Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jerry Suppan

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 12:52 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostWed Feb 06, 2019 6:21 am

Jerry S.
Tokyo, Japan
Offline
User avatar

Jerry Suppan

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 12:52 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostWed Feb 06, 2019 7:43 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Can we get the Windows System Information .NFO file?


Here is the link to Windows 10 SysInfo. I thought I sent it but don't see it. So, just one more time. Share link on Google Drive.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FfVZR ... gByZeXzXSq
Jerry S.
Tokyo, Japan
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5500
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostWed Feb 06, 2019 7:11 pm

Hard to provide guidance for such a system, not having one and never having encountered the Intel/AMD hybrid chip.

It seems the Intel driver you currently have installed for the RX Vega M GH CPU embedded graphics is Radeon 18.9.1.

Intel shows a 1-10-2019 driver update to version 18.12.2. You might give that a try and see if it helps.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Jerry Suppan

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 12:52 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostFri Feb 08, 2019 7:36 am

Hi Dwaine,

I am not sure where you get those driver version numbers. For my Intel product (Hades Canyon) I just visited

Intel® Driver & Support Assistant
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... stant.html

It does an online system scan of my entire computer and installed drivers for all aspects. This is the report back under the part about the Radeon Graphics.

Radeon RX Vega M GH Graphics
Radeon™ RX Vega M Graphics Driver for Windows® 10 64-bit for Intel® NUC Kit NUC8i7HNK, NUC8i7HVK

Latest version: 24.20.11026.2001
Installed Version: 24.20.11026.2001

Screen capture here=>> https://photos.app.goo.gl/TFBDYyLLuwrMosxt9

The SysInfo file I sent you displays the same version number above.

BTW, you mention the RX Vega M GH CPU is embedded graphics. My understanding is, this is in fact actually a discrete graphics chip separate from the embedded / integrated Intel 630.

Anyway, somehow I will try and resolve the problem. If unable I will have to consider alternatives.
Thanks.

Cheers,
Jerry S.
Tokyo, Japan
Offline
User avatar

Jerry Suppan

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 12:52 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostFri Feb 08, 2019 8:38 am

Hi Dwaine,

I did a check for the Radeon graphics version number you mentioned to me previously and found this: GFX_Radeon_Win10_64_18.12.2.exe. (executable installation). This is different from the Intel system analysis driver feedback which I mentioned of in the previous message I just posted. (screenshot).

I also did a thorough uninstall / reinstall of Resolve using IOBit Uninstaller, not the defautl Windows uinstall. That program also does a thorough uninstall to include fragments scattered here, there, everywhere as well as a thorough flush of the registry as well.

I am happy to report Resolve now loads once again. I still have not been able to pinpoint the source of the problem, but through the combination of the above actions, It's loading without 'loading waveform monitor' hang.

Cheers,
Jerry S.
Tokyo, Japan
Offline

fabioroldan

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:12 am
  • Real Name: Fabio Roldan

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostMon Feb 18, 2019 6:30 am

Offline

fabioroldan

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:12 am
  • Real Name: Fabio Roldan

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostMon Feb 18, 2019 4:23 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:@ Ben & Ronny & ANYONE else having issues with AMD Radeon series GPUs in Resolve after installing Adrenaline (or any version) drivers, I would recommend the following:
Install the current version of Display Driver Uninstaller, AKA DDU, from here:
Uninstall the current AMD driver, whatever it is, and install the Crimson 17.11.4 driver here:
Please let us know your results.

Thanks Dwaine, this solved the problem in Resolve, also solved problems that I had in Blender. :D
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5500
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostWed Feb 20, 2019 4:55 am

I wish I knew why people are having so many problems with AMD drivers. Everything I've tested here works with multiple AMD cards.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

jaquilino

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:38 am
  • Real Name: Jason Aquilino

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostThu Feb 28, 2019 1:41 am

I just purchased a new Radeon 560 card today after a 7 year old Radeon 1GB card was no longer handling the GPU memory needs. DR15 worked fine with the other one. Now it crashes at the the Monitor loading prompt of the startup. Sometimes it gets to the Project selection page but crashes when the workspace tries to open. I have been using Adrenaline 19.1.1 and the new 19.2 that just came out. I will try now to uninstall and go back to the 18.2 that seemed to work for the Radeon 590 guy earlier in this thread. Hoping for the best!!
Offline

jaquilino

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:38 am
  • Real Name: Jason Aquilino

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostThu Feb 28, 2019 4:20 pm

So I can now confirm - after spending 3+ hours and being about to uninstall and return my new Radeon 560 card - that the newer Radeon drivers are the cause of DR15 crashing with my new Radeon 560 card. To solve, I used the DDU driver uninstall utility in safe mode and removed all Radeon drivers. I downloaded the Adrenalin 18.2.2 drivers (Googled for them and found an EXE on a non-AMD site) and installed that driver set. I booted up DR15 and it worked like a charm. No crashing. Hopefully, AMD can release a driver set in the future that doesn't conflict with DR15 or perhaps better yet, BM can figure out where the conflict is with the new driver set and patch DR15 to not crash when it encounters the Adrenalin 19.x.x driver set.
Offline

MEH_PDX

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:03 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Hazlett

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 5:10 pm

Thanks, your suggestion to rollback the AMD driver, it worked for me.
And to help others find the real driver from AMD go here . . . amd.com/en/support/kb/release-notes/rnrad-win-18-2-2"
Offline
User avatar

jhurdlow

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:48 am
  • Real Name: Jason Hurdlow

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostThu Mar 14, 2019 3:39 am

I've reported this issue to AMD's driver feedback site, and I would suggest everyone else with the problem does as well to help raise it's profile.

https (colon)(slash)(slash) www (dot) amdsurveys (dot) com (slash) se (slash) 5A1E27D23A3DE966

If we can get AMD and BlackMagic working it from both ends perhaps we can get this Resolved (see what I did there?).
Offline
User avatar

jhurdlow

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:48 am
  • Real Name: Jason Hurdlow

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostSun Mar 17, 2019 12:25 am

Good news to share:
I updated to the latest Adrenaline 19.3.2 and I'm now able to run Resolve.
When I first ran it, Eyefinity turned itself on (which I didn't want, and I can't be certain Resolve actually caused, as it doesn't do that anymore), but it ran. The option to turn off Eyefinity was not in my Radeon Settings, so I did a full clean install of the drivers and it showed up (and I disabled it). But once I did that:

Now I can run normally and Resolve is working!!

Can someone else who's having this issue try 19.3.2 and report back?

    Radeon Settings Version - 2019.0312.1854.34037
    Driver Packaging Version - 18.50.27.05-190312a-340258E-RadeonSoftwareAdrenalin2019
    Provider - Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    2D Driver Version - 8.1.1.1634
    Direct3D® Version - 9.14.10.01377
    OpenGL® Version - 25.20.15000.13547
    OpenCL™ Version - 10.0.2766.5
    AMD Mantle Version - 9.1.10.0295
    AMD Mantle API Version - 102400
    AMD Audio Driver Version - 10.0.1.7
    Vulkan™ Driver Version - 2.0.78
    Vulkan™ API Version - 1.1.101

    Radeon Software Version - 19.3.2
    Radeon Software Edition - Adrenalin 2019
    Graphics Chipset - Radeon (TM) RX 480 Graphics
    Memory Size - 8192 MB
    Memory Type - GDDR5
    Core Clock - 1288 MHz
    Windows Version - Windows 10 (64 bit)
    System Memory - 16 GB
    CPU Type - AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core Processor
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6645
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostMon Mar 18, 2019 3:02 am

Thanks for reporting the good news.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

nbamax

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:01 pm
  • Real Name: Max Weigang

Re: DR 14 Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 7:34 pm

Thank you jhurdlow, for pointing it out. I tested it right now, after i had Problems with my RX590 in Version 19.1.1 and went back to 18.12.2.

18.12.2 working
19.1.1 not working
19.3.1 working
19.3.2 working
Offline

alvinX

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:17 pm
  • Real Name: Loke Yangli

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostTue Mar 26, 2019 4:03 am

Finally! Thanks for the suggestion mate!

I tried both 19.3.3 and 19.3.2 but only 19.3.2 works for me.
Offline

ch3rub

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:39 pm
  • Real Name: Łukasz Zygmunt

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostTue Apr 02, 2019 2:23 pm

Thank you guys for posting your findings.

I tried few and had those results:
19.4.1 - not working
19.3.3 - not working
19.3.2 - latest release that works for me
Offline

Don Johnson

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 10:46 pm
  • Real Name: Ro Klo

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 11:38 pm

My system has a Vega 56 and my Resolve16 hung with the waveform in the splashscreen.
I've tried suggested drivers:

Win10-64bit-radeon-software-adrenalin-edition-18.2.2-feb12
Win10-64Bit-Radeon-Software-Adrenalin-2019-Edition-19.3.3-Mar20

The first driver made Resolve crash out during start up.
The second drivermade Resolve started up and I could start a new project.
I was like yeehaw it worked! But after 10 seconds the application crashed and closed.

Dissapointing. Guess I have to buy me a crazy expensive account with the competitor?
Offline

LillyDuf

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:19 pm
  • Real Name: Lilly Duffield

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostFri May 03, 2019 8:55 pm

Hi I have the same problem on my desktop running amd 7800 series, also have an intel HD graphics 4600, which is disabled in computer management and not used

please can someone help

Logs are here

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5500
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostFri May 03, 2019 10:33 pm

Your GPU is not adequate to support Resolve.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

conceptvbs

  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:31 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Kim

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostSat May 04, 2019 1:06 am

Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5500
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostSat May 04, 2019 4:48 am

Try the 18.12.2 driver.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

LillyDuf

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:19 pm
  • Real Name: Lilly Duffield

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostSat May 04, 2019 9:35 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Your GPU is not adequate to support Resolve.


Can you point me to what gpu are supported please? surprised the HD7800 isn't supported but it is an old card.
Offline

Ben Carson

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:38 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Carson

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostSun Aug 18, 2019 6:22 pm

Hi, my laptop with the new released GTX 1050 (3GB) always randomly shut itself down, showing a blue screen saying "Driver State Failure". Is there any compatible version of driver update I should use?
Offline

Henk (Netherlands)

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:08 pm
  • Real Name: Henk Petersen

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostThu Aug 29, 2019 2:36 pm

I'd like to share my experience with you. Yesterday I replaced my old graphics card (with AMD Radeon R9-200 series GPU) by an AMD Radeon RX Vega 64. Uninstalled the old display driver and installed the new one (Adrenalin 19.5.2). Today DaVinci Resolve 15.2 kept hanging on startup of the Waveform Monitor. I upgraded to version 16.0, with the same result. Then I started Display Driver Uninstaller (in Windows Safe Mode). It reported remainders and data of the old graphics card and I had them removed. Before installing the Crimson 17.11.4 driver I decided to try once more the Adrenalin 19.5.2 driver. To my relief DaVinci Resolve 16.0 now starts up and seems to work without further problems. Thanks for this tip!
Offline

qnstie

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:07 am
  • Real Name: Pawel Kunstman

Re: Updated.. Crashing at "Loading waveform Monitor"

PostSun Sep 08, 2019 2:47 pm

I had the same problem today on a freshly installed Win 10 (machine: i7 + Radeon RX580) and DR Studio 16.1 Beta 2.
DR reinstall did not help, Win update did not help either.
What helped was upgrade of Radeon drivers to the newest version from AMD site.

Conclusion: the drivers shipped with Windows 10 seem to be incompatible with Resolve.
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Didier, Hector Corcin, jdmedia, Paul Willis, Theo Ribeiro and 68 guests