Different Display Names for Multiple Cards

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

rjameson

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:33 pm
  • Real Name: Rex Jameson

Different Display Names for Multiple Cards

PostTue Oct 05, 2021 1:45 pm

Is there any way to get different display names for multiple cards? I have two 4K Mini Recorders, and while I can change their names in Desktop Video Setup, they always enumerate with the same name (whatever I last put into Desktop Video Setup). I'm currently differentiating between them on the order in which they enumerate, but that's an unsatisfying solution.
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: Different Display Names for Multiple Cards

PostWed Oct 06, 2021 3:50 am

You can return the display name in the API.
See previous post https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=68929&hilit=decklink
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

rjameson

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:33 pm
  • Real Name: Rex Jameson

Re: Different Display Names for Multiple Cards

PostWed Oct 06, 2021 1:57 pm

Thanks for the response. That is how I expected it to work, but in practice, once I exit desktop video setup, both cards have the DisplayName equal to whatever I set the last one to. So if I set one to Left then the other to Right, they will show those names as long as Desktop Video Setup is open, but once I close it, they will both be named Right. When my program tries to figure out which is which based on the DisplayName out of the API, they are identical.
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: Different Display Names for Multiple Cards

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 7:28 pm

The API supports persisting all settings, and the Desktop Video client usually does as well. Might be a bug with multiple devices of the same type.
Have you tried setting the name with only one card installed and then see if it is retained once the second card is added.
I created a DLL I used with PowerShell to set and store values. See the last line in
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com/v-ise/decklink/
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

rjameson

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:33 pm
  • Real Name: Rex Jameson

Re: Different Display Names for Multiple Cards

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 6:20 pm

Thanks for the response! I have tried setting the name with only one card installed at a time, with the same issue. Interestingly, I had to install each card individually because when both were installed, desktop video would only update the firmware in one. I suspect it is an issue relating to two of the same card installed in the system. It seems like the display name is not stored on the card itself.

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests