RP188VitcOutput/Capture Sample Programs not Working Together

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

wreuven

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 7:32 pm
  • Real Name: Reuven Wachtfogel

RP188VitcOutput/Capture Sample Programs not Working Together

PostSun May 17, 2020 7:59 pm

Setup:

1 BlackMagic Mini Monitor
1 BlackMagic Mini Recorder
Connected Back-2-Back

Reproduce

$ 'Blackmagic DeckLink SDK 11.5/Examples/Linux/bin/RP188VitcOutput'
Monitoring... Press <RETURN> to exit

In other shell (Note that no TimeCodes are seen by Capture)
$ 'Blackmagic DeckLink SDK 11.5/Linux/Samples/Capture/Capture' -d 0 -m -1 -t rp188
Capturing with the following configuration:
- Capture device: DeckLink Mini Recorder
- Video mode: Format Detection
- Pixel format: 8 bit YUV (4:2:2)
- Audio channels: 2
- Audio sample depth: 16 bit
Frame received (#0) - No input signal detected
Video format changed to 1080i50 YUV
Frame received (#1) [No timecode] - Valid Frame - Size: 5529600 bytes
Frame received (#2) [No timecode] - Valid Frame - Size: 5529600 bytes
Frame received (#3) [No timecode] - Valid Frame - Size: 5529600 bytes
Frame received (#4) [No timecode] - Valid Frame - Size: 5529600 bytes
Frame received (#5) [No timecode] - Valid Frame - Size: 5529600 bytes
Frame received (#6) [No timecode] - Valid Frame - Size: 5529600 bytes
Frame received (#7) [No timecode] - Valid Frame - Size: 5529600 bytes

Note that making the following changes to RP188VitcOutput helped but only for 720 and only for bmdFormat8BitYUV:

// Video mode parameters
const BMDDisplayMode kDisplayMode = bmdModeHD720p50;
const BMDVideoOutputFlags kOutputFlags = bmdVideoOutputRP188;
const BMDPixelFormat kPixelFormat = bmdFormat8BitYUV;
// Frame parameters
const INT32_UNSIGNED kRowBytes = 1280 * 2;

I then get:

Capturing with the following configuration:
- Capture device: DeckLink Mini Recorder
- Video mode: Format Detection
- Pixel format: 8 bit YUV (4:2:2)
- Audio channels: 2
- Audio sample depth: 16 bit
Frame received (#0) - No input signal detected
Video format changed to 720p50 YUV
Frame received (#1) [00:00:11:01] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Frame received (#2) [00:00:11:01] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Frame received (#3) [00:00:11:02] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Frame received (#4) [00:00:11:02] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Frame received (#5) [00:00:11:03] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Frame received (#6) [00:00:11:03] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Frame received (#7) [00:00:11:04] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Frame received (#8) [00:00:11:04] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Frame received (#9) [00:00:11:05] - Valid Frame - Size: 2488320 bytes
Offline

Cameron Nichols

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:05 am

Re: RP188VitcOutput/Capture Sample Programs not Working Toge

PostTue May 19, 2020 4:41 am

Hi Reuven,

I attempted to replicate your described setup, but I do see timecode when running unmodified RP188VitcOutput with same Capture command:
Code: Select all
./Capture -d 0 -m -1 -t rp188

Which Linux distribution are you running and what version of Desktop Video are you running?

Have you also tried capturing with CapturePreview to confirm existence of RP188 VITC1 and RP188 VITC2?

Kind Regards
Cameron Nichols
Offline

wreuven

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 7:32 pm
  • Real Name: Reuven Wachtfogel

Re: RP188VitcOutput/Capture Sample Programs not Working Toge

PostWed May 20, 2020 8:22 pm

The Linux version is Ubuntu 18.04.4

PC CPU is i7 4770
Recorder card in x16 lane slot. Monitor card in x1 lane slot. Short 1 meter SDI Cable.

I will try the CapturePreview and report back.

Since it feels like it may be a performance problem, I will also try splitting the 2 cards to 2 different PCs and replacing the SDI cable.

thanks,

Reuven
Offline

wreuven

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 7:32 pm
  • Real Name: Reuven Wachtfogel

Re: RP188VitcOutput/Capture Sample Programs not Working Toge

PostTue May 26, 2020 7:49 am

I replaced my 10 year old computer with a 5 year old computer. Everything works now.

Thanks,

Reuven

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests