URSA Broadcast to NewTek Connect Spark SDI issue

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

zeilstar

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:37 pm
  • Real Name: Bob Zeilstra

URSA Broadcast to NewTek Connect Spark SDI issue

PostFri May 17, 2019 3:51 pm

Using a URSA Broadcast and NewTek Connect Spark with SDI. The image drops out. The front SDI ports works great, the rear SDI ports drops image about once per second. Need to use front port for EVF, leaving rear port for transmission.

Troubleshooting:
Camera FW is up to date, 5.1
Front SDI port works great.
Changed from WiFi to wired, issue persists.
Changed to BM Micro studio, issue goes away. Swapped two different SDI Spark units. (implying Spark and network are okay, and issue is with rear SDI only?)
Loop a monitor down from Spark, issue persists, image drops from monitor.
Monitor inline between Broadcast and Spark, issue goes away, or just a monitor plugged in.


I think it's a reclocking issue or something since it works downstream from an inline monitor.
Contacted BM support as well as NewTek support. Neither were very helpful.

Also running a GoPro/HDMI Spark, and the Micro Studio on the second SDI spark. Have great image with both of those, even over WiFi.

What's wrong with the rear SDI port?
Offline

Dave Del Vecchio

  • Posts: 352
  • Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:25 am

Re: URSA Broadcast to NewTek Connect Spark SDI issue

PostSat May 18, 2019 2:17 am

The Front and Rear (or Blackmagic calls this Main in the menu) SDI outputs are different. The Front SDI port is limited to 3G SDI output (up to 1080p60), while the Rear/Main SDI output is capable of outputting a 12G SDI signal (this suggests that they are likely using different SDI driver chips for each connector).

The Front and Rear/Main SDI connectors also have separate output format settings in the Monitor section of the menu (including the 3G SDI output level, which could be relevant if the NewTek Connect Spark only accepts one 3G SDI format level).

I'm not sure what resolution you are shooting at, but you should definitely check the SDI output settings of both the Front and Main SDI outputs to see if there are any differences. I would also try switching to different video resolutions, frame rates, and see if there is a difference in how the NewTek Connect Spark behaves with each signal format.
Offline

Kane Peterson

  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 3:13 am

Re: URSA Broadcast to NewTek Connect Spark SDI issue

PostSat May 18, 2019 9:30 pm

Also, if working in 1080p50 or 1080p59.94 video formats, make sure you are outputting in a 3G-SDI Level A format, not Level B. All NewTek equipment supports Level A.

Kane Peterson
NewTek
Offline

Tim Schumann

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 374
  • Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:21 am

Re: URSA Broadcast to NewTek Connect Spark SDI issue

PostMon May 20, 2019 1:26 am

Thanks Kane.

To do this go to Menu > MONITOR > Main SDI (page 2) > and check your output resolution 2160p, 1080p or 1080i and then if you select 1080p check that you have 'Level A' selected - this is on the same page.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests