BRAW API Alpha Channel

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

antoine

  • Posts: 498
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:20 am
  • Real Name: Antoine Dornstetter

BRAW API Alpha Channel

PostThu May 28, 2020 5:26 pm

Hi all,

I would need to know if the Blackmagic RAW API is setting the alpha channel at 100% in those pixel formats in the returned frame ? Is there any guarantee that it is ?

Code: Select all
    blackmagicRawResourceFormatRGBAU8                            = /* 'rgba' */ 0x72676261,
    blackmagicRawResourceFormatBGRAU8                            = /* 'bgra' */ 0x62677261,
    blackmagicRawResourceFormatRGBAU16                           = /* '16al' */ 0x3136616C,
    blackmagicRawResourceFormatBGRAU16                           = /* '16la' */ 0x31366C61,
    blackmagicRawResourceFormatBGRAF32                           = /* 'f32a' */ 0x66333261


Thanks
BRAW Studio FREE and Premium for Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects, with a brand new Desktop .BRAW Player and Color Grader, as well as an automatic White Balance Color Picker tool
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2057
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: BRAW API Alpha Channel

PostSat May 30, 2020 2:16 pm

Hi, yes it should be. If not, please let us know as it would be a bug/regression.
Also bear in mind some packages invert the alpha channel - either way, we set it to 255 for 8 bit, 65535 for 16 bit and 1.0 for F32.
Thanks.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline
User avatar

antoine

  • Posts: 498
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:20 am
  • Real Name: Antoine Dornstetter

Re: BRAW API Alpha Channel

PostSat May 30, 2020 8:45 pm

Thanks for your answer Mr. Hook. By "package" you mean other softwares ? Yes sometimes people talk about "transparency" so 0% transparency is 100% opacity (: , "alpha" is not descriptive enough

PS : we haven't seen any bug in that regard ! just confirming what's not written in docs
BRAW Studio FREE and Premium for Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects, with a brand new Desktop .BRAW Player and Color Grader, as well as an automatic White Balance Color Picker tool
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2057
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: BRAW API Alpha Channel

PostSun May 31, 2020 1:55 am

Yes, I mean other applications.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests