Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

New Composition via Fusion (Resolve 15)

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

RikshaDriver

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:08 am
  • Real Name: Asim Siddiqui

New Composition via Fusion (Resolve 15)

PostWed Sep 12, 2018 8:23 am

Hi All,

Just a bit confused with Fusion inside Resolve 15.

I'm looking to create a title sequence composition but for the life of me can't figure out how to get it started inside Resolve 15 instance of Fusion.

Whatever I've read seems to imply that I need to import media as the first step.

How would I go about creating a blank sequence without any existing media files?

Any help would be appreciated.
Offline

alan bovine

  • Posts: 125
  • Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: New Composition via Fusion (Resolve 15)

PostWed Sep 12, 2018 9:07 am

This is one of the many shortcomings of the current integration of Fusion in Resolve. It expects that youre always working on a piece of footage. Especially for early development in both VFX and motion graphics youre more often than not starting from scratch.

A work around is to create an and empty clip on the timeline using the Generators->Solid Colour
Then right click the clip and create a compound clip, and you should now be able to open it in the Fusion page.

I sincerely hope BMD listens to both experienced Fusion artists and VFX professionals about how the integration can be improved. Theres a lot of potential here but some key points have been missed in this first iteration.
Fusion video tutorials : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTCeDas53OEcWcRujkQiwLg/videos?view_as=subscriber
Fusion Tools : https://github.com/statixVFX/stx_tools
Nuke 2 Fusion nodes : https://github.com/statixVFX/nuke2fusion
Offline

Michael Tiemann

  • Posts: 290
  • Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:22 am

Re: New Composition via Fusion (Resolve 15)

PostWed Sep 12, 2018 9:12 am

Don't take my word as definitive (I'm a new fusion user, but have used fusion now in projects). Yes, it does appear that Fusion, when inside of Resolve, depends on associating Fusion compositions with clips. So if you have an empty project, or a project with just a timeline, or a timeline with just a generator, you can't yet effectively use Fusion. Once you have a clip and you load it into a timeline, then you can start to play with Fusion. Or, as Alan Bovine suggests, create a Compound Clip from the generator--that's a nice way to avoid the requirements of having an actual media file.

Reading on other threads, if you want to share your Resolve-based fusion compositions with regular fusion, the best practice is to delete the MediaIn and MediaOut nodes before you save it. Regular Fusion doesn't have a concept of compositions being attached to clips.
MacOS Sierra Version 10.13.6
iMac Pro (2017)
3 GHz Intel Xeon W
64GB 2666 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro Vega 64 16 GB
Red Rocket-X in Sonnet III-D via Thunderbolt 3
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: New Composition via Fusion (Resolve 15)

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 8:22 am

from viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79204:
• Support for creating and opening new Fusion compositions from the Media Pool
• Support for Fusion composition generators in the Edit page effects library for creating comps without source media
• Support for Loader nodes in the Fusion node graph
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: New Composition via Fusion (Resolve 15)

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 10:22 am

These are very welcome updates!
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests