DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Toussaint Brown

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:28 am
  • Real Name: Toussaint Brown

DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostSun Oct 24, 2021 6:41 pm

I just installed DR17.4 and my Audio Plugins are not loading.
    Some load most of the time (i.e. DB33FX, a midi organ plugin)
    Some load half the time (i.e. Komplete Kontrol, from native instruments)
    Some dont load at all (i.e. Kontakt 5, also from native instruments, most used*)

Every time I restart I get a different amount of loaded plugins. Sometimes the plugins don't load at all. Please help.
Toussaint Brown
DaVinci Resolve Version 17.4.2
Windows 10 Pro,
32Gb RAM,
Xeon E5-1650 v3
nVidia GeForce RTX 2070
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 2695
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostSun Oct 24, 2021 8:33 pm

Are the problematic plugins in VST2.4 or VST3 format?

In Windows Explorer navigate to the following directory:
C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Preferences\Fairlight\Effects\

Rename the FXConfiguration.xml file (e.g. FXConfiguration_backup.xml) and then restart Resolve in order to rescan all plugins.

Are all plugins scanned successfully and loading correctly?

Include both the new FXConfiguration.xml and FXConfiguration_backup.xml files in this thread to assist the developers.
⟦ Resolve Studio 17.4.2 | macOS 12.01 | Mac Pro Rack | 16-core 3.2GHz | 32GB RAM | Radeon 580X ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Console (DAE-1C-2F) + Fairlight Audio Accelerator | Intensity Pro 4K | Desktop Video 12.1 ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Toussaint Brown

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:28 am
  • Real Name: Toussaint Brown

Re: DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostSun Oct 24, 2021 11:55 pm

The majority of my plugins have a "[2.4]" a the end of them. However some of the plugins that do load also have a "[2.4]" at the end as well.

I changed the file name to "FXConfiguration_Backup". The Plugins were rescanned. The result was the same.

I tried to upload the "FXConfiguration" and "FXConfiguration_backup" files but I got a message saying .xml and .txt files were not permitted. Do I need some extra permissions?

Screenshot 2021-10-24 194023.png
Screenshot 2021-10-24 194023.png (52.64 KiB) Viewed 308 times
Toussaint Brown
DaVinci Resolve Version 17.4.2
Windows 10 Pro,
32Gb RAM,
Xeon E5-1650 v3
nVidia GeForce RTX 2070
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 2695
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostMon Oct 25, 2021 6:24 am

Zip the files up prior to uploading to the forum or use a file sharing services (e.g. Dropbox or WeTransfer) and include a link.

Does Resolve 17.2.3 load the Kontakt suite correctly? Is this behaviour isolated to 17.4?

As a troubleshooting exercise, it may be useful if you install the VST3 versions of those plugins and confirm that Resolve 17.4 loads these appropriately.
⟦ Resolve Studio 17.4.2 | macOS 12.01 | Mac Pro Rack | 16-core 3.2GHz | 32GB RAM | Radeon 580X ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Console (DAE-1C-2F) + Fairlight Audio Accelerator | Intensity Pro 4K | Desktop Video 12.1 ⟧
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 11278
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostMon Oct 25, 2021 7:17 am

moved to resolve forum
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Toussaint Brown

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:28 am
  • Real Name: Toussaint Brown

Re: DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostMon Oct 25, 2021 9:49 pm

DR17.3.2 loaded all of my plugins without issue.

I updated as many plugins as I could but not all have a VST3 version available. The VST3 files seem to work fine. Then again some of them worked before as well.

I have added the .Zip folder with my FXConfig files.

Thank you for all your help so far.

[attachment=0]FXConfiguration+Backup.zip[/attachment]
Attachments
FXConfiguration+Backup.zip
(3.91 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Toussaint Brown
DaVinci Resolve Version 17.4.2
Windows 10 Pro,
32Gb RAM,
Xeon E5-1650 v3
nVidia GeForce RTX 2070
Offline
User avatar

Toussaint Brown

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:28 am
  • Real Name: Toussaint Brown

Re: DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostTue Nov 16, 2021 2:57 pm

Still hoping for a solution to this issue. Native Instruments Guitar Rig, Kontakt 5, and a host of other vst2.4's still not working after trying suggestions provided. :D
Toussaint Brown
DaVinci Resolve Version 17.4.2
Windows 10 Pro,
32Gb RAM,
Xeon E5-1650 v3
nVidia GeForce RTX 2070
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 2695
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostTue Nov 16, 2021 3:01 pm

Are you running the most recent 17.4.1 release?
⟦ Resolve Studio 17.4.2 | macOS 12.01 | Mac Pro Rack | 16-core 3.2GHz | 32GB RAM | Radeon 580X ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Console (DAE-1C-2F) + Fairlight Audio Accelerator | Intensity Pro 4K | Desktop Video 12.1 ⟧
Offline
User avatar

Toussaint Brown

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:28 am
  • Real Name: Toussaint Brown

Re: DR 17.4 Win, VST Plugins, Random "Failed to Load"

PostTue Nov 16, 2021 3:37 pm

Yes. As soon as it came out I installed 17.4.1. Same result.
Toussaint Brown
DaVinci Resolve Version 17.4.2
Windows 10 Pro,
32Gb RAM,
Xeon E5-1650 v3
nVidia GeForce RTX 2070

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crtkecnkl659, hockinsk, Joelarvidsson, MarshallC, nerdrager, Rick van den Berg, RikshaDriver, TCP786 and 125 guests