Anyone use a Surface Dial or Editing Keyboard for Davinci?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

rom101

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:29 pm
  • Location: Parkland, Florida USA
  • Real Name: Rohan Williams

Anyone use a Surface Dial or Editing Keyboard for Davinci?

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 5:27 pm

I am looking to buy something today to speed up my edits. So I came across BlackMagic's new keyboard, but for $1000, yikes.

So I thought to go buy a Surface Dial for $100 and try to integrate it into my setup or even a Logitech Craft Keyboard.

Anyone have experience with using a dial? How about any other cool editing keyboard that's easy to use and quiet.

I am not a fan of noisy gaming keyboards.
MSI GS63VR - Nvidia GTX1060 - All Sata SSD - Davinci 15.3.1
Offline

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 737
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: Anyone use a Surface Dial or Editing Keyboard for Davinc

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 5:37 pm

As far as I know, the Surface Dial only works on-screen with Microsoft Surface devices, and out of those only the (very expensive) Surface Studio seems appropriate for Resolve unless you're only doing editing, no Fusion, no colour grading. See viewtopic.php?t=53168

You do get some off-screen functionality with any PC, but I'm not sure how much.
Resolve 15, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 514
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Anyone use a Surface Dial or Editing Keyboard for Davinc

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 5:40 pm

Brad Hurley wrote:As far as I know, the Surface Dial only works with Microsoft Surface devices, and out of those only the (very expensive) Surface Studio seems appropriate for Resolve unless you're only doing editing, no Fusion, no colour grading. See viewtopic.php?t=53168


I thought the same thing, but it states on it's product web page that it will work with any Win 10 pc. Some reviews mentioned using it with a Dell laptop.
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16 Beta
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Anyone use a Surface Dial or Editing Keyboard for Davinc

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 5:42 pm

I have three of these in my edit rooms
http://www.contourdesign.ca/product/shuttlepro-v2/
Enables you to play, mark in and out and insert or overlay with one hand.
All the buttons are programmable and it works perfectly with DR16.
I even have timeline zoom in/out on the shuttle ring.
It also knows what app is currently loaded so it can be used with other apps including Fusion.
2012 Mac Pro 5.1, 10.13.6, DR 15.3.1.003 Studio
2x3.46GHz 6 core Intel, 96 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card, USB3 card, BM SDI 4K card
PCIe SSD boot disk, 3x4TB SSDs in raid 0, 12TB HDD backup.
Tangent Elements TK panel, FSI DM240, 55"LG C8 OLED
Offline

rom101

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:29 pm
  • Location: Parkland, Florida USA
  • Real Name: Rohan Williams

Re: Anyone use a Surface Dial or Editing Keyboard for Davinc

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 5:59 pm

Thank you Jack. I just ordered the ShuttlePRO V.2 off Amazon. Can't wait to use it.
MSI GS63VR - Nvidia GTX1060 - All Sata SSD - Davinci 15.3.1
Offline

GeorgeDrake

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:39 pm

Re: Anyone use a Surface Dial or Editing Keyboard for Davinc

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 6:23 pm

I use the surface dial, craft keyboard and SCIMITAR PRO mouse.

I also have the micro panel from BM and i use the surface dial to create new nodes.
Windows 10 | Resolve 16 Beta | Titan RTX 24GB | 128 gigs DDR4-3000 | i9-9920X

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CallumMcNeill, Dermot Shane, Google [Bot], Jacky Rieger, MarcusWolschon and 33 guests