Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

nicodato

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:53 pm
  • Location: Argentina
  • Real Name: Nicolas Dato

Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostFri Jan 29, 2021 7:33 pm

Hello there,

I'm a developer and sometimes I don't have access to a physical blackmagic device for development and testing purposes.

Is there any way I can emulate a blackmagic device? For example, I have a code to capture from a bmd device and save the video to a file, I would like to test it without having any actual bmd attached to the server. (same thing to output video instead of capturing).

I'm working on Linux (CentOS 7), and I usually work with DeckLink Mini Recorder, Mini Monitor, Duo, Quad.
3Way Solutions S.A.
http://www.3way.com.ar
Offline

thombrooks

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2021 7:47 pm
  • Real Name: Thom Brooks

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostFri Dec 24, 2021 7:51 pm

Were you ever able to get anywhere with this request? I've got the 4k 2 M/E, a 12G 40x40, and a few HyperDecks Mini at the office but wanted to get some development done while I'm at home during the holiday break... rather than having to go in to test, or unrack any of the gear, I was also hoping to emulate some of it.
Offline

PalmerWoodrow

  • Posts: 231
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostThu Dec 30, 2021 11:16 pm

It seems that this is possible, at least for camera control. A guy does it on a Raspberry Pi .

But unfortunately his Github repo lacks any source code.

Where are Blackmagic SDKs? There's documentation on the BMD Web site, but no links to SDK materials. WTF?
Offline
User avatar

nicodato

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:53 pm
  • Location: Argentina
  • Real Name: Nicolas Dato

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostFri Jan 14, 2022 3:08 pm

Hi both! The notification went to my spam box
I could not find any answer.

About PalmerWoodrow's question, the blackmagic sdk is available on its website.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... d-playback
3Way Solutions S.A.
http://www.3way.com.ar
Offline

PalmerWoodrow

  • Posts: 231
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostSat Jan 15, 2022 7:08 am

Wrong. That just goes to the general support page. Come on, man.
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Areca Thunderbolt RAID
Offline
User avatar

nicodato

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:53 pm
  • Location: Argentina
  • Real Name: Nicolas Dato

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostWed Jan 19, 2022 5:47 pm

Hi PalmerWoodrow, how are you? Hope you are enjoying this evening.

Let me try to explain you in simple words:
If you select the product family, for instance, Capture and Playback, then you'll see in the "Latest downloads" section (at the left) a button to download the SDK for Windows, macOS, or Linux.
If you download that SDK, you'll find a PDF inside full of documentation. At least the Linux one provides the PDF.

I wish you a happy new year!
3Way Solutions S.A.
http://www.3way.com.ar
Offline

PalmerWoodrow

  • Posts: 231
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostThu Jan 20, 2022 1:11 am

You're just regurgitating the wrong information posted previously.

You can go to the general consumer page there, sure, and scroll and scroll through page after page of every category of device and release after release of NON-DEVELOPER-RELATED downloads... to find a couple of SDKs interspersed among them.

But, as noted, a bunch of stuff is MISSING. Like the camera-control SDK, which by your logic you'd expect to find in the camera area.

And this doesn't change the fact that developer downloads don't belong piled in with consumer/end-user downloads. Why should a regular customer have to wade through a bunch of SDKs, any more than developers should have to wade through a bunch of regular firmware updates?

Well, they're not supposed to. Right at the top of BMD's homepage, there's a link entitled Developer. It goes here: https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/developer

And, as noted, there's a bunch of stuff missing even from here, the developer area. This is the area BMD set up for developers. It's called "Developer." SDKs are for developers, not regular end users.

You're welcome.
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 2140
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostThu Jan 20, 2022 1:56 am

Which missing camera control SDK are you referring to? As far as I know there's no such SDK, but there's documentation of the Bluetooth and SDI protocols in the camera manuals.
Offline
User avatar

nicodato

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:53 pm
  • Location: Argentina
  • Real Name: Nicolas Dato

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostThu Jan 20, 2022 3:06 am

Following what roger.magnusson said:

From here https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/developer
You can select "Blackmagic Cameras"
Which takes you here https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/develo ... uct/camera
And there you may find "Blackmagic Camera Control"
And finally, View Manual gives you this https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... ontrol.pdf
3Way Solutions S.A.
http://www.3way.com.ar
Offline

PalmerWoodrow

  • Posts: 231
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostThu Jan 20, 2022 7:06 am

Those are all manuals, not the actual SDKs.
Offline

codedeltajames

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 11:30 am
  • Location: UK
  • Real Name: James Goodwin

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostThu Jan 20, 2022 7:51 am

PalmerWoodrow wrote:Those are all manuals, not the actual SDKs.


Wrong. The SDK downloads include the SDK documentation, sample code and libraries.
Offline

PalmerWoodrow

  • Posts: 231
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostThu Jan 20, 2022 9:20 am

What "SDK downloads?"

noSDKDownloads.png
noSDKDownloads.png (972.1 KiB) Viewed 469 times
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 2140
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostThu Jan 20, 2022 10:05 am

PalmerWoodrow wrote:Those are all manuals, not the actual SDKs.

That was my point. There's no camera SDK. You control the cameras over Bluetooth or SDI, not using precompiled libraries.

In the CINEPI-2K video you linked to he just reuses the Bluetooth protocol defined by Blackmagic Design to control his camera. It has nothing to do with emulating a BMD camera as such.

This thread is about emulating BMD capture cards which are completely different (and they do have an SDK).
Offline

PalmerWoodrow

  • Posts: 231
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostSat Jan 22, 2022 8:59 am

You're welcome for my informative post. The referenced project DOES emulate a BMD camera in that it implements BMD's camera-control protocol.

But I invite any insecure empty-livers to keep crying because someone insulted the bungled developer resources on their pet Web site. Or whatever it is that has their panties in a twist.
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Areca Thunderbolt RAID
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 2140
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Can I emulate a blackmagic device for development?

PostSat Jan 22, 2022 9:40 am

Why the insults? There is no public camera SDK. It's not being kept from you, it doesn't exist. Just accept it and move on.

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest