Radeon VII benchmarks?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

8bitDIT

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:45 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Goodowens

Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostThu Feb 14, 2019 2:56 pm

In their travels, has anybody come across any performance benchmarks for the Radeon VII in Davinci 15 yet? Considering that Resolve was one of the applications specifically listed as enjoying performance gains when the card was announced I sort of expected to at least see something by now.

I know there are a kajillion sites that have benchmarked it in game after game, mostly with a decided result of "meh...", but I for one would at least like to see some transcode or NR testing.

Perhaps it was on the todo list of the Puget System peeps but then they got completely sidetracked when they managed to get their hands on a 9990XE ;)
Offline

Ian Henderson

  • Posts: 132
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:05 am
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostFri Feb 15, 2019 8:01 pm

Also very interested to know...
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 2684
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostFri Feb 15, 2019 8:35 pm

Same here! There's a preliminary one here:

Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
Alienware M15 Hexacore i7/32GB/2070 Max-Q
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1040
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostFri Feb 15, 2019 11:13 pm

The (windows) drivers are kind of crap at the moment, that might be the reason serious reviewers hold it of at the moment. It should be very fast with effects and NR because of the memory bandwidth and the low memory latencies. Wendell at level1techs is working on a review at the moment (don't know if he will also do some Resolve).
Offline

Ian Henderson

  • Posts: 132
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:05 am
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostSat Feb 16, 2019 8:03 am

I switched from a 1080ti to a Vega 56 in my Hackintosh because of driver issues and performance in Resolve was surprisingly close. So yeah, not sure the Windows gaming results necessarily apply, especially on Mac.
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1040
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostSat Feb 16, 2019 3:11 pm

Not to bad with piece of crap drivers http://barefeats.com/vega-vii-versus-other-gpus.html

GTX 1080 Ti = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
GTX 1080 = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080
RTX 2070 = NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070
RTX 2060 = NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060
Vega VII = AMD Radeon Vega VII
Vega Frontier = AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition

Test Mule was a 2010 Mac Pro 12-Core 3.33GHz Xeon X5680, 96GB of 1333MHz DDR3 memory, running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit.


DaVinci Resolve 15

This is a looping playback of a 1080p clip (Candle project) with 1x noise reduction added and rendering on the fly. NVDIA GPUs rendered with CUDA. AMD GPUs rendered with OpenCL. (HIGHER frames per second = FASTER)

Image
Offline

Clifton Archuleta

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostSat Mar 02, 2019 2:07 pm

Here are my Radeon VII standard candle results. Seems to be on par with a 2080Ti.

66 Nodes - 16 fps
30 Nodes - 35 fps
18 Nodes - 57 fps
9 Nodes - 98 fps

6 TRN - 25 fps
4 TRN - 37 fps
2 TRN - 68 fps
1 TRN - 85 fps

Ryzen 2700x
Resolve 15.2.4
Windows 10 Pro
Samsung 960 Evo

Sent from my LG V30 using Tapatalk
Offline

deezid

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Schmitz

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostSat Mar 02, 2019 2:31 pm

Clifton Archuleta wrote:Here are my Radeon VII standard candle results. Seems to be on par with a 2080Ti.

66 Nodes - 16 fps
30 Nodes - 35 fps
18 Nodes - 57 fps
9 Nodes - 98 fps

6 TRN - 25 fps
4 TRN - 37 fps
2 TRN - 68 fps
1 TRN - 85 fps

Ryzen 2700x
Resolve 15.2.4
Windows 10 Pro
Samsung 960 Evo

Sent from my LG V30 using Tapatalk


Do you have any experience working with H264 or H265 10 bit long gop footage from the GH5 or X-T3?
I can work with it just fine in Resolve Studio using my 1080Ti. But running out of GPU memory sometimes since I'm using Neat Video a lot. Need something better ;)
Download my 55M Advanced Luts for the Pocket 4K and 6K here:
www.55media.net/55m-p4k-color
Offline
User avatar

Piotr Wozniacki

  • Posts: 1172
  • Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:17 pm
  • Location: Poland

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 1:52 pm

Clifton Archuleta wrote:Here are my Radeon VII standard candle results. Seems to be on par with a 2080Ti.

66 Nodes - 16 fps
30 Nodes - 35 fps
18 Nodes - 57 fps
9 Nodes - 98 fps

6 TRN - 25 fps
4 TRN - 37 fps
2 TRN - 68 fps
1 TRN - 85 fps

Ryzen 2700x
Resolve 15.2.4
Windows 10 Pro
Samsung 960 Evo

Sent from my LG V30 using Tapatalk

Hi Clifton,,

Apologies if the benchmark project you referred is something I should know everything about by now - I guess it's the same as the one with a cup being put on the table,, right? It originally was run as HD and at 24 fps; may I know what modifications exactly has been done to it in order to get frame rates like you do; has the clip been somehow modified or just the playback speed of the project itself increased? I'd appreciate it if you posted the drp here for reference (if the clip is still the same, then without the media, of course). TIA!

Regards

Piotr
AMD TR 2990WX CPU | MSI X399 CARBON AC | 64GB RAM@XMP2933 | 2x RTX 2080Ti GPU | 4x 3TB WD Black RAID0 media drive | 3x 1TB NVMe RAID0 cache drive | SSD SATA system drive | AX1600i PSU | Decklink 12G Extreme | Samsung UHD reference monitor (calibrated)
Offline

Clifton Archuleta

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 2:04 pm

deezid wrote:Do you have any experience working with H264 or H265 10 bit long gop footage from the GH5 or X-T3?
I can work with it just fine in Resolve Studio using my 1080Ti. But running out of GPU memory sometimes since I'm using Neat Video a lot. Need something better ;)

I've worked with XAVC but don't have a GH5 so I can't comment there. I just bought the Radeon VII a few weeks ago so I haven't extensively used the card to run up against any limitations yet.

Piotr Wozniacki wrote:Hi Clifton,,

Apologies if the benchmark project you referred is something I should know everything about by now - I guess it's the same as the one with a cup being put on the table,, right? It originally was run as HD and at 24 fps; may I know what modifications exactly has been done to it in order to get frame rates like you do; has the clip been somehow modified or just the playback speed of the project itself increased? I'd appreciate it if you posted the drp here for reference (if the clip is still the same, then without the media, of course). TIA!

Regards

Piotr

I used the standard project and footage which can be found here: https://liftgammagain.com/forum/index.p ... mark.3718/

Regarding the framerate, you need to change the fps of your project to a high number like 200. If you're using a Blackmagic card for monitoring, you might need to bypass it for this test since it will most likely try to cap your framerate to the max refresh of the monitor.
Offline
User avatar

Piotr Wozniacki

  • Posts: 1172
  • Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:17 pm
  • Location: Poland

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 2:39 pm

Thanks - so you didn't change anything about the clip itself? No fps change, just that of the TL?

Piotr
AMD TR 2990WX CPU | MSI X399 CARBON AC | 64GB RAM@XMP2933 | 2x RTX 2080Ti GPU | 4x 3TB WD Black RAID0 media drive | 3x 1TB NVMe RAID0 cache drive | SSD SATA system drive | AX1600i PSU | Decklink 12G Extreme | Samsung UHD reference monitor (calibrated)
Offline

Clifton Archuleta

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 2:49 pm

Piotr Wozniacki wrote:Thanks - so you didn't change anything about the clip itself? No fps change, just that of the TL?

Piotr

Correct. No need to touch the clip, just change the framerate in the playback settings.
Offline
User avatar

Piotr Wozniacki

  • Posts: 1172
  • Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:17 pm
  • Location: Poland

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 3:02 pm

Clifton Archuleta wrote:
Piotr Wozniacki wrote:Thanks - so you didn't change anything about the clip itself? No fps change, just that of the TL?

Piotr

Correct. No need to touch the clip, just change the framerate in the playback settings.


Hmm. I bypassed my Decklink, but it seems my UI monitor caps the fps to 60 - nothing more than that possible; what am I missing?

Piotr

PS. Also, the max fps for playback seems to be 120 in Project Properties; how did you set 200 fps?
AMD TR 2990WX CPU | MSI X399 CARBON AC | 64GB RAM@XMP2933 | 2x RTX 2080Ti GPU | 4x 3TB WD Black RAID0 media drive | 3x 1TB NVMe RAID0 cache drive | SSD SATA system drive | AX1600i PSU | Decklink 12G Extreme | Samsung UHD reference monitor (calibrated)
Offline

Clifton Archuleta

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 3:15 pm

I just entered 200 and it accepted. Not sure why your system is capping if you bypass the Decklink.

Image
Offline
User avatar

Piotr Wozniacki

  • Posts: 1172
  • Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:17 pm
  • Location: Poland

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 3:20 pm

And what monitoring mode did you select? It's this mode which modifies the TL fps, e.g. when I set HD1080p120, the "200" in TL reverts to 120...

Piotr
AMD TR 2990WX CPU | MSI X399 CARBON AC | 64GB RAM@XMP2933 | 2x RTX 2080Ti GPU | 4x 3TB WD Black RAID0 media drive | 3x 1TB NVMe RAID0 cache drive | SSD SATA system drive | AX1600i PSU | Decklink 12G Extreme | Samsung UHD reference monitor (calibrated)
Offline

Clifton Archuleta

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 3:25 pm

Piotr Wozniacki wrote:And what monitoring mode did you select? It's this mode which modifies the TL fps, e.g. when I set HD1080p120, the "200" in TL reverts to 120...

Piotr

Just the default 1080psf24
Offline
User avatar

Piotr Wozniacki

  • Posts: 1172
  • Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:17 pm
  • Location: Poland

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 3:28 pm

Clifton Archuleta wrote:
Piotr Wozniacki wrote:And what monitoring mode did you select? It's this mode which modifies the TL fps, e.g. when I set HD1080p120, the "200" in TL reverts to 120...

Piotr

Just the default 1080psf24

Can't do; it will revert TL speed to 24 fps...

Piotr
AMD TR 2990WX CPU | MSI X399 CARBON AC | 64GB RAM@XMP2933 | 2x RTX 2080Ti GPU | 4x 3TB WD Black RAID0 media drive | 3x 1TB NVMe RAID0 cache drive | SSD SATA system drive | AX1600i PSU | Decklink 12G Extreme | Samsung UHD reference monitor (calibrated)
Offline

Clifton Archuleta

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 3:34 pm

Piotr Wozniacki wrote:
Clifton Archuleta wrote:
Piotr Wozniacki wrote:And what monitoring mode did you select? It's this mode which modifies the TL fps, e.g. when I set HD1080p120, the "200" in TL reverts to 120...

Piotr

Just the default 1080psf24

Can't do; it will revert TL speed to 24 fps...

Piotr

Don't know what to tell you, must be something unique to your setup. I'd delete the project and import it again, then set the framerate before doing anything else.
Offline
User avatar

Piotr Wozniacki

  • Posts: 1172
  • Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:17 pm
  • Location: Poland

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 3:40 pm

OK, it works and my Titan Xp numbers beat yours, haha :) (of course, I have 2 of them).

The thing is that Decklink need's not to by bypassed at all. As to Monitoring fps, I must enter it first and only *then* enter 250 fps as the TL speed...


Piotr

PS. OK, I corrected one more mistake and now I'm getting more realistic numbers, like 147 fps for single TNR node and full 250 fps with 9 Blur nodes (I increased TL speed from 200 to 250 when I saw the 9 Blur nodes version plays at the maximum TL speed, but it still does even at 250 fps)... Don't have time now for checking and writing down everything - those Titans of mine are beasts :)
AMD TR 2990WX CPU | MSI X399 CARBON AC | 64GB RAM@XMP2933 | 2x RTX 2080Ti GPU | 4x 3TB WD Black RAID0 media drive | 3x 1TB NVMe RAID0 cache drive | SSD SATA system drive | AX1600i PSU | Decklink 12G Extreme | Samsung UHD reference monitor (calibrated)
Offline

Mattias Murhagen

  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:09 am
  • Location: New York

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostTue Mar 19, 2019 12:15 pm

8bitDIT wrote:Perhaps it was on the todo list of the Puget System peeps but then they got completely sidetracked when they managed to get their hands on a 9990XE ;)


https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/artic ... ance-1382/

Just in case people missed it.
Offline

martincho

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:09 am
  • Real Name: Martin Noboa

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon May 13, 2019 9:47 pm

Hei, not sure what I am dong wrong, but shouldn´t be the levels of the Radeon VII be all the way up ?
It is connected directly to a mac book pro 17
Thx.
Attachments
vega VII.png
vega VII.png (719.99 KiB) Viewed 1678 times
Offline

Peter Fizgal

  • Posts: 106
  • Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 8:39 am

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostFri May 17, 2019 7:54 am

martincho,

A MacBook Pro 17" is a very old machine, without Thunderbolt at all. You probably meant 15" ?

Where is your display connected ? Is it connected directly to your MacBook Pro ? Or do you have it connected to the Vega VII ?

If it is connected to the Vega VII (inside your eGPU enclosure), I think I have read somewhere that you need to close the lid of you MacBook Pro. Doing so would supposedly route all graphics through the Vega VII.
Mac Pro 2010 - 12core 3.46 - 64Gb Ram - All SSD - AMD Radeon VII - macOS 10.14.5
Offline
User avatar

AndreeMarkefors

  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 11:41 am
  • Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostFri May 17, 2019 8:01 am

Peter Fizgal wrote:A MacBook Pro 17" is a very old machine, without Thunderbolt at all. You probably meant 15" ?


I think he means '2017'. =)
I use the following (might help me and/or others with trouble shooting)

1Dx mkII | XC10 |
BMD Pocket 6K | BMD Pocket 4K w. Metabones XL 0.64
12c MacPro5.1, 48GB, Vega Frontier Edition 16GB | MBPtb
Offline

martincho

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:09 am
  • Real Name: Martin Noboa

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostFri May 17, 2019 8:02 pm

Hei Peter, sorry I meant 2017 :)

My display (which has one single thunderbolt port) is connected to the MacBook Pro. Since my Vega VII is in a Razer Core X enclosure with also a single thunderbolt port. So the Vega VII has to be connected to the laptop and laptop to display. Lid is always closed.

Thx!
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1040
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostFri May 17, 2019 9:17 pm

martincho wrote:Hei Peter, sorry I meant 2017 :)

My display (which has one single thunderbolt port) is connected to the MacBook Pro. Since my Vega VII is in a Razer Core X enclosure with also a single thunderbolt port. So the Vega VII has to be connected to the laptop and laptop to display. Lid is always closed.

Thx!


You might want to connect the enclosure to the laptop and the display to the GPU in the enclosure.
Offline

martincho

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:09 am
  • Real Name: Martin Noboa

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostSun May 19, 2019 8:08 pm

Thing is, the Razer Core X has only one thunderbolt port. So that one goes to the laptop, otherwise I can't connect the display to the laptop, (the display also has a single thunderbolt port).
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1040
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon May 20, 2019 12:24 am

martincho wrote:Thing is, the Razer Core X has only one thunderbolt port. So that one goes to the laptop, otherwise I can't connect the display to the laptop, (the display also has a single thunderbolt port).


So you have a display without HDMI and/or DP inputs?
Offline

martincho

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:09 am
  • Real Name: Martin Noboa

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon May 20, 2019 11:12 am

hei thx for the help! yeah I do, but didn't have the adaptor. I got one now, but when plugging the Radeon VII directly to monitor through thunderbolt the fans go crazy. Impossible to work with that noise....
Offline

Peter Fizgal

  • Posts: 106
  • Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 8:39 am

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon May 20, 2019 12:51 pm

Martin, the fans turning up is an issue with the Radeon VII not being fully or correctly supported by macOS 10.14.5

For this issue, you can best head over to egpu.io, this has nothing to do with DaVinci Resolve :
https://egpu.io/forums/gpu-monitor-peripherals/radeon-vii-compatible-with-mac/

You might get better answers over at that forum, and possible workarounds maybe...
Mac Pro 2010 - 12core 3.46 - 64Gb Ram - All SSD - AMD Radeon VII - macOS 10.14.5
Offline

martincho

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:09 am
  • Real Name: Martin Noboa

Re: Radeon VII benchmarks?

PostMon May 20, 2019 1:15 pm

Thank you!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cosmin Hodiș-Mîndraș, Google [Bot] and 43 guests