Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

robedge

  • Posts: 321
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: NYC/Newfoundland
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 8:17 pm

rick.lang wrote:Rob, I only have the MixPre-6 II, not the original. I tested turning the MixPre off and on again and it maintains Timecode. Again I would still reset it after several hours. I’ll turn it Off for a few hours now and check later in the day.

I concur with Michael’s test on the camera. It will drift a little over time and best to leave the Tentacle on the camera and have perfect results.


Thanks. I have a Sound Devices field recorder with Ambient built in. With a LEMO 5-pin to 3.5mm cable, it could be used as a master for a Pocket 4K, and indeed for a MixPre, version I.

The cable is expensive (US$50-75) but I may pick one up and experiment a bit. I’ve used this recorder as a master/jammer in the past, but I just don’t feel a pressing need to use timecode and the accompanying additional gear with a single Pocket 4K. Maybe experimenting a bit will change my mind :)
Last edited by robedge on Thu Jan 30, 2020 8:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Video: Pocket 4K, Fujinon MK 18-55mm, Leica primes 35-135mm, Nikkor 55mm macro/180mm telephoto

Stills: Leica M3/M6/M240; Mamiya 7II; Arca Swiss 4x5/8x10

Sound: Schoeps omni & supercardiod mikes; DPA miniature omni mikes; Sound Devices 702T/MixPre-3
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 12591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 8:29 pm

Yes only critical when recording off-camera where you need to match spoken words to visual footage of the speaker. Although you can always sync manually; it just takes longer.
Rick Lang
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 12591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 10:24 pm

Rob, I jam synced the MixPre-6 II over two hours ago, removed the Tentacle, turned Off the MixPre and waited. I’ve just turned it On the checked sync: perfect.
Rick Lang
Offline

robedge

  • Posts: 321
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: NYC/Newfoundland
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 10:26 pm

rick.lang wrote:Yes only critical when recording off-camera where you need to match spoken words to visual footage of the speaker. Although you can always sync manually; it just takes longer.


Rick, have you tried running a cable straight from your MixPre series II recorder to your Blackmagic camera to record timecode? I believe that it takes the same cable as a Sound Devices field recorder, Lemo 5-pin to TRS 3.5mm jack.
Video: Pocket 4K, Fujinon MK 18-55mm, Leica primes 35-135mm, Nikkor 55mm macro/180mm telephoto

Stills: Leica M3/M6/M240; Mamiya 7II; Arca Swiss 4x5/8x10

Sound: Schoeps omni & supercardiod mikes; DPA miniature omni mikes; Sound Devices 702T/MixPre-3
Offline

robedge

  • Posts: 321
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: NYC/Newfoundland
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 10:28 pm

rick.lang wrote:Rob, I jam synced the MixPre-6 II over two hours ago, removed the Tentacle, turned Off the MixPre and waited. I’ve just turned it On the checked sync: perfect.


Good. Thanks very much. Now I want to get a Lemo to TRS cable and find out whether the same thing will happen if I use my 702T field recorder to jam sync a version I MixPre.
Last edited by robedge on Thu Jan 30, 2020 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Video: Pocket 4K, Fujinon MK 18-55mm, Leica primes 35-135mm, Nikkor 55mm macro/180mm telephoto

Stills: Leica M3/M6/M240; Mamiya 7II; Arca Swiss 4x5/8x10

Sound: Schoeps omni & supercardiod mikes; DPA miniature omni mikes; Sound Devices 702T/MixPre-3
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 12591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 10:29 pm

No, I haven’t done that. That would work but I don’t want my camera tethered to the recorder. I could try it someday. I’m sure that will work too. Could save someone money... including me if I ever get a third camera (please, Lord, not another camera!).
Rick Lang
Offline

robedge

  • Posts: 321
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: NYC/Newfoundland
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 11:07 pm

rick.lang wrote:No, I haven’t done that. That would work but I don’t want my camera tethered to the recorder. I could try it someday. I’m sure that will work too. Could save someone money... including me if I ever get a third camera (please, Lord, not another camera!).


When you’re shooting with one camera, what are you getting from timecode that you wouldn’t get just by routing the sound from your MixPre to the camera and its storage? Would you go this route if you weren’t concerned about tethering?
Video: Pocket 4K, Fujinon MK 18-55mm, Leica primes 35-135mm, Nikkor 55mm macro/180mm telephoto

Stills: Leica M3/M6/M240; Mamiya 7II; Arca Swiss 4x5/8x10

Sound: Schoeps omni & supercardiod mikes; DPA miniature omni mikes; Sound Devices 702T/MixPre-3
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 12591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostFri Jan 31, 2020 1:53 pm

Rob, it’s a mobility and device placement concern. In my last shoot the MixPre was perhaps 10 meters away from the camera.
Rick Lang
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 12591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSat Feb 01, 2020 1:34 pm

Update post regarding turning off the MixPre:

The MixPre, powered Off, with no Tenracle mounted to force sync, will retain an accurate generated Timecode that has been jammed to a Tentacle for a few hours. But at some point, when you turn the MixPre On, it reverts back to its own clock and you need to be jam synced again. I know it can be Off for a couple of hours and I think I tested around three to four hours and it was fine.

My guidance would be not to rely on the MixPre retaining jammed Timecode after the MixPre has been powered off for more than an hour or two to be safe. Since it only takes a few seconds to resync, please resync after a significant break such as lunch or set changes before you resume recording.

If you have the sled that takes those Sony NP-F970 batteries, you can likely run all day without turning the MixPre Off. I still jam sync anyway after a long break, just to be safe.
Rick Lang
Offline

robedge

  • Posts: 321
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: NYC/Newfoundland
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSat Feb 01, 2020 1:42 pm

rick.lang wrote:Update post regarding turning off the MixPre:


Very helpful info, thanks.

Still not sure whether I want to go the timecode route, but I’m awaiting advice from my usual vendor on the Tentacle Sync E, Ambient Nano and Timecode Systems Ultra Sync.
Video: Pocket 4K, Fujinon MK 18-55mm, Leica primes 35-135mm, Nikkor 55mm macro/180mm telephoto

Stills: Leica M3/M6/M240; Mamiya 7II; Arca Swiss 4x5/8x10

Sound: Schoeps omni & supercardiod mikes; DPA miniature omni mikes; Sound Devices 702T/MixPre-3
Offline
User avatar

Kim Janson

  • Posts: 992
  • Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:54 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostTue Feb 04, 2020 6:46 pm

Is there a signal path diagram available for MixPre? something like this I mean.
f_8b9f6853-6a38-451a-a318-d217058017a7-ENG.png
f_8b9f6853-6a38-451a-a318-d217058017a7-ENG.png (171.86 KiB) Viewed 318 times

It would help a great deal to understand how it works.
LeViteZer Smooths the movement, www.levitezer.com
Offline

Username

  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:33 am
  • Real Name: Petter Flink

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostTue Feb 04, 2020 6:59 pm

SD have some block diagrams for the larger recorders but I’ve never seen anything for the MixPre I/II-series.
Grew up with a Nikon FM - Evolving with a BMMCC
Offline
User avatar

Kim Janson

  • Posts: 992
  • Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:54 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 8:00 am

I have been wondering, is the stereo mix analogue or digital?

If it is analogue, that could be used as back up channel on 10T for two channels.

But if it is analogue how is the post mixing working then, are the ISO channels first converted to analogue and then put again trough the analogue mixer?

A simple block diagram would make understanding the device much easier.

BTW, does your power switch look like this, so deep in? It is pretty much inbossible to operate by finger when USB-C is connected.
Screenshot 2020-02-09 at 11.22.43.jpg
Screenshot 2020-02-09 at 11.22.43.jpg (240.62 KiB) Viewed 235 times
LeViteZer Smooths the movement, www.levitezer.com
Offline
User avatar

Dmitry Shijan

  • Posts: 1030
  • Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:15 pm
  • Location: UA

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 10:11 am

Kim Janson wrote:BTW, does your power switch look like this, so deep in? It is pretty much inbossible to operate by finger when USB-C is connected.

Yep, that is idiotic SD power switch is the same for all models. Worst placement ever and not enough height to grab. In perfect world they should use button instead toggle and place it in front panel instead of SD logo label.
All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
Offline
User avatar

Kim Janson

  • Posts: 992
  • Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:54 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 11:22 am

The rotary encoder on side is an other source of frustration on the other ways great design. Thinking making something like this 3D printed, to make the rotary adjustment from the front. The rotary encoder click inwards would remain on side.

If someone would have a 3D model of MixPre 10T that would help great deal fitting this in. I question this part is more or less the same on all of them.

Screenshot 2020-02-09 at 13.17.11.jpg
Screenshot 2020-02-09 at 13.17.11.jpg (557.95 KiB) Viewed 222 times


Yes, I am home alone for the weekend and have some time to play with Legos :D
Last edited by Kim Janson on Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
LeViteZer Smooths the movement, www.levitezer.com
Offline
User avatar

Dmitry Shijan

  • Posts: 1030
  • Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:15 pm
  • Location: UA

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 11:24 am

Maybe connect Follow focus to that gear?
All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
Offline
User avatar

Kim Janson

  • Posts: 992
  • Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:54 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 11:29 am

I think it will be good to have the outer support not to tress the encoder. This would be easy to design if I would have the MixPre 3D model.
LeViteZer Smooths the movement, www.levitezer.com
Offline

Username

  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:33 am
  • Real Name: Petter Flink

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 12:43 pm

Kim Janson wrote:BTW, does your power switch look like this, so deep in? It is pretty much impossible to operate by finger when USB-C is connected.


Yes it's really pathetic.
I first thought it was a main physical power feed and the led lit SD-logo on the front was the logical switch.
But that poor tiny (s)witch on the side even appears to be a logical switch.
Grew up with a Nikon FM - Evolving with a BMMCC
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 12591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 2:30 pm

Kim, the MixPre series II has a larger knob and it doesn’t bother me. The power switch is a PITA. I believe all audio Out is digital and recorded and mixed tracks are digital.
Rick Lang
Online

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 1384
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 3:21 pm

What I like about the tiny, hard-to-reach power switch is that while it's a pain to switch the unit on, there's very little risk that you'll ever switch it off accidentally.
Resolve 16.1, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2
Offline
User avatar

Kim Janson

  • Posts: 992
  • Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:54 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 5:19 pm

Brad Hurley wrote:What I like about the tiny, hard-to-reach power switch is that while it's a pain to switch the unit on, there's very little risk that you'll ever switch it off accidentally.


Yes indeed and it is pretty ok when USB-C is not connected, but then it is, I need to use something sharp to operate it, it just does not work with my fingers.
LeViteZer Smooths the movement, www.levitezer.com
Offline

Chris Leutger

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:00 am

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 11:04 pm

It's hard to turn on and when I'm trying to move gear quickly, it's hard to turn off. It was one of those things I remember so many people complaining about on the first series, that I was surprised they didn't change that for the new ones. There's been plenty of times that I'm doing a quick setup and think I've got that turned on and after focusing the camera, look to the Mixpre to hit record, and it's not on. Ugh. But still, I love the ease of use of the thing overall. I haven't used the USB-C port and hope I never do. Or it's going to be as scratched up as Kim's.
Amateur Auteur

i7 8700k 6c 3.7 GHz - Crucial DDR4-2666 16x2
GTX 1080 8GB Ver 441.66 - Windows 10 Pro 1903
Resolve 15.3.1.003 (Free) - SSD 250GB-cache
Offline
User avatar

Kim Janson

  • Posts: 992
  • Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:54 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Sound Devices MixPre-6 II (second generation)

PostMon Feb 10, 2020 3:50 pm

First version to the SD encoder extender. the push is on side at the end of the original knob. Rotation can be done easily from front.

Still some work to fit everything perfectly, including the headphone cable.

Screenshot 2020-02-10 at 17.49.58.jpg
Screenshot 2020-02-10 at 17.49.58.jpg (622.04 KiB) Viewed 116 times


The second version works pretty nicely.

Screenshot 2020-02-11 at 23.38.55.jpg
Screenshot 2020-02-11 at 23.38.55.jpg (217.96 KiB) Viewed 79 times


The Step file is here https://drive.google.com/open?id=1b3fkD ... _bO1Xm0GIZ you may use it for your personal use, at your own risk, commercial use, see the terms on the same directory.

Screenshot 2020-02-12 at 0.00.53.png
Screenshot 2020-02-12 at 0.00.53.png (957.74 KiB) Viewed 78 times


Video about it, easy to instal with two hands, not so with one as on the video :)



Not sure if this fits other models than the 10T, but they all look pretty much the same for this part.

The encoder knob should slide easily to the first gear and everything should fit nicely, do not force.

This is made for small Subra 3.5 mm connector https://www.verkkokauppa.com/fi/product ... qXq89ztXFN
LeViteZer Smooths the movement, www.levitezer.com
Previous

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], pnguyen720 and 25 guests