Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

OpenCL does not work in Fusion on mac

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Chad Gleason

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:16 pm

OpenCL does not work in Fusion on mac

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 7:40 pm

I've set up Fusion and Resolve on my mac pro 3,1 with an Nvidia GTX 1070 gpu and OS X High Sierra. I'm using Nvidia's web drivers and Resolve works wonderfully using CUDA, Metal or OpenCL on this setup, so I know everything is installed correctly.

In Fusion standalone, however, when I try to set my OpenCL settings, it tells me it can't find a compatible OpenCL graphics card, even though it has no trouble seeing the 1070.

Can anyone tell me what's happening here? I would really like to use OpenCL since my CPUs are pretty slow, making fusion rendering quite slow.

Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

MikeRochefort

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:48 am
  • Location: New England

Re: OpenCL does not work in Fusion on mac

PostWed Jun 13, 2018 1:52 am

Not sure how much of a boost you’re going to see. The OpenCL support in Fusion is pretty unstable and I haven’t seen any posts since 9.0.2 dropped saying otherwise. You may be best to leave it off or on the CPU.

Cheers,
Mike
https://michaelrochefort.com/
3D Lookdev, Compositing, and Sysadmin
Fusion Studio 9.0.2
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15b3
CentOS 7.5.1804 | Intel i7-6850K | 32GB memory | 3x GTX 1070
Offline
User avatar

Chad Gleason

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: OpenCL does not work in Fusion on mac

PostWed Jun 13, 2018 4:11 am

Thanks for the info. I was hoping OpenCL would improve render times. If that's not likely to happen then I suppose the best course of action is finally upgrade this old beast with a stronger CPU. I'm trying to hold out for the new mac pro next year...

On a side note, are there any improvements to OpenCL or Metal support for Fusion in Resolve? I noticed that there is an option to "always use CPU in Fusion", which makes me think no....
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 519
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am

Re: OpenCL does not work in Fusion on mac

PostWed Jun 13, 2018 3:04 pm

If your CPU is underpowered, you may see an improvement from getting OpenCL working. I haven't taken the time to redo the benchmarking in 9.02, but in 9.0 there was no advantage to OCL on in a workstation with a Core i7 and a GT900 series GPU, nor in one with dual Xeons and dual Titan X's. But there may well have been in a computer with the Titans and the i7.

Fusion in Resolve now runs on Metal or CUDA in addition to OpenCL (not all at the same time, though, obviously!) There have been too many other things to test there so far, though, so I haven't done any performance testing on it yet. I don't know if anyone else has. Early in the beta, Fusion was terribly crashy on the GPU, but that's been largely straightened out. There may still be lingering trouble on Linux, but it's great on Windows.

You say it has no trouble seeing the 1070, but it gives you an error about not finding a compatible card. I'm not sure what you mean—in the OpenCL Preferences, does the 1070 appear in the Select drop-down, but the error appears in the Status window? If that's not it, some screenshots would help.

Fusion can be sensitive to driver versions, so changing the driver may solve the problem. If you're on the latest, step back a couple of versions and see what happens.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline
User avatar

Chad Gleason

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: OpenCL does not work in Fusion on mac

PostThu Jun 14, 2018 1:04 am

Ok got it working. The problem was a second gfx card I had installed that was not opencl compatible. I removed it and now everything works fine. Thanks for the help!

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests