BRAW SDK Question: is decode possible without processing?

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

rzemanuel1

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 2:16 pm
  • Real Name: Ryan Emanuel

BRAW SDK Question: is decode possible without processing?

PostFri Jan 20, 2023 2:28 pm

If I have a BlackmagicRawFrame object, is it possible to decode without processing color space and gamma and such, leaving all the values what they where originally from the sensor?
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1974
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: BRAW SDK Question: is decode possible without processing

PostFri Jan 20, 2023 11:47 pm

No, there is currently no sensor space output possible.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

rzemanuel1

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 2:16 pm
  • Real Name: Ryan Emanuel

Re: BRAW SDK Question: is decode possible without processing

PostSat Jan 21, 2023 1:51 am

CaptainHook wrote:No, there is currently no sensor space output possible.


Are there params for IBlackmagicRawFrameProcessingAttributes that would make the processing basically identity functions or is there no way to get close to the sensor output through the SDK?
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1974
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: BRAW SDK Question: is decode possible without processing

PostSun Jan 22, 2023 2:07 am

What do you need sensor space for and how do you plan to use it?
Something standard like Linear XYZ would give the best options for converting to other spaces, but again not sure what you're looking for or why so might not be best option depending.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

rzemanuel1

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 2:16 pm
  • Real Name: Ryan Emanuel

Re: BRAW SDK Question: is decode possible without processing

PostMon Jan 23, 2023 10:30 pm

CaptainHook wrote:What do you need sensor space for and how do you plan to use it?
Something standard like Linear XYZ would give the best options for converting to other spaces, but again not sure what you're looking for or why so might not be best option depending.

I'm trying to use MCMC to approximate the CFA functions with samples of known spectrum and XYZ coordinates to be able to synthesize hopefully accurate predictions of how the sensor response to known spectrum will land in XYZ. I noticed the manual decode options parameters output a pointer to a frame buffer object, can I just copy that frame buffer?
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1974
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: BRAW SDK Question: is decode possible without processing

PostWed Jan 25, 2023 11:59 pm

It will always be processed sorry, we do not offer native sensor response outputs at this time.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests