to use both a dongle license AND a software only activation at the same time. I really appreciate that, because it allows me to have Resolve activated on 3 machines, if/when I need to use them (this has been a godsend for when I have to work from home)
Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.033 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.3) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.13.6, 3.46 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / GUI: GTX 780 (6GB) / COMPUTE: GTX 1080ti SC (11GB), in Cyclone 2707 PCIe chassis / ATTO NT11 10Gb / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 435
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostThu Sep 19, 2019 8:04 pm

I agree... I like the dongle... it means I can edit on a machine that isn't always connected to the Net and also means that if there's a global apocalypse that takes down the interwebs, I'll be the only one who is able to edit and grade footage of the resulting chaos! :-)

But seriously -- I love the fact that we have a choice.
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

bmman8

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Aaron Guy

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostWed Sep 25, 2019 1:53 am

How can people talk to Black Magic about Resolve if they purchase the Studio version from Apple's app store with no serial number?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4942
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostWed Sep 25, 2019 2:51 am

They can't. Apple is their vendor then.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

aussiemartin

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 4:32 am
  • Location: Thailand
  • Real Name: Martin Cooney

Re: Where's the Serial Number in Resolve?

PostWed Sep 25, 2019 3:56 am

different companies have different processes.

I bought Resolve from a local vendor here in Thailand. I paid for it and he immediately sent a photo of the activation serial number and then posted it to me.
I've copied the photo locally and to my Drobo, Dropbox, Google Drive and as an attachment in my password manager (with all my other app serial numbers).

Though I'm sure the Resolve serial number issue can be improved, we also have a responsibility to safeguard our own purchases.
macOS 10.14.5, 3.7GHz Intel Core i7, 64G DDR4 Ram, Radeon 8G RX580 GPU, 250/500Gb SSD storage, Drobo 5N2 SAN

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fabian Frank, Gary Hango, Google [Bot], MSN [Bot], RickG325 and 63 guests