Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion Switch Node

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

leehenshall

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:18 pm

Fusion Switch Node

PostMon Sep 07, 2015 12:24 pm

I'm looking to comp a basic car configurator using Fusion. Normally when using Nuke I will create all of my grade options in the node view then use a switch node to toggle each grade. If I animate the switch node I can get all grades outputted in on click.

I can't seem to find anything like the switch node in Fusion. I've heard of people building them from user macros but I'm not to familiar with this.

Can anyone offer some advise on this?

Cheers

Lee
Offline
User avatar

Pieter Van Houte

  • Posts: 366
  • Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:04 am

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostTue Sep 08, 2015 4:31 am

Easier to just download the switch fuse from here:

http://www.steakunderwater.com/VFXPedia ... escription

Hope that helps
Offline
User avatar

Mikhail Korovyansky

  • Posts: 100
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:59 pm
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostFri Sep 11, 2015 10:32 pm

or use dissolve node..
VFX Supervisor
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 725
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostFri Sep 11, 2015 11:05 pm

Have you also tried the S1-S5 setting buttons on each tool?

It's great way to track minor grade changes.
Offline
User avatar

Mikhail Korovyansky

  • Posts: 100
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:59 pm
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostFri Sep 11, 2015 11:10 pm

Rony Soussan wrote:Have you also tried the S1-S5 setting buttons on each tool?

It's great way to track minor grade changes.


but you can't switch between SS with animation, I guess..
VFX Supervisor
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 725
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostFri Sep 11, 2015 11:31 pm

Correct.
Offline

leehenshall

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:18 pm

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostTue Sep 15, 2015 1:45 pm

Thankyou for all the helpful feedback.

The switch fuse link provided by "Pieter Van Houte" is closest to the Nuke experience. It seems to work perfectly :) The dissolve node and the S1-6 functions are also useful to know.

I was surprised that a basic switch fuction was not present in Fusion. I was half contemplating giving Natron a try but I'm glad I asked here first. Perhaps it could be a good idea for a future release of Fusion.

Thanks again
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2256
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostTue Sep 15, 2015 4:29 pm

Mikhail Korovyansky wrote:or use dissolve node..


DX doesn't respect ROIDS, so it's best avoided whenever possible.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2256
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostTue Sep 15, 2015 4:32 pm

leehenshall wrote:Perhaps it could be a good idea for a future release of Fusion.


There's some push and pull there, though. Do you want to encourage 3rd parties to make tools or do you want to recreate that effort with 1st party time? There's been cases where 3rd party stuff was pulled into the base install, but I'm not sure what the background on that was. If 3rd parties making Fuses start aggressively protecting their IP, that could be an issue too. Just something to think about.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6914
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 1:15 am

I would like a switch node too
..
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.040
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1298
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 7:49 am

You mean like the one Pieter was referring to a couple of posts before?

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=39294#p228099
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6914
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 1:05 pm

Sander de Regt wrote:You mean like the one Pieter was referring to a couple of posts before?

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=39294#p228099


Might be, at work we cannot download extra element at will.

I solved with a dissolve last night.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.040
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1298
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 3:07 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:Might be, at work we cannot download extra element at will.

But can you download/open up *.txt links? That's the beauty of Fuses. They're just plain text files with a different extension.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6914
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 4:17 pm

Sander de Regt wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:Might be, at work we cannot download extra element at will.

But can you download/open up *.txt links? That's the beauty of Fuses. They're just plain text files with a different extension.


I'm not "allowed" to do that..... it's a company policy (and the machines are also totally isolated from internet or mail access).
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.040
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1310
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 2:20 pm

Putting aside the policy restriction you're under, I think the Fuse is what you're looking for, Walter...
So I take the opportunity to thank Pieter and Sander for the link, because it's very handy
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and Sierra, Resolve 15 Studio
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6914
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 6:37 pm

Sam Steti wrote:Putting aside the policy restriction you're under, I think the Fuse is what you're looking for, Walter...
So I take the opportunity to thank Pieter and Sander for the link, because it's very handy


Thanks. I have a look at home where I have no restrictions.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.040
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1000
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Fusion Switch Node

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 8:49 pm

You could even print the code to hard-copy and type it in by hand on a production machine. SwitchFuse isn't a terribly long one, excepting the icon string at the start, so it shouldn't take a good typist very much time to do it. Just omit everything from
SwitchFuse_Icon =

to

]]
}

below that huge block of hexadecimal pixel codes.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests