DeckLink Mini-Recorder HDMI Input

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author

JonathanGailliez

DeckLink Mini-Recorder HDMI Input

PostTue Jun 30, 2015 1:21 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm new at using the Decklink SDK and I have a question for you. How can I select the HDMI video input instead of the SDI one to capture frames with the Decklink SDK?

Let me give you some context.

I've installed successfully the Decklink Mini-Recorder card on an Ubuntu 14.04(LTS) machine. I tried the Capture.cpp sample code provided with the SDK and I didn't manage to capture any frame with it. See the following output:

Code: Select all
administrator@support:~/Linux/Samples/Capture$ ./Capture -d 0 -m -1
Capturing with the following configuration:
 - Capture device: DeckLink Mini Recorder
 - Video mode: Format Detection
 - Pixel format: 8 bit YUV (4:2:2)
 - Audio channels: 2
 - Audio sample depth: 16 bit
Frame received (#0) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#1) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#2) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#3) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#4) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#5) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#6) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#7) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#8) - No input signal detected
Frame received (#9) - No input signal detected

I tried all the 14 input video mode and still no luck. I then installed the GUI tools provided and MediaExpress. I still couldn't capture any frame even within MediaExpress. I then used the GUI tool called "Blackmagic Desktop Video Utility" to explicitly switch from the SDI input to the HDMI one (see screenshot below). As soon as I did that, I was able to capture frames with MediaExpress and the Capture.cpp sample code. See the following output:

administrator@support:~/Linux/Samples/Capture$ ./Capture -d 0 -m -1
Capturing with the following configuration: