Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Stephen Fitzgerald

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:00 am
  • Real Name: Stephen Fitzgerald

Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 2:16 am

Wondering if I can run dual 5700xt in my setup, would it work properly in DR16? Any performance improvements in Fusion?

My CPU is Ryzen 3700x
Offline

Carsten Sellberg

  • Posts: 931
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:13 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 1:02 pm

Hi.

I have NOT seen Black Magic recommend dual or triple GPU for some time. Instead have I seen rekommandation for a single TOP GPU.
Dual GPU don't make Resolve to run Generally faster. What Dual GPU does is, that it makes a few function as TNR Noice Reduction to run up to 30% faster.
Have you considered ONE Radion VII instead?

Regards Carsten.
URSA Mini 4.6K
Offline

Jim Hall

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:56 pm
  • Location: CT, USA

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 1:41 pm

Support for multiple GPUs is one of the primary features of having the Studio version. It was one of the top 3 reasons why I chose to upgrade to that version.

Have only had the Studio version for a few hours, so can't speak to any performance improvements.
RS 16.1.1, Win 10 Pro, AMD 2990WX (32C/64T), 128GB, RTX2080Ti x 2
RS 16.1.1, OSX 10.13.6, Xeon (6C/12T), 64GB, FirePro D700 x 2
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1188
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 2:24 pm

Studio will do more things, not necessarily faster. Studio does enable GPU-accelerated decoding/encoding of certain codecs if you have a GPU that provides that.

But as Carsten says, multiple GPUs will not allow you to do more things, but will speed up some of the things it can do. What is your usage case that you think will benefit from multiple GPUs?
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 441.66 (upd 12/10 from 431.86)
- OS,Library: 1TB SSD - Project/Cache: 1 TB SSD
Offline

Stephen Fitzgerald

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:00 am
  • Real Name: Stephen Fitzgerald

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 2:52 am

Well I thought I’d try and just use my 2nd pci a lot for another card, just to see what performance improvements I’d see in Resolve, especially on the Fusion tab, seems it takes A LOT to get certain effects loading smoothly. I went rx5700xt for the price value as the Radeon VII is more expensive and barely an improvement performance wise.

I’ll try a cheaper card first just to see if the system can utilize it, my only experience with two card in Resolve was with an external GPU, so now I’m just trying to see if anyone has insight into dual gpus in Resolve :)
Offline

Carsten Sellberg

  • Posts: 931
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:13 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 10:02 am

Stephen Fitzgerald wrote: I’ll try a cheaper card first just to see if the system can utilize it


Hi.

In a DUAL GPU setup do Resolve use the lowers account of vRam. That is the reason that Black Magic only revomend DUAL setup with the same kind of GPU's.

But you also ask for performance improvements in Fusion?
I wonder. if you have the recommended amount of RAM in you system for Fusion?

Of course will a Ryzen CPU with more cores give you higher CPU performance.
If you have the PAID STUDIO version of Resolve, do I wonder if you will see any advantages by splitting you workflow up into two parts, and do your Fusion functions in the Standalone version of Fusion and the rest in Resolve. With a STUDIO version of Resolve, you will also be able to log in to the Standalone version of Fusion.

Regards Carsten.
URSA Mini 4.6K
Offline

Stephen Fitzgerald

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:00 am
  • Real Name: Stephen Fitzgerald

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostThu Nov 14, 2019 5:34 pm

Ok, so I wanted to release my results of adding dual 5700xt GPUs to my current system. Here they are:

#1 I’m seeing a 25% increase in performance.

#2 My motherboard isn’t the fastest, the second PCIE slot is only x4 so the increase in performance on an x16 board could be much better.

#3 CPU is probably the bottleneck, so if you’re going with dual GPUs a 12 core may be a better starting point than my 3700x

All this said, was $400 worth a 25% increase, well, kinda. It’s somewhat overkill now for my needs. Fusion is a bit better, but I feel like I saw more performance increases going from 16 to 32gb of RAM and overclocking it and my CPU to about 4.2.
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1188
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostThu Nov 14, 2019 5:54 pm

Carsten Sellberg wrote:With a STUDIO version of Resolve, you will also be able to log in to the Standalone version of Fusion.

That is true if you have the Resolve Studio dongle. I don't think that's true if you have the Resolve Studio key code. A recent thread had someone complaining bitterly because his key code license doesn't cover Fusion Studio.
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 441.66 (upd 12/10 from 431.86)
- OS,Library: 1TB SSD - Project/Cache: 1 TB SSD
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 603
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostThu Nov 14, 2019 7:54 pm

Stephen Fitzgerald wrote:Ok, so I wanted to release my results of adding dual 5700xt GPUs to my current system. Here they are:

#1 I’m seeing a 25% increase in performance.

#2 My motherboard isn’t the fastest, the second PCIE slot is only x4 so the increase in performance on an x16 board could be much better.

#3 CPU is probably the bottleneck, so if you’re going with dual GPUs a 12 core may be a better starting point than my 3700x

All this said, was $400 worth a 25% increase, well, kinda. It’s somewhat overkill now for my needs. Fusion is a bit better, but I feel like I saw more performance increases going from 16 to 32gb of RAM and overclocking it and my CPU to about 4.2.


You do have an inadequate MOBO then. I believe a x8 for each PCIe slot MOBO upgrade would make things quite a bit better...so additional $150 would be well spent.

How do you determine that the CPU is a bottleneck, 3700x is no slouch. What type of media are you working with?
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X @4GHz, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000MHz, Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 580 8GB, 120 GB system SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 15.3+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

Stephen Fitzgerald

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:00 am
  • Real Name: Stephen Fitzgerald

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSat Nov 16, 2019 5:41 am

Mario, I think you’re right. MOBO is my failure, didn’t know it has two x16 slots, but only x16 can be on each slot at once. CPU is definitely not the issue. Whole setup was around $1500. Dual Cards and all. I’m the upgrade in a couple years I’ll make sure I pay more attention to my MOBO choice. My fault to not researching :twisted:
Offline
User avatar

GonzagueGB

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:46 am
  • Location: Tokyo
  • Real Name: Gonzague Gay-Bouchery

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSat Nov 16, 2019 6:32 am

Michael_Andreas wrote:
Carsten Sellberg wrote:With a STUDIO version of Resolve, you will also be able to log in to the Standalone version of Fusion.

That is true if you have the Resolve Studio dongle. I don't think that's true if you have the Resolve Studio key code. A recent thread had someone complaining bitterly because his key code license doesn't cover Fusion Studio.


What thread?

I have the key code install on my Mac and Fusion show the Studio version, and both GPU are used fully on my old MacPro.
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 603
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSat Nov 16, 2019 10:19 pm

Stephen Fitzgerald wrote:Mario, I think you’re right. MOBO is my failure, didn’t know it has two x16 slots, but only x16 can be on each slot at once. CPU is definitely not the issue. Whole setup was around $1500. Dual Cards and all. I’m the upgrade in a couple years I’ll make sure I pay more attention to my MOBO choice. My fault to not researching :twisted:


It is like that on every Ryzen board, it's the limitation of the processor, to get 2x 16x you need to upgrade to Threadripper, AFAIK.
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X @4GHz, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000MHz, Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 580 8GB, 120 GB system SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 15.3+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

Stephen Fitzgerald

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:00 am
  • Real Name: Stephen Fitzgerald

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSun Nov 17, 2019 5:47 pm

Ahhhhhhhh good call Mario, if that’s the deal I’ll look into the Threadripper upgrade going forward!
Offline

Stephen Fitzgerald

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:00 am
  • Real Name: Stephen Fitzgerald

Re: Using Dual RX 5700xt in Resolve?

PostSat Nov 23, 2019 6:29 am

Soooooooooo

I took the advice of someone above and got a Radeon VII.

It kills the 5700xt, 8k FULL RES no problem with the VII, redic

The dual 5700xt was good, but it wasn’t smart with my motherboard, thank you everyone for your advice!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Mees, Jack Fairley, NewMedia and 38 guests