Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

wolfgang hershey

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 12:41 am
  • Location: chinatowns everywhere

Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostThu Jul 12, 2018 5:09 pm

yup

A straight up need

Spellcheck for subtitles

( and hey since I'm asking all title text of all sorts )

but for sure for subtitles
either using the system language
or by allowing the language setting to be a part of the subtitle track settings...

hard to imagine without it

thanks -- keep up the great work
wh
imac/hackintosh 14,2 (4-core 4.0 GHz i7) - 32GB - 980Ti (+intel GUI)
OS X 10.13.4 / Beta6 15 Resolve Studio - Intensity Pro 4k
10Gb ethernet network
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 635
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostFri Jul 13, 2018 12:22 am

an expression of 'need' without explaining your workflow is like a bug report without listing specs.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.2, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve 15.2.2.007
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3724
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostFri Jul 13, 2018 1:12 am

And, BTW, you can type in any text app that supports spell checking and then cut-n-paste…
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Carsten Sellberg

  • Posts: 406
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:13 am

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostFri Jul 13, 2018 4:07 am

Hi.

I wonder if you need it inside Resolve or if you can accept a separate free program?

I am using Subtitle Edit ver 3.5.4 for different purposes including OCR reading of some subtitles for conversation into other subtitles format like srt. It improve the OCR reading by using a spell checker and I see that it also have a separate Spell Check function.
May be it can solve your need?

Regards Carsten.
URSA Mini 4.6K
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3724
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostFri Jul 13, 2018 4:47 am

IMHO, the new subtitle function in DR15 is not fully mature anyway. Like not really WYSIWYG.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

wolfgang hershey

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 12:41 am
  • Location: chinatowns everywhere

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostFri Jul 13, 2018 12:29 pm

hi all

surprised by the pushback
but sure

the workflow is thus,
as the subtitling is in the program
Myself and I suspect many people will use it
to do both what is called "Spotting" (in and out timings for the subs) and the transcription

So typos and missspellings need to be caught (in the program at the time of writing pls)

I'm hard pressed to find other examples of text input these days that _don't_ have spellcheck
(is BMD using a text lib that is so old or non standard that it does not have hooks for spellcheck?!)

I've used most every subtitling software out there
and some are good and some are terrible
but in general having to go to an external application is a drag
as spotting takes up a lot of time
(some try to semi-automate based on the audio track)

By having subtitles in the edit -- (thank you.. thank you.. BMD)
much of the spotting becomes "natural"
as the spotting often corresponds to the existing edit points in the timeline

I assume that BMD will provide spellcheck in a newer version of Resolve

I opened up the topic more to remind or push that some people are already using the brand new subtitling feature of the software.


peace ya'll
wh


P.S.
Actually I would be more than happy to see BMD,
tie more into the various accessibility preferences in the system.
(I'm on a Mac and many of the accessibility features are a godsend)
I use Dictation and Speech all the time
and the switch control and apple scripting have come in handy many times over the years.
The more flexibility for input and feedback the better, imho
(I use wacom tablets and trackballs - I'm unable to use mice anymore, because of hand pain)
imac/hackintosh 14,2 (4-core 4.0 GHz i7) - 32GB - 980Ti (+intel GUI)
OS X 10.13.4 / Beta6 15 Resolve Studio - Intensity Pro 4k
10Gb ethernet network
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3724
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostFri Jul 13, 2018 12:38 pm

Hi Wolfgang,
I assume (and hope) that the subtitling feature will mature over time, it's still young.
But I doubt BM would like to add anything that's Mac only, since they want to keep the program as consistent over the platforms as possible. They already have many users who are stumped when they can't export ProRes on Windows…
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Online

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4352
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostFri Jul 13, 2018 3:52 pm

If you do a lot of subtitling you better of using proper tool for this and then import ready subs to Resolve.
Offline

wolfgang hershey

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 12:41 am
  • Location: chinatowns everywhere

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostFri Jul 13, 2018 5:35 pm

Yello again

yes I'm aware it's maturing
(as I said in my note..)
this is just one user pushing for better/best tools :-)

Uli:
QT which I believe is the windowmanager being used (I think)
has many ways to tie into spellcheck on all platforms
and in general : spellcheck is no longer has tied to system
(it's even a google service)
spellcheck is not system dependent any more

Andrew:
yeah as I said I've used lots of systems to subtitle
there are two use cases I run into all the time
one is when the filmmaker does the titles in advance of finialization of the program
--> I can't tell you how many times in FCP7 people came with titles pre built - but as titles on the app
(thankfully there were tools to extract out of the XML - thanks FCP XML!)

the other is when I'm finishing a film (I'm often the "online" editor and make all the masters and the DCP)
and it's almost after the fact
but in my experience it is much easier if I can generate titles using the edit as a guideline for the spotting
and BMD seems to be addressing that (thanks BMD THANKS)

using the "better" Subtitling Apps is often a hassle (either audio sensing or image/seen break systems)
(sadly my clients mostly can't afford outside services - that's the easy way)

anyway
best on your projects
wh
imac/hackintosh 14,2 (4-core 4.0 GHz i7) - 32GB - 980Ti (+intel GUI)
OS X 10.13.4 / Beta6 15 Resolve Studio - Intensity Pro 4k
10Gb ethernet network
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3724
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostSat Jul 14, 2018 2:42 am

I was not referring to spellchecking, but dictation.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Brian Carter

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Need for Spell Check in Subtitles

PostSat Jul 14, 2018 10:36 am

Spell check would be a welcomed addition. This isn't a strange or off base request - it's simply what any modern editor application does.
iMac 5k, Macbook Pro Retina, Media Composer, Pro Tools, Adobe Suite. We use it all including DaVinci Studio.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Dave Shortman, dirk-pel, Google Feedfetcher, Johannes Hoffmann, László Rumbold, mosttoys and 17 guests