Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

BenWorkman

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:31 am

Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 6:40 am

So seems to be lost in the shuffle, but is there any more light to shed on the new capability for the Hyperdeck?

My biggest qualm was the unbelievable cost of approved SD cards large enough to hold a UHD production in ProRes-- just 2 hours was roughly $400-$500 worth of cards.
Obviously H.264 would cut down on file size dramatically--- would slower cards also be approved considering the MUCH lower bitrate?

Are all of the UHD resolutions supported with the H.264 update?

Not seeing any updates on the product page or tech specs yet.
Offline
User avatar

John Barker

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 7:08 am

Sadly Grant did mention in the video that "It'll work in HD" so I don't think you'll have any luck with UHD recordings. Perhaps that will come in the future though.

John Barker
heretorecord.com
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2682
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 7:15 am

You have a good change of running 35Mb/s cards for H264.. So normal class 10..

I guess it all depends on if the hardware is up to the task to do 4K in H264.. Which is a pretty processor heavy codec.. So for HD it would work.. Not sure it has enough power to encode / decode 4K..
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

MambaFiber.com

  • Posts: 565
  • Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 5:26 pm
  • Location: SLC, UT

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 3:46 pm

wow, missed this the first viewing. can't believe they made a feature I asked about. a glimmer of hope. :D

so available in a few weeks, in BMD time thats Aug/Sept?? :lol:
Greg Bellotte - owner
MambaFiber.com
FaceBook.com/MambaFiber
Offline

Andrew Martin

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 7:00 pm

Yeah, but Aug/Sept which yr :lol:

Joking aside.... , it has been asked for and we'll done bmd for listening.
Offline

Dave Del Vecchio

  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:25 am

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 12:01 am

Not sure if it will be the same on the HyperDeck Mini, but on the Duplicator 4K, there are 3 quality settings for H.264 with the following bitrates in HD:
  • 1080i60/1080p60: 50 Mbps (High), 40 Mbps (Medium), 30 Mbps (Low)
  • 1080i50/1080p50: 45 Mbps (High), 33 Mbps (Medium), 25 Mbps (Low)
  • 1080p30: 30 Mbps (High), 22 Mbps (Medium), 16 Mbps (Low)
  • 1080p25/1080p24: 25 Mbps (High), 18 Mbps (Medium), 12 Mbps (Low)
  • 720p60: 30 Mbps (High), 22 Mbps (Medium), 15 Mbps (Low)
  • 720p50: 25 Mbps (High), 18 Mbps (Medium), 10 Mbps (Low)
Since the maximum bitrate is 50 Mbps, most Class 10 SD cards are capable of handling that.
Offline

David Settlemoir

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 2:18 am

Doug Johnson posted a short video from NAB with the Hyperdeck Mini running the updated firmware and it had High/Medium/Low,
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2682
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 10:27 am

Alright that means that you have High Medium Low and based on it's input sdi resolution..

So based on what Dave Del Vecchio posted it would appear bmd has taken the Encoding engine from the Duplicator and put that into the hyperdeck mini too.. ;)
From 5Minute 11>

Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

BenWorkman

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:31 am

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostSat Apr 28, 2018 3:54 am

Dang- was really hoping to have the 4k resolutions in H264. Would make redundancy for my workflow so much easier.
Offline

Jeff Thyssen

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:54 pm

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostThu Jun 14, 2018 2:01 pm

Hello !

Is anyone already tired the H264 function ?
I tried but not work as well.

Plugged a 1080i50 from my ATEM output, selected 2 channels audio. No one of the three presets works.
When I push the rec button, it said "Insuitable codec".

Is anyone already had this problem ?

Kind regards
Jeff
Offline

David Hutchinson

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:00 am
  • Location: East Yorkshire, UK

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostThu Jun 14, 2018 5:40 pm

It only records progressive framerates, not interlaced.
Offline

Jeff Thyssen

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:54 pm

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostFri Jun 15, 2018 9:41 pm

Should is supposed to laugh ? It’s ridiculous !!!
Offline

CMGoodin

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 5:32 pm

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostFri Jun 15, 2018 11:27 pm

David Hutchinson wrote:It only records progressive frame rates, not interlaced.


What are they thinking. I am using it with the ATEM HD switcher to switch 1080i60 Live cameras and it doesn't support the USA broadcast standard 1080i59.94? That is beyond stupid. I would kind of understand not supporting 1080 60p But not supporting the original Television Studio 1080i60 and Television Studio HD. Is very disappointing.
Offline

Andrew Martin

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostSat Jun 16, 2018 6:45 pm

David Hutchinson wrote:It only records progressive framerates, not interlaced.
CMGoodin wrote:
David Hutchinson wrote:It only records progressive frame rates, not interlaced.


What are they thinking. I am using it with the ATEM HD switcher to switch 1080i60 Live cameras and it doesn't support the USA broadcast standard 1080i59.94? That is beyond stupid. I would kind of understand not supporting 1080 60p But not supporting the original Television Studio 1080i60 and Television Studio HD. Is very disappointing.
]

Yes it is a ballache that it doesn't support EU broadcast std /50i either, but

Neither did the Ursa when first introduced, neither did the studio cams when first introduced and neither did the TVS HD when first introduced.
I think maybe BMD are working on a premise of progressive first, interlace if enough people want it, and keep badgering us abt it. :D
Offline

isaiahfranco

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:06 am
  • Real Name: Isaiah Franco

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostSun Jun 17, 2018 12:09 am

Put me as a +1 for needing to be able to record interlaced h.264. My entire video workflow is 1080i59.94 and I have four HyperDecks at my broadcast campus and at least one or two per location (seven other locations) and being able to distribute an h.264 file over the internet would be sooooo much easier than a ProRes file.
Offline

andrewgordon

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:40 pm

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostWed Jun 27, 2018 3:19 pm

+1 for another thinking that this is ridiculous, Our whole blackmagic workflow is 1080i50. Why can you record prores interlaced but can you not record h.264 interlaced?
Offline

LeonRet

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:39 pm
  • Real Name: Leon Retief

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostWed Jul 11, 2018 3:21 pm

plus 1. Obviously we need interlace. That is their workflow
Offline

jaysholloway

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:32 pm
  • Real Name: Jay Holloway

Re: Hyperdeck Mini H.264 Questions

PostWed Aug 15, 2018 8:39 pm

Another big +1 for needing to record H.264 interlaced. I saw the hyperdeck studio mini's got the H.264 update so I went and bought 2 more last week. Just got them set-up and rack-mounted today, formatted cards, and got the unsupported codec error.... Everything I do is in 1080i 59.94 - these hyperdecks are useless to me without this codec support! Please update!

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests