16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Peter Fizgal

  • Posts: 105
  • Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 8:39 am

16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostFri Sep 13, 2019 9:17 am

This has been reported and acknowledged multiple times already, but there is still no easing on position keyframes in the latest beta (16.1 beta 3)

I understand this must be a tough nut to crack, but come on... for a company that brings the worlds best color grading software to the masses, this should be kindergarten stuff.

Please, please fix postion keyframe easing.
Mac Pro 2010 - 12core 3.46 - 64Gb Ram - All SSD - AMD Radeon VII - macOS 10.14.5
Offline

DanielBoist

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:43 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostFri Sep 13, 2019 10:20 am

i can´t believe it...
I absolutely LOVE DR - but this so...Adobe-like!

Please guys, keep this post on top of this board until BM gets this done.
Daniel Boist
dbSONIC Media
Germany

MacPro (6,1) 12-Core,64GB,D700
iMacPro (1,1), 18-Core,64GB,VEGA64 16GB,Decklink Ultrastudio 4K,Sonnet eGFX (VEGA64 16GB)
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 138
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostFri Sep 13, 2019 3:03 pm

I have...
Attachments
Annotation 2019-09-13 180222.png
Annotation 2019-09-13 180222.png (18.51 KiB) Viewed 779 times
Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Early 2015)
Windows 10 Pro 1903, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.033
Blackmagic Fusion 9.0.2/Studio 16.0 build 49
Offline

deanphillips1991

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:47 pm
  • Real Name: Dean Phillips

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostFri Sep 13, 2019 3:24 pm

Do you mean that they don't do what they say?

There aren't as many animation options as PP.

Would love to know a bit more :)

I know the lack of easing in OFX is frustrating.
PC:
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X Eight Core CPU
Motherboard: ASUS® PRIME X370-PRO
RAM: 64GB Corsair VENGEANCE
GPU: 8GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080 -

Macbook:
2.4GHz 8-core i9 processor
Radeon Pro Vega 20 4GB
32GB RAM
2TB SSD storage
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostFri Sep 13, 2019 4:08 pm

Can you post a video or give a link for what PP does with Keyframe? :)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline
User avatar

Mike Warren

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:28 am
  • Location: Cairns, Australia

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 4:53 am

Jean Claude wrote:Can you post a video or give a link for what PP does with Keyframe? :)


Start at about 3 minutes in on this video:

Resolve Studio 15.3 - Fusion Studio 9.0.1 - Windows 10
Gigabyte GTX1080ti 11GB - AMD 1950X - 32GB 2400
Gigabyte X399 AORUS Gaming 7
Intensity Pro 4k
Offline

robertcross

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:24 am
  • Real Name: Robert Cross

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 9:14 am

I've seen this talked about many times but no one seems to refer to it in the correct terms.

What we've all been wanting (as shown in the video Mike linked to) is temporal interpolation which eases the speed something starts and stops moving. Spatial interpolation appears to be the only type that's currently implemented for the position keyframes.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 10:16 am

I did that in 3 minutes. This is very very quickly and nothing to envy PP.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-zQ4m ... V2T5FmPma2
(~83 Mo)
I think some merit:
RTFM Pages 819 + 820 + 821 + 822 + 823 + 824.
As long as doing the rest of the manual too. ;)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 138
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 10:25 am

No?
Attachments
Annotation 2019-09-14 132503.png
Annotation 2019-09-14 132503.png (41.27 KiB) Viewed 670 times
Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Early 2015)
Windows 10 Pro 1903, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.033
Blackmagic Fusion 9.0.2/Studio 16.0 build 49
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 10:33 am

Hello Sergey,

Certainly but I'm afraid that some do not forget to use the right button of their mouse ... :)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1096
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 1:55 pm

I've tested this in both the Inspector, and the clip graph in the timeline. The option for position easing appears, and I can visually create an easing curve, but it has no effect.

No matter what I do, position keyframes have no easing in the Edit page, so I have to do this in Fusion. I hope this gets fixed in the next update.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.033
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 4:47 pm

Tom Early wrote:I've tested this in both the Inspector, and the clip graph in the timeline. The option for position easing appears, and I can visually create an easing curve, but it has no effect.

No matter what I do, position keyframes have no easing in the Edit page, so I have to do this in Fusion. I hope this gets fixed in the next update.


If it does not work for you, it's because you're doing something wrong.

Sorry.
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1096
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 4:56 pm

Jean Claude wrote:
Tom Early wrote:I've tested this in both the Inspector, and the clip graph in the timeline. The option for position easing appears, and I can visually create an easing curve, but it has no effect.

No matter what I do, position keyframes have no easing in the Edit page, so I have to do this in Fusion. I hope this gets fixed in the next update.


If it does not work for you, it's because you're doing something wrong.

Sorry.


I know what I'm doing. It's a bug. If it works for you then great, but I'm sure you must be aware that some bugs are system specific.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.033
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 5:02 pm

Tom Early wrote:
Jean Claude wrote:
Tom Early wrote:I've tested this in both the Inspector, and the clip graph in the timeline. The option for position easing appears, and I can visually create an easing curve, but it has no effect.

No matter what I do, position keyframes have no easing in the Edit page, so I have to do this in Fusion. I hope this gets fixed in the next update.


If it does not work for you, it's because you're doing something wrong.

Sorry.


I know what I'm doing. It's a bug. If it works for you then great, but I'm sure you must be aware that some bugs are system specific.


Sorry,

You're kidding: it's not a bug. You only watched the little clip I made.

This is not enough?
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 688
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 5:13 pm

Jean Claude, your video demonstrated easing curve, but no actual easing effect on your clip, manual scroll showed some jerky movement, I didn't see anything being eased in your demo. As has been discussed in plenty occasions already, curves may show whatever, actual motion is not properly eased.
I do stuff.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 5:30 pm

Hendrick:
it's that I did not click right with the mouse.

Open the KF panel, add a KF. Right click et voilà

KF_editor.jpg
KF_editor.jpg (30.66 KiB) Viewed 611 times
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1096
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 8:37 pm

Jean Claude wrote:
Tom Early wrote:I know what I'm doing. It's a bug. If it works for you then great, but I'm sure you must be aware that some bugs are system specific.


Sorry,

You're kidding: it's not a bug. You only watched the little clip I made.

This is not enough?


What part of 'some bugs are system specific' do you not understand? It means that something can be working on your system, but not on my system or someone else's system, and it will still be a bug. So no, I'm not kidding. I didn't even watch your clip because I didn't need to in order to know that this bug exists.

Now that I have watched your clip though, I have to say that no, it is not enough, because as Hendrick says, it doesn't show any easing on position keyframes at all, or at least not in a way that is easily discernible (and I don't know why you have a video showing easing on zoom keyframes when no one complained about that). Yes there is a curve in the timeline graph but it certainly doesn't seem to do anything!

So, just because you are being so needlessly difficult about this, and for some reason saying to multiple forum members that their problems do not really exist, I have made a video which I invite you to watch:



It shows the following:

1. In the Edit page, a clip moves across the screen. No easing has been applied.
2. I duplicate the clip, put it on a track above, and apply easing to both keyframes via the Inspector.
3. Just for good measure, I open up the timeline clip graph and verify the easing there as well.
4. On playback, no easing appears to take place.
5. To prove without a shadow of a doubt that there is no easing, I now apply a Difference composite mode to this clip which will show any difference between the motion of this clip and the one in the track below. With the exception of a glitch for 2 random frames of about 2 pixels in width, there is no difference.

6. Now in the Fusion page, I apply the exact same transformation via a Transform node. Again, at first there is no easing applied (playback isn't so smooth but luckily it doesn't have to be)
7. I copy this transform node, and apply easing in the Spline editor.
8. Playing back each transform node in the 2 monitors clearly shows (even despite the jerky playback) that easing is applied to the node with easing (left monitor), and not to the one that doesn't have it (right monitor)
9. For good measure, I again apply a Difference composite mode using a Merge node, proving that easing on position keyframes works as expected in the Fusion page.

And as if my video wasn't enough, here are a couple of screenshots of this transformation in the Edit page, with the Transform Overlay enabled. This first one shows what it looks like with no easing applied.

TransformOverlay_Linear.png
TransformOverlay_Linear.png (480.29 KiB) Viewed 575 times


Notice the completely even spacing between each of the points that represent position at different points in time. Now, here is what it looks like with easing selected:

TransformOverlay_Easing.png
TransformOverlay_Easing.png (483.12 KiB) Viewed 575 times


There's no difference between the two.

I'm not asking you to make another video, though you can if you want, but are you really saying that on your system, if you have the Transform Overlay enabled, and right click on a Position keyframe in the Inspector, and then select Ease In or Ease Out on a keyframe, that there is a change in the display of the overlay? Because if so, I'd like to see screen grabs please.
Last edited by Tom Early on Sat Sep 14, 2019 9:34 pm, edited 3 times in total.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.033
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1096
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 8:43 pm

The eagle-eyed among you may have noticed that in the video, when I have easing enabled, it looks like the line graph is in fact perfectly straight rather than having an s-curve:

TimelineClip_Curve_Easing.png
TimelineClip_Curve_Easing.png (248.46 KiB) Viewed 574 times


Indeed, if I select Linear, now it DOES have an S-curve:

TimelineClip_Curve_Linear.png
TimelineClip_Curve_Linear.png (244.58 KiB) Viewed 574 times


So that's another bug. It doesn't affect anything though, neither selection gave any easing.

[Although what the use is of having a scale of -7680 to +7680 is beyond me, how am I supposed to customise anything with that view??]
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.033
Offline

DanielBoist

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:43 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 9:59 pm

Tom, i can confirm that easing on position isn‘t working in the timeline-editor... :?
Daniel Boist
dbSONIC Media
Germany

MacPro (6,1) 12-Core,64GB,D700
iMacPro (1,1), 18-Core,64GB,VEGA64 16GB,Decklink Ultrastudio 4K,Sonnet eGFX (VEGA64 16GB)
Offline

kinvermark

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Wilson

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 10:18 pm

Not sure I understand why some are claiming this is not a problem. It clearly is.

Note that we are specifically talking about POSITION keyframing. It does not work. You can select keyframe easing or fiddle with handles to make a curve, but this will not actually apply an ease … for POSITION... other parameters do work.

I would love to be wrong, so for the deniers, please make a video showing a POSITION ease of a graphic or still that is done without using dynamic zoom. I am skeptical.
Windows 10 PC. Intel i7 x980, 24GB RAM, AMD Rx580 8GB GPU, SSD & RAID HD array. Dual UHD monitors. Decklink 4k mini.
Offline

kinvermark

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Wilson

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 11:36 pm

OK. Looks like I get to eat my own words. Now have this working.

Still or graphic clip fly-in. Set "end point" keyframe. Then set "start point" keyframe. Go back to "end point" keyframe and right click in inspector to set easing on. At this point an extra white dot will appear in the on screen viewer display between the position dot and the end of the easing handle. Pulling this middle dot to the right will slow down the progress, creating easing.

Don't have time for a video at the moment; hopefully others are able to re-create.

EDIT: Still some real issues here though. Simple fly-in works well, but anything more is problematic. Can only select ease in AND out for middle keyframes and the curves drawn cause the position to jump back and forth. Also, keyframe curves interface is a total carpal tunnel nightmare. Needs work I think.
Windows 10 PC. Intel i7 x980, 24GB RAM, AMD Rx580 8GB GPU, SSD & RAID HD array. Dual UHD monitors. Decklink 4k mini.
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1096
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 12:58 am

kinvermark wrote:OK. Looks like I get to eat my own words. Now have this working.

Still or graphic clip fly-in. Set "end point" keyframe. Then set "start point" keyframe. Go back to "end point" keyframe and right click in inspector to set easing on. At this point an extra white dot will appear in the on screen viewer display between the position dot and the end of the easing handle. Pulling this middle dot to the right will slow down the progress, creating easing.

Don't have time for a video at the moment; hopefully others are able to re-create.

EDIT: Still some real issues here though. Simple fly-in works well, but anything more is problematic. Can only select ease in AND out for middle keyframes and the curves drawn cause the position to jump back and forth. Also, keyframe curves interface is a total carpal tunnel nightmare. Needs work I think.


I can confirm that this works, but as you say there's lots of issues still*, and also this is only a workaround, since selecting 'Ease In/Out' should not merely expose the accelerator handle if you happen to have the transform overlay enabled, it should apply the easing for you, with the on-screen handle controls there to allow you to customise things further. The same way it works for easing on other parameters, and for position in the Fusion tab, and any other NLE I can mention.

*example: go to the end keyframe, select Ease In, and with the Transform Overlay active, move the accelerator handle. Doing so will move the image! And yet the position value of the keyframe will not have changed. And then easing on Position Y adds more complications, don't think I even want to get started on that one...
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.033
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 8:51 am

When using the transform tool + the KF Editor:

It is possible to add in the KF panel
1- a KF and then
2-right click on the new point in the transform tool and ask for 'Smooth'

KF_editor.+transform.jpg
KF_editor.+transform.jpg (91.33 KiB) Viewed 499 times

(here on Position Y)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

kinvermark

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Wilson

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 4:04 pm

@Jean Claude

Yes, this has been pointed out before. But you still have to pull on the white dots to apply easing and more importantly, the middle keyframes can only be set to ease in AND out, plus the smoothing curves alter the motion path in very odd and unwanted ways. Just look at you example - who wants a loop-de-loop in the middle?
Windows 10 PC. Intel i7 x980, 24GB RAM, AMD Rx580 8GB GPU, SSD & RAID HD array. Dual UHD monitors. Decklink 4k mini.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 4:21 pm

kinvermark wrote:@Jean Claude
.... who wants a loop-de-loop in the middle?


Me for fun ...
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

kinvermark

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Wilson

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 4:36 pm

Fair enough :)

But let's pretend you didn't want that... or any other movement. Can it be done?

For example: Fly in -- ease to stop -- pause for three seconds --- ease to start --- fly out.

For me, as soon as you apply the POSITION easing, the curves generated will create some amount of "crazy" motion so you can't have a pause.
Windows 10 PC. Intel i7 x980, 24GB RAM, AMD Rx580 8GB GPU, SSD & RAID HD array. Dual UHD monitors. Decklink 4k mini.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 4:47 pm

kinvermark wrote:Fair enough :)

But let's pretend you didn't want that... or any other movement. Can it be done?

For example: Fly in -- ease to stop -- pause for three seconds --- ease to start --- fly out.

For me, as soon as you apply the POSITION easing, the curves generated will create some amount of "crazy" motion so you can't have a pause.


and he does that PP?
You can post a link. (that we speak the same language)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

kinvermark

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Wilson

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 4:52 pm

No idea. I have no interest in PP. I could do this easily (and automated) in Vegas Pro, however. But I want to work in DR.

Point for me is not to compare or complain, it is to get enough information in to the hands of the developers so that they can repair it.
Windows 10 PC. Intel i7 x980, 24GB RAM, AMD Rx580 8GB GPU, SSD & RAID HD array. Dual UHD monitors. Decklink 4k mini.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2744
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 5:47 pm

kinvermark wrote:No idea. I have no interest in PP. I could do this easily (and automated) in Vegas Pro, however. But I want to work in DR.

Point for me is not to compare or complain, it is to get enough information in to the hands of the developers so that they can repair it.


Just add a Linear input point afer a ease point for ease to stop,
then put a KF 3s after => Linear
then put another FK other than linear to make an ease to start.
kinvermark.jpg
kinvermark.jpg (75.11 KiB) Viewed 420 times

You tried?
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 551
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

easing on position keyframes workaround

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 8:20 pm

While this won't work in all situations, I use the PUSH transition to achieve smooth fly ins and outs.
It can be made any length, works on supers and fusion comps and has a built-in "ease in and out" setting.
DR 16.0 Studio, 2012 Mac Pro 5.1, 10.13.6, 2x3.46GHz 6 core Intel, 96 GB ram, GTX GTX 1080Ti graphics card.
USB3 card, BM SDI 4K card, PCIe SSD boot disk, 3x4TB SSDs in raid 0, 12TB HDD backup.
Tangent Elements TK panel, FSI DM240, 55"LG C8 OLED
Offline

kinvermark

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Wilson

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 9:12 pm

@jack swart

Thanks for the suggestion. I am aware of this method, but the purpose of my example was simply to give readers and easy to understand scenario for testing position keyframe easing.

I will experiment further when time allows.

Q: Anyone discovered a way to zoom into the keyframe curves editor to make the curves more editable? (i.e. restrict value range so curves aren't so flat.)
Windows 10 PC. Intel i7 x980, 24GB RAM, AMD Rx580 8GB GPU, SSD & RAID HD array. Dual UHD monitors. Decklink 4k mini.
Offline

kinvermark

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Wilson

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostSun Sep 15, 2019 10:59 pm

@Jean Claude

OK, I tried your suggestion to put a LINEAR keyframe beside each EASED keyframe and yes, this does work.

BUT... it MUST be only 1 frame away or you can see a jump in the motion that is produced when applying the easing, as explained previously (e.g. the easing curve for the x position will dip below the current position and cause the motion to reverse, thus producing a stutter.)

This is OK as a workaround, but the DR team should still improve this tool. The easing curve shouldn't reverse progress, and there should be a way to zoom in.

Also, given the amount of effort it takes to keyframe motion, there needs to be a way to make save-able presets.

THANKS J-C !
Windows 10 PC. Intel i7 x980, 24GB RAM, AMD Rx580 8GB GPU, SSD & RAID HD array. Dual UHD monitors. Decklink 4k mini.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostMon Sep 16, 2019 1:19 am

Keyframe easing has never been properly addressed by BMD. Most other video software had this sorted out years ago. Please BMD, get it working properly without workarounds or creating Fusion comps.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 651
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostMon Sep 16, 2019 12:31 pm

I have been following this and previous discussions about position easing in Resolve, having never had occasion to use it myself. Last night I gave it a try based on the discussion here and the use of right-clicking and selecting 'ease' modes of key-framing. Does not work correctly in my opinion (adding my voice to those of you asking for BMD to improve this feature).

All I wanted to do was to bring an image in from the left, pause in-frame and then leave. The arrival should decelerate to position and the departure should accelerate (what we typically call ease-in/ease-out). I just couldn't make it work - very fiddly. I could do this in seconds inside Media Composer.

Yes - I could probably drop extra keyframes to accomplish what I wanted but the point is that it should be easy to do.

To BMD support - if you folks are aware of a way to accomplish ease-in/ease out of position so that a deceleration / acceleration behavior is present, please chime in. Thanks.
Resolve Studio 16.1b3 | Fusion Studio 16.1b3 | Win 10 Pro (1903) | i9-7940x, P4000 (431.86, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

DanielBoist

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:43 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostWed Sep 18, 2019 10:40 am

just wanted to bump this thread up to get BMs attention to this issue...!!
Daniel Boist
dbSONIC Media
Germany

MacPro (6,1) 12-Core,64GB,D700
iMacPro (1,1), 18-Core,64GB,VEGA64 16GB,Decklink Ultrastudio 4K,Sonnet eGFX (VEGA64 16GB)
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 3441
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostWed Sep 18, 2019 2:52 pm

I'm seeing this not working correctly as well, at least from the Inspector.

Studio 16.1b3 for Windows.
Offline

Jeffrey Hahn

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:01 pm

Re: 16.1 beta 3 still no easing on position keyframes

PostWed Sep 18, 2019 9:03 pm

I can confirm that keyframe easing does not work properly in 16.1b3 on OS X. I believe the problem lies in the fact that the range is so large that moving the handle doesn't affect the bezier.

Seems like this is pretty basic stuff to have included in an editing suite. Getting tired of having to find work-arounds for what should be simple tasks in DR Studio. Frustrating.

Return to DaVinci Resolve Beta Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests