Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Cao Bin

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 am

Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostMon Dec 22, 2014 10:39 am

Some of HDMI devices will carrying HDCP signals while output, for Blackmagic, the Intensity may not able to playback and capture normally from an HDMI device. That's because Blackmagic Set Limits on Intensity. That's really terrible for Blackmagic.

So we require Blackmagic bring us a Fireware to upgrade Blackmagic's Intensity "FREEDOM" please!

Sincerely,
Cao
Offline

Daniel Moore

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:06 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostMon Dec 29, 2014 12:24 am

Hi Cao,

all Blackmagic devices which support HDMI must comply with the relevant HDMI standards, including support for HDCP.

cheers
Offline
User avatar

Richard Courtney

  • Posts: 347
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:50 pm

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostMon Dec 29, 2014 12:53 am

You can't record (or passthru) HDCP protected content using Decklink cards is what he is referring to.

At least I can't find anything in the SDK manual.
Offline

Daniel Moore

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:06 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostMon Dec 29, 2014 2:31 am

Hi Richard,

That's correct and necessary to be compliant - DeckLink devices cannot record HDCP protected sources.

Content owners should turn off HDCP if they want to capture their own content, or transfer the stream
using an unprotected stream such as SDI.

cheers
Offline

Cao Bin

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostTue Dec 30, 2014 5:50 am

Daniel Moore wrote:Hi Cao,

all Blackmagic devices which support HDMI must comply with the relevant HDMI standards, including support for HDCP.

cheers

1 >> If my PlayStation4 turn HDCP on then my playback and capture viewer will be blank. How do you explain?

2 >> Why only 1080i would be playability? but it's really sucks in motion so I'm using 720p..

3 >> Why I can't get hear but only can see audio meter from Media Express?

Ps: I've tried all of the settings in Both Sides of PlayStation4 and Intensity Extreme.

Pls: Explain and tell the solution in very details.
— — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — —
Hardware Environment and How them to be link:
PlayStation4 (HDMI) ⇢ IntensityExtreme (Thunderbolt) ⇢ MacBookProRetina
— — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — —
Software Environment and System Platform:
OS X 10.9.5
Blackmagic Desktop Video 10.3.2
Blackmagic Media Express 3.3.2
Offline

Daniel Moore

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:06 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostTue Dec 30, 2014 6:30 am

Hi Cao,

1. As noted, our cards cannot be used to capture HDCP protected content.
2. Intensity Extreme supports up to 720p60.
3. Media express can capture the audio, but won't play it back over your computers sound device.

If you have other consumer related questions, you should try the "Post Production" forum or call/email our support line!

cheers
Offline

Cao Bin

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostTue Dec 30, 2014 9:36 am

Daniel Moore wrote:Hi Cao,

1. As noted, our cards cannot be used to capture HDCP protected content.
2. Intensity Extreme supports up to 720p60.
3. Media express can capture the audio, but won't play it back over your computers sound device.

If you have other consumer related questions, you should try the "Post Production" forum or call/email our support line!

cheers

1 >> Is there any solution for the HDCP issue?

2 >> Is that possible Intensity Extreme supports 1080p60 in the future by update firmware?

3 >> However, how do I playback the audio in my MacBook Pro? (I can get the audio completely from "Scope Box" but audio has lag.. why?)

Sorry for I've posted the wrong place. I've got nothing at all after I send email few times for help. As for my english is very poor in speaking so that's why I haven't make call. Thanks for kind help!
Offline

Daniel Moore

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:06 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostTue Dec 30, 2014 10:13 pm

Hi Cao,

1. You need to turn off the HDCP for Blackmagic devices to be able to capture the source.
2. I'm not aware of any announcements relating to the Intensity Extreme. If you ask support, they could log it as a feature request
3. Media Express doesn't monitor the audio, so all I can suggest is to capture the stream, and play it back from another app.

Cheers
Offline

Cao Bin

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostTue Dec 30, 2014 10:46 pm

Daniel Moore wrote:Hi Cao,

1. You need to turn off the HDCP for Blackmagic devices to be able to capture the source.
2. I'm not aware of any announcements relating to the Intensity Extreme. If you ask support, they could log it as a feature request
3. Media Express doesn't monitor the audio, so all I can suggest is to capture the stream, and play it back from another app.

Cheers

1 >> I do understand this.. thanks!
2 >> the first Problem is the Support of Blackmagic never reply the email!
3 >> As for the audio issue, seems there are two options here: Find a third party app which could play audio back and fullscreen perfectly..
Offline

Cao Bin

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostThu Jan 01, 2015 8:44 am

I've sent an email to Support for Features Request, just bless me will dreams come true!
Last edited by Cao Bin on Sat Jan 03, 2015 7:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Cao Bin

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostFri Jan 02, 2015 5:59 pm

I wonder if the support of Blackmagic is not able to receive email because mailbox crash, or there is bug in the "Send us an email"..
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3419
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Rivera

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostFri Jan 02, 2015 6:31 pm

Are you having troubles sending an email to the support office in your region? I'm not aware of any problems currently.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

Cao Bin

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostSat Jan 03, 2015 7:28 am

Tony Rivera wrote:Are you having troubles sending an email to the support office in your region? I'm not aware of any problems currently.

Yes, I've sent an email to support for Features Request in China, but no feedback no respond at all. Is there any problem?
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3419
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Rivera

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostMon Jan 05, 2015 6:53 pm

There shouldn't be any problems. Did you email support-asia@blackmagicdesign.com? If that was the email you sent your question/concern to, my next suggestion is to call into the support office and follow up with them in regards to the email you sent.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

Cao Bin

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 am

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostTue Jan 13, 2015 2:59 pm

Tony Rivera wrote:There shouldn't be any problems. Did you email support-asia@blackmagicdesign.com? If that was the email you sent your question/concern to, my next suggestion is to call into the support office and follow up with them in regards to the email you sent.

OMG, I got an email for kindly response from the address you have provided finally.. Thank you!!
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3419
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Rivera

Re: Require a Fireware for "FREEDOM” to capture HDMI signals

PostTue Jan 13, 2015 7:02 pm

Glad to hear your got a response. Hopefully you can get the help you're requesting taken care of.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests