Video Assist 4K record RAW data?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

thx3600

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:23 am
  • Real Name: Roberto Conte

Video Assist 4K record RAW data?

PostThu Sep 13, 2018 9:46 am

Hi to everybody,
I have a VA 4K and I would like to know if there are any chances to record 4K RAW data from a Sony FS700 through SDI?
Any clue or suggestions?
Thanks
Roberto
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9258
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Video Assist 4K record RAW data?

PostThu Sep 13, 2018 7:20 pm

Not likely, recording codecs are set in the recorder, not the camera. The recorders that do Raw, use ProRes Raw which is currently restricted to three companies to use. Perhaps in a future update it might be possible.
Currently, BM BA only records ProRes or DNG, 4.2.2, YUV Video streams in Rec 709 if film log.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

thx3600

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:23 am
  • Real Name: Roberto Conte

Re: Video Assist 4K record RAW data?

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 7:58 am

Denny Smith wrote:...recording codecs are set in the recorder, not the camera...

Hi Denny, thanks for reply... but I wrote wrong: RAW data 4K comes out from SDI of my Sony and I would like to know if BM video assist 4K con record it converting to ProRes or DNG or DNxHD 4K.
For example, Odyssey 7Q and Shogun Inferno does it, my question is: does BMVA 4K too?
(before sending my FS700 to modify hardware for 4K, I would be sure that I will be able to use my BMVA 4K).

Thanks
Roberto
Offline

Stewart Fairweather

  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:28 am

Re: Video Assist 4K record RAW data?

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 6:30 pm

I have pretty much the same question, but for an Aja Cion camera, and the new BRAW format.

BMD's Video Assist recording BRAW from other brands cameras, could be a very popular product.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9258
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Video Assist 4K record RAW data?

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 6:52 pm

Yes, I know the Sony and Cion output a Raw file, so does the BM Ursa Micro Studio. But, the recorder needs to have a Raw codec thst is able to interpret that data stream from the ca era and record as a BM Raw or ProRes Raw. Currently, only Atomos has a recorder thst will record ProRes Raw, as it has a short term exclusive deal with Apple.

BM will still need to implement its BM Raw, and seeing how it’s is camera specifc for BM Cameras, you would need a version for the Sony and Cion Camera, as well as one for the Micro Studio implemented on the Video Assist. I do not see this happening any time soon. Also, since the only camera BM makes that outputs a Raw format stream is the Micro Studio, the rest record BM Raw or CNDG Raw internally, so no real incentive to give the VA a Raw recording format, but who knows :?:
Maybe after Atomos’ exclusive deal expires.
Cheers.
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Stewart Fairweather

  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:28 am

Re: Video Assist 4K record RAW data?

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 1:27 pm

Doesn't the SSD recorder for the Ursa Mini Pro also get the Raw output via the SDI connections?

What I'm hoping, is that the SDK and the like will enable the aftermarket to support for more cameras with external recorders.

Reading the reports on PreResRaw and BRAW, it seems that BMD's effort has all the advantages of CineDNG, with none of the 'locked to Apple' issues of ProResRaw, or of outputting any form of ProRes on PC.
Nor does BRAW have the headaches of dealing with folders full of CineDNG sequences.

I'd expect Atomos to be slow to support BRAW, but it'll eventually come, but only for Sony, then Canon, then Panasonic, with no bother at supporting Arri, Aja or any other Raw output camera.

A BMD Raw Recorder, say, bundled with Resolve, and supporting all cameras with Raw outputs, would be a pretty hot seller IMHO.

Especially if it did so to SSD's or NVMe media, rather then CFast or any of the less common and more expensive media.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9258
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Video Assist 4K record RAW data?

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 8:01 pm

The SDK code for BRAW is for decode only, to be used on NLEs like FCPX or Premiere. Camera or video recorder coding of BRAW is Not open to third party manufacturers, so no BRAW codec on Atomos recorders or non-BM cameras at this time, according to a msg. I got from BM when I asked this question.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests