Standard Mac Pro for 4k work?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Hugh Sweeney (Huey)

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:13 pm

Standard Mac Pro for 4k work?

PostTue Jun 17, 2014 1:45 am

Hi Guys,

My local Mac dealer who I know pretty well has a Mac pro in stock that he said he would 'give me a good deal' on. I'm currently using a relatively new (11 months old) iMac i7 and I feel the graphics card could be struggling with the 4k footage. I'm having issues with Resolve crashing (as posted in post prod section).

The Mac pro he has in stock was an order that fell through, hence the deal. He's also taking back my iMac. He's concerned that the Mac pro may still not be powerful enough for the 4k work. I could do with your advice. Would the spec be OK? See screen grab.

Feedback appreciated.

Hugh

Image
Online

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9554
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Standard Mac Pro for 4k work?

PostTue Jun 17, 2014 1:58 am

I recommend the D700 GPU for 4K work. If you deal with Red and Sony 4K images then the 12 core, otherwise the 8 core will likely be sufficient. 16GB system ram min. 32 better.

The D500 GPU is ok for HD but will more quickly find resource limits at 4K. D300 GPU is not recommended.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Hugh Sweeney (Huey)

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:13 pm

Re: Standard Mac Pro for 4k work?

PostSat Jun 21, 2014 12:48 am

thanks Peter, I've priced up that option. It looks like I may go for a Mac pro then. Pricey!

H

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AmateurEditor, dharmo, glokeys and 66 guests