Blackmagic Cinema Camera: no HDMI input on Monitor

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Lewis Sipp

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 9:24 am
  • Real Name: Lewis Sipp

Blackmagic Cinema Camera: no HDMI input on Monitor

PostSat Feb 16, 2019 9:39 am

Hey Guys,
I've just bought a used Blackmagic Cinema Camera in very good condition. I've got plenty of stuff from my old DSLR on wich I shot video before. One of these things is my 7" Viltrox DC-70 Monitor.

So I just bought a Blackmagic Micro Converter from SDI to HDMI. The status LED of the Converter is on. But I won't get any signal on my monitor. I've tried many different HDMI Cables.

Maybe it's because of the interlaced Output of the BMCC and the monitor only being capable of processing progressive Signals?
Is there any cheaper option then spending 150€ on a Converter?

Thank you guys so much in advance
~Lew
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 10853
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Blackmagic Cinema Camera: no HDMI input on Monitor

PostTue Feb 19, 2019 8:00 pm

The Original Cinema 2.5K Camera (if that is the one you are referring to) normally outputs a progressive signal, it can output an interlace signal with overlays set to off. Check on a TV monitor what the camera is actually outputting, I have a feeling you will see a progressive signal on the TV monitor. Your Viltrox may be an interlace on Monitor?
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Lewis Sipp

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 9:24 am
  • Real Name: Lewis Sipp

Re: Blackmagic Cinema Camera: no HDMI input on Monitor

PostSat Apr 06, 2019 4:06 pm

Tried many different progressive Monitors, with and without overlays and no signal appeared. I'll try an SDI monitor soon.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brad Hurley, Chris Gosling, Google [Bot], jerrygladh, Olivier Burri and 21 guests