Sh*tty Dock?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Star Trak

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:23 pm

Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 6:54 am

I have a BMCC MFT and am shooting ProRes on approved OWC SSD's that I format to ExFat in Disk Utility, I am also using an iMac Version 10.6.8 2.66GHz (think I got it about 2010). I had trouble finding an SSD dock in my small city but eventually found one.. A cheap $32 Welland SSD dock http://www.welland.com.tw/html/SATA/604E.html

I am running into an error that I'm hoping is an issue with the dock, when I try to copy a file from the SSD via the dock to my desktop for example it will start copying and 1 of 3 things will happen..

1. "The operation can’t be completed because the item “Blackmagic Cinema Camera_1_2013-09-19_2147_C0000.mov” is in use."

2. The Finder can’t complete the operation because some data in “Blackmagic Cinema Camera_1_2013-09-13_1939_C0000.mov” can’t be read or written.
(Error code -36)

3. The file will transfer with no issues, if multiple files they may transfer without issue or transfer multiple files until the error comes up then it will stop.

I have no clue what's going on since occasionally a file will transfer across.. Could it be my computer? Is it the dock? Is my SSD screwed?

If it IS the dock, could someone please recommend me a good SSD reader that will work fine for my OWC SSDs? THANKS.
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2654
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 9:03 am

Did you try to format with HFS+ instead of ExFat?
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Star Trak

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:23 pm

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 9:10 am

I don't have that option in Disk Utility?
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2654
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 9:25 am

That is strange, as you definitely should have this as an option. Are you sure it is not available?
It might not be labeled as HFS+ but HFS extended or something similar.

Do you have access to a Windows Vista/7 PC? Try to reformat the SSD there to ExFat.
OSX 10.6.x is a bit flaky with ExFat, it got improved with 10.7 and later.
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2654
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 9:28 am

Found a screen shot:
Image

So it is called Mac OS extended now.
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Star Trak

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:23 pm

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 9:51 am

Thanks, that option was the first option I formatted too but I ran into the same error.. Someone told me to format to ExFat instead but I still get the same errors.

I just shot some RAW stuff for the first time.. I was worried for a sec as random lines of harsh color were showing up in the DNG images (using the spacebar to preview them on the SSD via dock) I got real depressed for a second as I thought there may be an issue with my camera but have since realised it must be the dock causing the issue as if you preview the image more than once it looks fine with no lines of color across it, they also don't appear when they are transferred to my desktop (though the errors during transfer still pop up I can manage to get most things across after having to transfer several times).
Offline
User avatar

sean mclennan

  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:28 pm
  • Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 3:38 pm

Did you install any software with your dock? If so, uninstall it, reboot and just connect the dock.

Secondly, I'm guessing your connecting to a USB2 port as your iMac doesn't have USB3 right?
Offline

Star Trak

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:23 pm

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 3:53 pm

I didn't have to install any software manually (though I'm not sure if the dock installs anything itself automatically).

I'm honestly not sure about the USB though I'd imagine it's only USB 2.0. I plan on building a PC as I bought this iMac when I was still at school and interested in Photography (I became interested in video with the 5D2) but I'd like to get this working as it handles ProRes fairly well and I want to be able to use the camera till I build the PC which could be another few months, this iMac won't even run Davinci Resolve..

The dock says it's compatible with USB 3.0 and 2.0 though.
Offline

Natal

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:57 pm

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 6:19 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:Found a screen shot:
Image

So it is called Mac OS extended now.


There is your problem right there - you are using a Mac! :)
Offline
User avatar

Christian Schmeer

  • Posts: 904
  • Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:07 pm
  • Location: London, UK

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 9:22 pm

I use a USB 3.0 enclosure, which cost £10. Never had any issues so far.
Christian Schmeer - DP / Colourist
www.christianschmeer.com
www.vimeo.com/christianschmeer
Offline
User avatar

Joseph Hung

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:37 pm
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostSat Sep 28, 2013 3:15 pm

There's also a new dual drive dock by Highpoint that's Thunderbolt. It only has one TB port though. And it's a bit pricey. But another alternative with higher bandwidth.
Offline

David_

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: Sh*tty Dock?

PostSat Sep 28, 2013 6:38 pm

2. The Finder can’t complete the operation because some data in “Blackmagic Cinema Camera_1_2013-09-13_1939_C0000.mov” can’t be read or written.
(Error code -36)

This is the same error I got a while back, turns out it was indeed a bad dock. I'm almost certain that's the problem. I use the Mac OS extended (journaled) option when reformatting.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], youlikeny and 236 guests