Displaycal Measurement Patch not Embedding into Resolve

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

MikeMeagher

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm
  • Location: Bellingham, WA. USA

Displaycal Measurement Patch not Embedding into Resolve

PostSun Mar 17, 2019 2:54 pm

I'm attempting to calibrate my external BENQ SW27 10bit HDMI 4K Grading reference monitor connected via a Decklink Mini Monitor 4K using DisplacCal and a SPyder4. FYI, the BENQ reference monitor properly works with DR via Decklink Mini Monitor 4K as expected so far.

I have the updated to the latest DisplayCal version 3.7.1.4 and latest DR Studio 15.3. Latest version of Desktop Video 11

After setting up DisplayCal, In DR, I go to the Workspace, Monitor Calibration, Spectralcal Calman. In the DR popup window I enter the noted IP address of my external monitor, and the DR generated popup window says "connected", however the generated Measurement patch area is NOT integrated into the COLOR preview area as expected. The target patch is instead shown as a separate OS level floating window, in a separate window. The patch should be integrated into the DR Color page display, so that it is displated via the Decklink MinMonitor4K on my BENQ reference display.. in order to continue with the Spyder sensor placement and calibration.

Any suggestions? Can anyone else replicate this with the latest DR and Displaycal?

I've insured that in the DR Preferences Video I/O, "Release video I/O hardware ..." focus setting is unchecked. I have set the same resolution and frame rate for both the resolve GUI monitor and the grading monitor.
Mike Meagher Underwater Cinematographer
Win10 64 pro I7 6core X99 mboard 64 GBram
M.2 sys drive.
2x SSDs Raid0 cache.
3x 7200 HHDs raid0 storage
External NAS RAID0 backup
Dual 2x EVGA1080 TI video cards
Resolve 15.3 studio
Offline
User avatar

MikeMeagher

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm
  • Location: Bellingham, WA. USA

Re: Displaycal Measurement Patch not Embedding into Resolve

PostSun Mar 17, 2019 7:08 pm

I got it to work: Lets just say that the interaction between DisplayCal and Resolve is a bit buggy. I found that I had to full screen enlarge the separately floating target patch, then reduce its size, then by some lucky sequence of steps, clicking ok, then to begin the calibrtion, only then the Resolve color screen displayed the calibration patch.
Sort of odd, but it finally came on.
Mike Meagher Underwater Cinematographer
Win10 64 pro I7 6core X99 mboard 64 GBram
M.2 sys drive.
2x SSDs Raid0 cache.
3x 7200 HHDs raid0 storage
External NAS RAID0 backup
Dual 2x EVGA1080 TI video cards
Resolve 15.3 studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests