Indicator of used clip on TL?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Kirill Tupta

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:55 pm

Indicator of used clip on TL?

PostSat Nov 10, 2018 6:42 pm

Is there any way to mark used clips in the Media Pool?
It's so essential thing, that it should ON by default, but it's not, i having trouble to find where it is.

DaVinci Resolve by Blackmagic Design - 15.1.2 2018-11-10 21.42.08.jpg
DaVinci Resolve by Blackmagic Design - 15.1.2 2018-11-10 21.42.08.jpg (373.96 KiB) Viewed 227 times
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1804
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Indicator of used clip on TL?

PostSat Nov 10, 2018 6:47 pm

Kirill Tupta wrote:Is there any way to mark used clips in the Media Pool?


Yes : usage Clip or Smart Bin with Usage.
(search in forum...) :)
Windows 10 PRO X64 1709 and 1803 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.2.0.033 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 10.10.14 | Nvidia 416.34
Offline

Kirill Tupta

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:55 pm

Re: Indicator of used clip on TL?

PostSat Nov 10, 2018 9:18 pm

Jean Claude wrote:
Kirill Tupta wrote:Is there any way to mark used clips in the Media Pool?


Yes : usage Clip or Smart Bin with Usage.
(search in forum...) :)


You mean Usage column on the list view? It's not the same when browsing clips visually during edit.
Offline
User avatar

Andy Mees

  • Posts: 192
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:48 am

Re: Indicator of used clip on TL?

PostSun Nov 11, 2018 5:29 am

It's far from ideal Kirill but unfortunately the List View >> Usage column is all we have in that regard at the moment. Hopefully better visual tagging and management of clip usage, both in timeline and bin, will come in future releases.

In the meantime you could maybe set up a Smart Bin for Usage (eg 'is greater than 0') and then periodically 'Update Usage' and set the Clip Colour for all clips that show up in that bin to a specific colour. That clip colour shows up as a coloured dot in the top right corner of your thumbnails when in Icon View. Its not a great solution but it may be better than nothing depending on your workflow.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 820
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am

Re: Indicator of used clip on TL?

PostSun Nov 11, 2018 8:23 am

Another approach:

Create a smart bin with these settings. You will need to periodically update the clip usage using the "3 dots" menu in the edit page media pool pane. This will show only unused clips in the smart bin. Will work with list or icon view.
Screen Shot 2018-11-11 at 7.17.44 pm.png
Screen Shot 2018-11-11 at 7.17.44 pm.png (296.09 KiB) Viewed 56 times
Resolve 15
Mac OSX 10.13.3
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 641
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Indicator of used clip on TL?

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 5:57 am

Have a look at the 15.2 update, it may include a useful addition.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Dany Evans, Dave Shortman, Google [Bot], Jan Zegklitz, Michael Jörg, Tom Early and 17 guests