HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

insanerob

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Howarth

HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 1:11 pm

Hi, I made the jump to Studio in order to start rendering HDR10 movies and use a 2nd monitor. After hours of searching I finally figured out they had renamed the 'Full Screen View On' to 'Video Clean Feed' :( but for the life of me I can't get it to output the 'Video Clean Feed' in HDR, it's just SDR. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Windows 10
The second monitor is running in HDR mode over HDMI - YCbCr422 - 10 bit
GFX Card: RTX2080
Project Settings > Color Management
Input Color Space: Rec.2100 HLG (media is from my Sony A7 in HLG)
Timeline Color Space: Rec.2100 ST2084
Output Color Space: Rec.2100 ST2084

Thanks in advance,

rOb
Windows 10 - i7 - 16GB- RTX2080 - Wacom Cintiq 27QHD - LG27UK600 4k UHD HDR
MacBookPro 15 - eGPU Razer CoreX: AMD RX 580
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5912
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 3:54 pm

GUI HDR preview is not supported and it's not as easy as setting up Resolve project as HDR :)
You may be able to make it working but it requires a lot of playing and validating accuracy.
You need BM card for this.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 4480
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

Offline

insanerob

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Howarth

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 4:17 pm

Thanks for the reply Andrew, Support have just pretty much said the same thing. Sadly I don't have any spare PCI slots so getting a card would mean upgrading my motherboard and case too :/ Are there any USB/USB-C devices I can use instead ?

As it stands I've bought the Studio version and am getting no more functionality from it than I had with the free version :(

If anyone has any hacks or workarounds I'd love to hear them, I love Resolve but I may have to try and get a refund and switch to FinalCut now Catalina support HDR monitors.

Thanks again,

rOb
Windows 10 - i7 - 16GB- RTX2080 - Wacom Cintiq 27QHD - LG27UK600 4k UHD HDR
MacBookPro 15 - eGPU Razer CoreX: AMD RX 580
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5912
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 4:23 pm

You can get signal from you GPU, pass to one of the HDFury boxes to flag signal as HDR (of course project has to be set to HDR and HDFury box set to same settings, eg. 1000nits PQ) and this will trigger HDR mode on TV. Accuracy here is yet again bit questionable.
If Catalina has support for HDR monitors on OS level then simply connect HDR TV, force HDR mode on OSX graphics level and this should work (again accuracy is another story).

Not sure if there is up to date SwitchResX version which could help.
Offline

insanerob

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Howarth

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 4:29 pm

Thanks for the suggestion, The monitor is already in HDR mode, windows is sending it the signal in HDR ... its just the Resolve app and the viewers in it are all in SDR ... For instance I can watch youtube in HDR on the same screen with resolve next to it. If I open up the display setting > Windows HD Color Settings, the SDR content appearance slider will not affect the YouTube video as it's HDR but it does affect everything in Resolve

Thanks for all the responses :)

rOb
Windows 10 - i7 - 16GB- RTX2080 - Wacom Cintiq 27QHD - LG27UK600 4k UHD HDR
MacBookPro 15 - eGPU Razer CoreX: AMD RX 580
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5912
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 4:38 pm

This is the way to do it. Force whole Windows to be in HDR (including Desktop etc).
Then Resolve GUI preview will be also sent as HDR and should appear fine in TV (at least as HDR).
This works on simple (manual principle)- my preview is HDR, my monitor is HDR (there is no auto signal forcing/negotiation).
Offline

insanerob

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Howarth

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 4:49 pm

Thanks Andrew, How do I force windows to use the app as HDR... it detects the app is not HDR so then does SDR to HDR conversion for it. Do you mean somehow force the monitor to HDR without windows being aware its HDR ?

rOb :)
Windows 10 - i7 - 16GB- RTX2080 - Wacom Cintiq 27QHD - LG27UK600 4k UHD HDR
MacBookPro 15 - eGPU Razer CoreX: AMD RX 580
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5912
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 5:03 pm

Hmmm- if Windows is so picky then it won't work. Only way in this case is to use HDFury box (or force TV to HDR mode if it supports it). Windows settings in this case can stay SDR.
Online
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6162
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 12:04 am

I think if you're delivering HDR, you have to do it right. And to do that, you have to use a Blackmagic video card capable of supporting HD-SDI and a broadcast monitor calibrated to HDR. Anything less is not going to work.

I wish it was simple, but this is one of these things that is not.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 603
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 8:05 am

I was always under impression that, if you could force the TV/monitor into HDR mode manually (Panasonic HDR TVs could do that, including manually choosing 2020 or P3), then setting the color Management to Rec.2100 in Resolve, you'd get the proper picture. HDR signaling is no guarantee that you'd get accurate HDR picture anyway.

Any thoughts?

Sent from my GM 5 Plus d using Tapatalk
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X @4GHz, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000MHz, Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 580 8GB, 120 GB system SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 15.3+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

insanerob

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Howarth

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 11:16 am

tbh that kinda makes sense to me. HDR performance on TVs is way off reference anyway so forcing HDR on my tv or monitor and mastering on it means I’ll be master for the TV I’ll be watching on. My Pana tv has no option to force HDR so I guess I’ll be getting an HDFury as the BM card isn’t an option for me, it’s a pity that BM don’t do something similar to an HDFury that they have tested / certified.
Does anyone know the cheapest HDFury that will allow me to force HDR ? I’ve looked on their site and am not sure if the dr 4K hdmi will do it ?

I’m really hoping that Davinci implement the Windows HDR support in the future, from going through the windows developer guides it’s quite simple.

Thanks for all the help, awesome:)
rOB
Windows 10 - i7 - 16GB- RTX2080 - Wacom Cintiq 27QHD - LG27UK600 4k UHD HDR
MacBookPro 15 - eGPU Razer CoreX: AMD RX 580
Offline

insanerob

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Howarth

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 12:13 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:I think if you're delivering HDR, you have to do it right. And to do that, you have to use a Blackmagic video card capable of supporting HD-SDI and a broadcast monitor calibrated to HDR. Anything less is not going to work.

I wish it was simple, but this is one of these things that is not.


I get your point and if I was producing commercial video I’d agree fully :)
Windows 10 - i7 - 16GB- RTX2080 - Wacom Cintiq 27QHD - LG27UK600 4k UHD HDR
MacBookPro 15 - eGPU Razer CoreX: AMD RX 580
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 4480
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 4:05 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:Anything less is not going to work.


I use another approach. I edit in ACES using a REC.2020 ODT. This allows me to see 'proper' colors in the non-HDR GUI.

When it comes time to deliver, I change the ODT to one of the ST2084 options to 'trigger' HDR mode on the display.

It's not ideal, but it works well for my simple projects.
Offline

insanerob

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Howarth

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostThu Nov 14, 2019 6:03 pm

Again, thanks all for the info it's been really helpful. I managed to grab a HDFury Integral from eBay ( thanks Andrew for the suggestion :) ) and all is well again with my HDR color grading :D

I really think they should mention extra hardware needed for HDR in the system requirements for the studio version :/

Thanks again everyone

rOb
Windows 10 - i7 - 16GB- RTX2080 - Wacom Cintiq 27QHD - LG27UK600 4k UHD HDR
MacBookPro 15 - eGPU Razer CoreX: AMD RX 580
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5912
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostThu Nov 14, 2019 7:18 pm

How your "hacked" preview compares to exported file played with TV itself?
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 603
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostThu Nov 14, 2019 7:37 pm

insanerob wrote:I really think they should mention extra hardware needed for HDR in the system requirements for the studio version :/

Thanks again everyone

rOb


They want to sell their own hardware, not someone else's :mrgreen:

The second monitor full screen preview was not designed for color grading, let alone HDR, but rather as a GUI upgrade for editing and pixel-level scrutinizing tasks and to free up the GUI screen real-estate).
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X @4GHz, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000MHz, Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 580 8GB, 120 GB system SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 15.3+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

insanerob

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Howarth

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 15, 2019 12:38 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:How your "hacked" preview compares to exported file played with TV itself?


It compares very well, thanks, works a treat :)

Actually, doing some tests pretty much shows what a nightmare state consumer HDR is in anyway. My Panasonic UHD player darkens the image compared to playing from my Zidoo media player or from USB on the TV. I have two HDR TVs and the footage looks different on each in terms of brightness and saturation too. My HDR Monitor clearly pushes more nits.

The first vid I did was of fireworks which I presume would also look a lot better on an OLED that doesn't have the local dimming issues that my LCD HDR TVs and monitor have.

I think if I'd spent thousands on a reference HDR monitor etc. I'd probably cry a little watching it on a consumer TV :) On the flip side though if you grade it on a consumer TV, I guess the rich people with reference quality TVs and PJs would be crying, lol. .............. -- which I presume is why Disney soundtracks are so god-awful as they remix them for 'home' :(

rOb :D
Windows 10 - i7 - 16GB- RTX2080 - Wacom Cintiq 27QHD - LG27UK600 4k UHD HDR
MacBookPro 15 - eGPU Razer CoreX: AMD RX 580
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5912
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDR - 2nd monitor not working - Win10

PostFri Nov 15, 2019 1:13 pm

You have top be careful and not overdo HDR "effect" as all TVs have some limitations.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Johannes Hoffmann, Pacific and 90 guests