Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jamie Dickinson

  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:38 am

Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 3:36 pm

Sometimes a Fusion clip which has cached (blue on the timeline) won't playback. Other Fusion clips will. I can force it to play if I comp something else on the edit page (like another video layer scaled down) so the cache settings must be good.

I haven't tracked down anything specific to the Fusion clips it doesn't like, anyone else?

(Win 10 Pro 32GB RAM, GTX 1080 also 2011 iMac 16GB Sierra)
Offline

Adrian Niwa

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:50 pm

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostMon Nov 12, 2018 4:50 pm

Yeah, same here.

If my Fusion Composition is bigger, the Playback wan't be smooth.

Hopefully will be fixed in upcoming updates.
Windows 10 x64 / Gigabyte Z97X-SOC / Intel i7 4770K / 2 X EVGA GTX 980Ti / 1 X ZOTAC AMP GTX 780 6GB / 32GB RAM DDR-3 / 4 X SSD drive / Fusion Studio / Resolve Studio
www.inox.vision
Offline

Jamie Dickinson

  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:38 am

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostMon Nov 12, 2018 4:53 pm

I was wondering if there were something specific about the comp that causes this bug not just complexity of the comp? If there's no Loader/MediaIn mine will play back OK once rendered.
Offline

Adrian Niwa

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:50 pm

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostMon Nov 12, 2018 4:56 pm

At my side there are several backgrounds, animated paint tools, and some transfomations. Nothing fancy, no tracking, no keying etc.
I'm just using basic tools to create some imagery for a tutorial I'm working on.
Windows 10 x64 / Gigabyte Z97X-SOC / Intel i7 4770K / 2 X EVGA GTX 980Ti / 1 X ZOTAC AMP GTX 780 6GB / 32GB RAM DDR-3 / 4 X SSD drive / Fusion Studio / Resolve Studio
www.inox.vision
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 361
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostTue Nov 13, 2018 7:49 am

Jamie Dickinson wrote:I was wondering if there were something specific about the comp that causes this bug not just complexity of the comp? If there's no Loader/MediaIn mine will play back OK once rendered.

This sounds like there is something going on in the background although it should just read and play the cache if it is valid. As if Resolve still decodes the source footage besides cache.
I do stuff.
Offline

Adrian Niwa

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:50 pm

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostTue Nov 13, 2018 11:12 am

Maybe there is some sort of guide to how to set all cache options properly to get realtime playback?

At some complexity level, Fusion Comps get unusable.

At the moment I just copy nodes back to Fusion standalone and export PNGs.
Windows 10 x64 / Gigabyte Z97X-SOC / Intel i7 4770K / 2 X EVGA GTX 980Ti / 1 X ZOTAC AMP GTX 780 6GB / 32GB RAM DDR-3 / 4 X SSD drive / Fusion Studio / Resolve Studio
www.inox.vision
Online
User avatar

Miltos Pilalitos

  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:42 am
  • Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostTue Nov 13, 2018 12:06 pm

It is definitely a bug, don't waste time on trying to figure out why it is happening.

It will be fixed. I hope soon!
Windows 10 x64 • Threadripper 1950x • 64GB RAM
1080Ti 11GB + GTX1070 8GB • Latest Nvidia drivers
Fusioneer since Fu4.0
Resolver since v9
Offline

benoit

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 10:05 am
  • Location: Bretagne
  • Real Name: benoit evano

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 7:45 pm

this problem has not be fixed in 15.2
intel 6 core i7 5820k 3.3Ghz
34Gb ram
1x GTX 660
intensity card
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.2
Offline

Jamie Dickinson

  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:38 am

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 8:40 pm

I tested this on my iMac this morning and you're right, same problem. I'll upload a drp and see if support can use it.
Offline
User avatar

Jed Mitchell

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:04 pm
  • Location: New York, NY

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 9:12 pm

I have this same problem, Fusion caching basically doesn't work. That's largely true of Fusion standalone too, the node caches are upredictable at best, often completely broken and are bypassed by calculations upstream even when locked (same issue in the Resolve page).

What I've gotten into the habit of doing is inserting manual caches in line with my comp with a saver --> loader node which just writes out EXRs of whatever is upstream then brings them back into the comp for use downstream. Takes a little more work to set up but it has the nice side benefit of letting me use a farm to "cache" things.

That hack is the only way I've ever gotten Fusion comps to play back reliably in Resolve.
"It's amazing what you can do when you don't know you can't do it."

Systems:
DR15.2.1 | Win10 | i9 7940X | 128GB RAM | 2x 1080 Ti | 960Pro cache disk
DR15.2.2 | Win10 | i9 7940X | 128GB RAM | 1x 2080 Ti | 660p cache disk
Offline

Heiko Thies

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostWed Nov 21, 2018 3:04 pm

Can confirm this behaviour. I'm testing out some very basic techniques like 3D tracking a text into a shot etc. Nothing complex. but neither "cache to disk" with the prerender option nor the smartcacheing in Resolve itself works. Clip is shown with blue line over it but it still runs at a mere 10-11 fps, oftentimes it doesn't even render the clip only a fe frames here and there, the rest ist either freeze frame or even black frames... Really hope this gets fixed soon, as of now it's rather unusable :(
Offline

jensgruen

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Jens Grünhagen

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostWed Nov 28, 2018 10:17 am

just wanted to chime in.

i have the same problem: fusion clips not playing back in the edit page, stuttering 10 frames before and 10 after approximately.

There is a workaround for the moment: place a transparent clip above your fusion clip (png for example) in the edit timeline. render. it now plays smoothly.

this being just a workaround: BMD needs to fix this ASAP. It makes the whole fusion tab worthless, if playback is not working.
Offline

Jamie Dickinson

  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:38 am

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 12:49 pm

Anyone tried this in the latest release, is it fixed yet?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5031
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 1:20 pm

It’s a deep issue we are working on
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Jamie Dickinson

  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:38 am

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 2:51 pm

OK, many thanks for the update
Offline

jensgruen

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Jens Grünhagen

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 4:24 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:It’s a deep issue we are working on


Nice. I think this is by far the most important stability issue for me. fusion integration ist great, but without playback its not what the app is for and until this is "resolved" :-) davinci is no match to AE and PR. If it is sales will probably drive you nuts, because a lot of people want to go away from Adobe with their unnerving price model.

Please keep us updated.
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 652
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostThu Jan 10, 2019 5:27 am

I am having this issue with 15.2.2 in a bad way. Doing a credits sequence in fusion and playback (even when the clip is cached) is horrible... like 1-2fps and brings all of Resolve to a crawl until I click off the fusion clip to another area in the sequence. I see there have been no updates on this in over a month. Has the issue been isolated? Been fixed? Or is it still a mystery? Any updates at all on this?
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.2
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Jamie Dickinson

  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:38 am

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostThu Jan 10, 2019 12:07 pm

I'm still having the same problem too. I don't know why more people aren't complaining about it, I guess it doesn't affect everyone? Could it be only GTX range (Pascal?) GPUs? Actually, no because my old iMac has the same issue with its AMD.
I have every faith there'll be a fix out for this soon (I hope!)
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 261
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostMon Jan 14, 2019 5:45 pm

A workaround that works for me is to put a text over the Fusion clip with the opacity set to zero in the Inspector.

This forces daVinci to generate a proper cache and the Fusion clips plays smoothly.
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Fusion clips cache but still don't playback smoothly

PostMon Jan 14, 2019 7:56 pm

Has anyone with the problem tried going to the Playback menu and choosing to set the Fusion Memory Cache to On instead of Auto?
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 15.2.1

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bernieke, Daz Wood, Edwin Street, imlach, SimplSam and 34 guests