Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 6:09 am

To clarify: a working Resolve dongle will work with Fusion 16 on all platforms.

But there are counterfeit Resolve dongles in the world, and occasionally as they are discovered, a new Resolve release will block them from working.

Thus my suggestion to verify if your dongle is working with Resolve 15.3.1.

If it's not working with Resolve 15.3.1, it won't work with Fusion 16.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1590
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 9:29 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:To clarify: a working Resolve dongle will work with Fusion 16 on all platforms.

But there are counterfeit Resolve dongles in the world, and occasionally as they are discovered, a new Resolve release will block them from working.

Thus my suggestion to verify if your dongle is working with Resolve 15.3.1.

If it's not working with Resolve 15.3.1, it won't work with Fusion 16.


Thanks Dwaine, It's definitely a genuine dongle as I have all original packaging etc and have used it since Resolve version 9. Resolve finds the dongle but Fusion Studio 16 beta does not. Any ideas?
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 2:03 pm

Does it work in Resolve 15.3.1?

Can you send us a Resolve diagnostics log?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Yogendra Singh

  • Posts: 158
  • Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 5:51 pm
  • Location: Chandigarh

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 3:46 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:To clarify: a working Resolve dongle will work with Fusion 16 on all platforms.


So with Resolve 15 dongle I'll have the fusion studio 16 fully working without any extra charges?
https://www.instagram.com/weddings_by_yogendra/

Resolve Studio 16.1.1
Fusion Studio 16.1.1
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 6:56 pm

With any genuine Resolve dongle, you'll have Fusion 16 Studio working on all platforms.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Joshua_G

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:12 pm
  • Location: Israel
  • Real Name: Joshua Gomeh

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSat Apr 20, 2019 7:05 pm

Is there a way to change DR activation code, with proof of purchase from BMD local resaler, to a dongle?
DaVinci Resolve Studio,(usually) latest stable version/Windows 10 Pro x64 1903/AMD 1920X/32GB RAM/RX Vega56 8G/Dell U2412M.
Retired electronics technician and sound engineer, long-time amateur photographer, beginner hobbyist filmmaker for personal uses.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSat Apr 20, 2019 7:10 pm

No.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1590
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Apr 21, 2019 2:49 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Does it work in Resolve 15.3.1?

Can you send us a Resolve diagnostics log?

Hi Dwaine,

here's the log from DR16b1.
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20190421-124701.zip
(285 KiB) Downloaded 140 times
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1590
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostMon Jul 01, 2019 9:02 am

Fusion 16 Beta 4 is working properly now. Previous beta versions could not find the dongle. I also had an OFX plugin conflict which complicated the diagnosis.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostMon Jul 01, 2019 5:03 pm

Please send a Resolve diagnostic log.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostTue Jul 02, 2019 9:16 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:With any genuine Resolve dongle, you'll have Fusion 16 Studio working on all platforms.


Just out of curiosity as a DSR 15 dongle owner (o;

Will this be true also for the final Fusion Studio 16 version?
Or is this currently only enabled to get more beta testers on board?
How about the other way around?

I might even get me another dongle...

OTOH: Still amazing I can use the dongle since DSR 14....

And tomorrow my BMDPCC4K should arrive to have finally great footage quality at my finger tips ;-)
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.1b2, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10/Windows 10 Pro: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostTue Jul 02, 2019 10:13 pm

Yes, a Resolve dongle will support the release version of Fusion 16 Studio.

And existing Fusion 9 dongles already support Resolve 15 and 16 Studio.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1590
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostWed Jul 03, 2019 2:03 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Please send a Resolve diagnostic log.


Here's the diagnostic log from Resolve 16b4. I'm not sure why you need this as it's Fusion 16 that previously had the issue.

DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20190703-120104.zip
(247.62 KiB) Downloaded 129 times
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostWed Jul 03, 2019 2:46 am

@Peter: I have no idea why I asked the second time for a log, since it's working for you now.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

jensgruen

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Jens Grünhagen

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 9:38 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:No.



I dont see why not. Because i paid the same amount of money but dont get the same product (aka fusion 16 standalone).

why?
Offline

Kenzo

  • Posts: 132
  • Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:04 pm
  • Real Name: Eryk Rogozinski

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 11:08 am

It's not the same product.
With Activation Code you can install Resolve Studio on two computers.
With Dongle you can run Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio 16 but on one computer.
The choice is yours. ;)
Offline

Iñigo Figuero

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:55 am

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 12:07 pm

Not on one compute but in ANY whith the dongle connected.
Offline

Kenzo

  • Posts: 132
  • Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:04 pm
  • Real Name: Eryk Rogozinski

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 12:12 pm

Yes, but one at the same time.
Offline

jensgruen

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Jens Grünhagen

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 1:19 pm

Hm okay, I get it. Seems very unfortunate though to not have a choice which programs to run. like so:

1 resolve + 1 resolve
=
1 resolve + 1 fusion

for me this sounds equal. but hey, resolve 16 is crashing so much beyond usability it doesnt make a diff anymore, so why care anyway.
Offline

davidyannick

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 8:43 am
  • Real Name: David Tavan

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostMon Oct 21, 2019 11:09 am

So for people who bought regular licence code for resolve it's no luck ?
When I bought Resolve 15 studio, someone recommend me licence file, and when I see with a dongle I can use Fusion Studio Ii'm a bit disappointed and it's an euphemism

- Buy a fusion studio dongle, and with this I'll have a dongle and a licence code , do you really think it"s normal ???

I've seen this in description of Fusion Studio 16.1 :

This version requires a Fusion Studio license dongle or software activation code.

Which software Activation code ???

I'm so disappointed ... Iif only I bought a dongle instead of a licence
Offline

blackest

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:20 am
  • Real Name: john owen-jones

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 10:46 am

This is all kinda complicated
So far my brand new davinci resolve key activates davinci resolve 15.3.1
it doesn't work for fusion 9.02

This is on my macbook pro running 10.11.6 which is fair enough. I use software which is unsupported in more recent versions of OSX (to be fair I can boot another drive, usb SSD drives are getting cheap), i probably will not buy another usb thumb drive again.

Hopefully on my real davinci system the resolve studio dongle will work for fusion 16.1 and resolve 16.1 and this thread is very encouraging.

I have to say thankyou to blackmagic by offering the free version, i've been able to spend time learning it and thanks to standalone pricing bought the studio version.
By sticking to a standalone version of Lightroom, affinity photo, designer and publisher. I have in effect bought resolve studio with the subscription money I would have paid out to Adobe.

Thanks for everything :)
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 8:17 am

Please use this rule of thumb:
A Resolve dongle will activate all Resolve Studios from v10 to v16 and their sub-versions - see viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190#2
A Fusion dongle will activate all Fusion Studios from Fusion 7.5.
In both cases, prior versions can be downloaded from https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/sg/sup ... and-fusion

Additional licensing options are available for recent versions of both:
A Resolve activation key will work for DaVinci Resolve Studios v14 and above.
Cross use of product dongles is supported only in DaVinci Resolve Studio v15 and above and Fusion Studios v16 and above.

A more comprehensive licensing FAQ can be found here:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190#2
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 7:31 am

So please explain it to me:
A few months ago, when I was making DVR Studio purchase, reseller recommended me Activation licence key version "as it is the same product".
And now it seems it is not.
Don't you think it's a lousy marketing?
Resolve 16.1.1 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

davidyannick

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 8:43 am
  • Real Name: David Tavan

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 7:58 am

TomasM wrote:So please explain it to me:
A few months ago, when I was making DVR Studio purchase, reseller recommended me Activation licence key version "as it is the same product".
And now it seems it is not.
Don't you think it's a lousy marketing?


I agree with you :
"reseller recommended me Activation licence key version "as it is the same product"."
I had the same experience, it's a shame
I've contacted Blackmgic support, I said I've bought resolve studio with a key and they answer me "buy fusion studio now "if only we can change the key for a dongle ...
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 8:06 am

I would assume, if BM can't make it free for ALL DVR Studio users, don't make it free at all!
Resolve 16.1.1 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1131
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 1:06 pm

TomasM wrote:I would assume, if BM can't make it free for ALL DVR Studio users, don't make it free at all!

Speak for yourself!!!!

I happen to have a DRS dongle, so getting Fusion Studio is a bonus. But not really free, as I had to pay for the dongle.
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 431.86 (upgr fr GTX1070 11/22)
- C: Drive 250 GB SSD - Project/Cache Drive 1 TB SSD
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 2:28 pm

Michael_Andreas wrote:
TomasM wrote:I would assume, if BM can't make it free for ALL DVR Studio users, don't make it free at all!

Speak for yourself!!!!

I happen to have a DRS dongle, so getting Fusion Studio is a bonus. But not really free, as I had to pay for the dongle.


I am speaking for myself.

I paid the same amount of money as you did (~) and was told that either dongle or Activation key are "equal products". Moreover, I was advised to choose Activation Key.

I understand, that you are happy with this situation, but I am certainly not (and I am not alone here).
Resolve 16.1.1 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1131
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 2:37 pm

Before Fusion 16 came out, the dongle and key code were equal products. A key code bought for DRS 15 has been enhanced to cover DRS 16 therefore is more capable when purchased. BMD did not have to upgrade your key code or my dongle but they did so. Would you be happier if we were both limited to DRS 15?
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 431.86 (upgr fr GTX1070 11/22)
- C: Drive 250 GB SSD - Project/Cache Drive 1 TB SSD
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 3:02 pm

Michael_Andreas wrote:Before Fusion 16 came out, the dongle and key code were equal products. A key code bought for DRS 15 has been enhanced to cover DRS 16 therefore is more capable when purchased. BMD did not have to upgrade your key code or my dongle but they did so. Would you be happier if we were both limited to DRS 15?


Wrong.
BM states that licence for DRS is perpetual - for ALL upcoming versions of Resolve. This is their marketing trick to lure Adobe CC users (I was and still am).
Besides, I purchased DRS version 16, not 15, just few months ago.

I'd be happier if all customers, who paid the same amount of money for the same (as BM were telling) product would be treated equally.
Resolve 16.1.1 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1131
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 3:08 pm

Where exactly did YOU hear this?

If you look at the FAQ here: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190#4
it says:
Previous owners have been able to update to the most up to date version of Resolve for free. While we cannot always guarantee this in the future, Resolve users have received free updates for nearly 10 years!
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 431.86 (upgr fr GTX1070 11/22)
- C: Drive 250 GB SSD - Project/Cache Drive 1 TB SSD
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 3:19 pm

Michael_Andreas wrote:Where exactly did YOU hear this?

If you look at the FAQ here: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190#4
it says:
Previous owners have been able to update to the most up to date version of Resolve for free. While we cannot always guarantee this in the future, Resolve users have received free updates for nearly 10 years!


This is a marketing statement, suggesting that one can expect future upgrades. My mistake in swallowing that bait.

But it does not change the fact, that I purchased DRS version 16.
Resolve 16.1.1 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1131
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 3:40 pm

I recognize that you're disappointed. But I don't see that as marketing bait.

At the time you bought your license key, did you have the expectation that Fusion Studio was included? If so, what led to that expectation? Last spring when Fusion 16 came out the announcement I saw was that the DR dongle would unlock it but that the key code would not.
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 431.86 (upgr fr GTX1070 11/22)
- C: Drive 250 GB SSD - Project/Cache Drive 1 TB SSD
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 3:57 pm

Michael_Andreas wrote:I recognize that you're disappointed. But I don't see that as marketing bait.

At the time you bought your license key, did you have the expectation that Fusion Studio was included? If so, what led to that expectation? Last spring when Fusion 16 came out the announcement I saw was that the DR dongle would unlock it but that the key code would not.


Well, I was not informed about THAT difference (and it really should be stated). I was told that theres is NO DIFFERENCE (except for physical vs. electronic activation).
If I (and many of us) knew, it would have been really easy decision - dongle. I have no need for 2 Resolve licences, but Resolve + Fusion is completely different story.

It really is disappointing.
Resolve 16.1.1 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 475
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 8:09 pm

Over a year ago, when I was tossing up buying the Studio version of Resolve *OR* Fusion, BMD advised me (on this forum) to buy the dongle for Fusion because it would also work with upcoming versions of Resolve (we were on V14 back then and 15 was the first).

I applaud BMD for steering me in the right direction because I bought the F9 dongle and can now use the studio versions of both Fusion and Resolve with the one license.

It's a shame that the activiation key system doesn't seem to be quite as versatile (yet).
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

davidyannick

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 8:43 am
  • Real Name: David Tavan

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 8:13 pm

TomasM wrote:
Michael_Andreas wrote:I recognize that you're disappointed. But I don't see that as marketing bait.

At the time you bought your license key, did you have the expectation that Fusion Studio was included? If so, what led to that expectation? Last spring when Fusion 16 came out the announcement I saw was that the DR dongle would unlock it but that the key code would not.


Well, I was not informed about THAT difference (and it really should be stated). I was told that theres is NO DIFFERENCE (except for physical vs. electronic activation).
If I (and many of us) knew, it would have been really easy decision - dongle. I have no need for 2 Resolve licences, but Resolve + Fusion is completely different story.

It really is disappointing.


exactly the same thing happens for me :(
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1131
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 9:52 pm

I bought my dongle last December. It was a pleasant surprise in April when BMD announced DR 16 and that DR dongles would also enable Fusion 16. But not key codes.

I don't know what miscommunication led to your thinking the key code would get you Fusion, but I haven't found that BMD intentionally deceives. There could be some better communication in some areas, but that statement applies to customers as well. But in the case of the dongle VS key code and Fusion, I haven't seen anything that should lead to someone expecting a key code to include Fusion.
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 431.86 (upgr fr GTX1070 11/22)
- C: Drive 250 GB SSD - Project/Cache Drive 1 TB SSD
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostMon Nov 11, 2019 6:27 am

Michael_Andreas wrote:I bought my dongle last December. It was a pleasant surprise in April when BMD announced DR 16 and that DR dongles would also enable Fusion 16. But not key codes.

I don't know what miscommunication led to your thinking the key code would get you Fusion, but I haven't found that BMD intentionally deceives. There could be some better communication in some areas, but that statement applies to customers as well. But in the case of the dongle VS key code and Fusion, I haven't seen anything that should lead to someone expecting a key code to include Fusion.


So it was up to reseller to inform customers about this "little" difference. Since this "pleasant surprise" was announced in April and I purchased DRS in August, I should have been informed about those differences.

Contacted reseller. We'll see what they have to say about it.

Thanks for clarification!
Resolve 16.1.1 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Bill Young

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:48 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostTue Nov 12, 2019 9:38 am

So I recently purchased a Resolve 16 dongle from B&H, and was under the impression that it should run Fusion Studio 16 standalone, but I have tried on both Windows and Linux with no success. I get the splash screen, but then it drops back to the desktop. I've switched various USB slots to no avail. Resolve Studio 16+ works great, but Fusion Standalone 16+ does not. When I went to buy the dongle I originally was planing to buy a Fusion dongle, but after a few calls to both both B&H and Adorama was lead to believe they no longer offer Fusion dongles (Despite the odd Dongle/ Electronic download phrasing on their purchase page), and that the Resolve dongle ran both so long as I was okay with Fusion 16 and newer. I need Linux compatibility, and know the dongles have far less issues with Linux than the keys. Have they changed the Fusion requirements again or is it possible there is something wrong with my dongle? I ask because the main goal of my purchase was actually to get Fusion 16 as I mainly focus on VFX.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostWed Nov 13, 2019 1:09 am

I've just tested Fusion Studio 16, 16.1 and 16.1.1 on Windows 10 with a standard Resolve Mac/Windows dongle, and all versions work with the dongle.

Make sure you are using a release version of Fusion and not a beta version.

Have you tried Fusion Studio 16.1.1?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Bill Young

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:48 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostWed Nov 13, 2019 1:27 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:I've just tested Fusion Studio 16, 16.1 and 16.1.1 on Windows 10 with a standard Resolve Mac/Windows dongle, and all versions work with the dongle.

Make sure you are using a release version of Fusion and not a beta version.

Have you tried Fusion Studio 16.1.1?


The version I'm attempting to use is 16.1.1. Is there a way I can log the text from the splash screen so I can catch what the last thing it was working on was before it disappears?
Offline

Bill Young

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:48 pm

Re: Fusion studio for free with resolve license?

PostWed Nov 13, 2019 2:14 am

I've tracked down the Windows 10 issue. It seems to not like several OpenFX plugins for some reason. While some don't function properly in all applications they all do load into Resolve, the Resolve version of Fusion and my other OpenFX applications with out causing issues. Fusion 16.1.1 doesn't like the Ignite Express core, which I feel should load as it works in both Nuke and Natron. The set that it seem to have the most issue with are the Natron OpenFX plug-ins. Not a huge deal as Natron keeps it's plugins in a local directory on windows, and many are redundant with the Fusion nodes, but there are a few that will be missed. Unfortunately this also means I've lost them from inside Resolve and my other OpenFX applications that were working with them just fine. Some one might want to look into this as incompatible OpenFX plug-ins should simply not load.
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kolakowski, CodeTech, Jack Swart, madterol, MSN [Bot] and 107 guests