MTS clips and no sound? I fixed it with ffmpeg

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Pedro Dias

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:46 am
  • Location: Norway

MTS clips and no sound? I fixed it with ffmpeg

PostTue Jul 18, 2017 6:59 am

Long story short, my sony HDR-GW55 camera records sound in AC3 format, which Resolve doesen't take.

I wanted a batch way of converting all my videos, without sacrificing image quality and hopefully not audio quality either. I ended up installing FFMPEG in order to write the following windows batch script:

Code: Select all
@echo off
cls
set outputfolder="%CD%\MOV"
if not exist %outputfolder% (mkdir %outputfolder%) ELSE (echo Outputfolder found)

echo starting conversion..

setlocal enabledelayedexpansion
for %%a in ("*.MTS") do (   
    echo  Converting %%~na.MTS into "%CD%\MOV\%%~na.MOV"
    "F:\Program Files (x86)\FFmpeg for Audacity\ffmpeg.exe" -i %%~na.MTS -vcodec copy -ab 256000 -f mov "%CD%\MOV\%%~na.MOV" -y
)


I saved this code as MTS2MOV.BAT in my folder "C:\bat" and added it to the PATH in system environments.

The cool trick here is that the video is not converted in any form, only the audio. As I record with a separate audio source, I will only use the audio from the clips to sync up the audio tracks, but still, the conversion does a decent job. For more advanced fiddling with audio, I'll drag the video clips onto Audacity and do noise reduction, normalization, compression and so on when needed.

To run it, simply open a CMD window, change your CD to the folder containing your MTS files, and type the MTS2BAT command followed by ENTER.

It will create a subfolder named MOV where all the converted files are. Hope this helps someone, it sure did it for me.
Med vennlig hilsen / Regards,

_________
Pedro Dias
- DaVinci Resolve Studio -
“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”
-Theodore Roosevelt
Online

Al Spaeth

  • Posts: 253
  • Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:48 pm
  • Location: South Africa

Re: MTS clips and no sound? I fixed it with ffmpeg

PostTue Jul 18, 2017 8:17 am

Thanks Pedro - As sophisticated as Resolve is, I can't believe they haven't added support for more camera and output formats which has been the greatest limitation in product reviews since 12.0.
Resolve 14.1 free Win 10 64bit
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3450
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: MTS clips and no sound? I fixed it with ffmpeg

PostTue Jul 18, 2017 9:41 am

They could add this in the studio version, but AC-3 in the free version would cost them licensing.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Henry Scullion

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:10 pm

Re: MTS clips and no sound? I fixed it with ffmpeg

PostSun Aug 27, 2017 9:41 pm

I've been searching for a simple solution to this issue with my GH2 footage for a long time, and this works for me...

Elegant, simple, fast solution Pedro. Great work!

It clears the way for me to move from Premiere to Resolve for my grading and editing.
Offline

Thomas Douqué

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:18 am

Re: MTS clips and no sound? I fixed it with ffmpeg

PostSat Jul 14, 2018 8:22 am

So, this is like, absolutely fabulous!!!

Thanks a ton.

If you have a donation link of some sorts, I can give you a small contribution of some sorts?
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4245
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: MTS clips and no sound? I fixed it with ffmpeg

PostSat Jul 14, 2018 7:52 pm

This:
Code: Select all
... -ab 256000 -f mov "%CD%\MOV\%%~na.MOV" -y

is doing AAC audio, which is not really what you want.

Change it to:
Code: Select all
... -c:a pcm_s24le -f mov "%CD%\MOV\%%~na.MOV" -y

to have it converted to PCM 24bit, which is much better for NLEs.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Al Spaeth, AndreasOberg, Google [Bot], Max Besser, Uli Plank and 37 guests