Blackmagic Speed Test Terminal Arguments

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

BrandonKoch

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 2:14 pm

Blackmagic Speed Test Terminal Arguments

PostFri Jan 20, 2017 5:57 pm

Hello,

I was curious if anyone had any experience with running Blackmagic Speed Test via the command line? I have a number of computers I would like to run Blackmagic Speed Test on, but need to set the Target Drive and the Stress Size on each machine, and have been finding it time consuming to launch the software on each computer and adjust accordingly.

I do see there are some command line arguments for Blackmagic Speed Test, per running
Code: Select all
/Applications/Blackmagic Disk Speed Test.app/Contents/MacOS/DiskSpeedTest -h
, but have been unsuccessful in figuring out the correct syntax to set the target drive and the stress size.

My attempts to set the target size have resulted in me trying
Code: Select all
/Applications/Blackmagic Disk Speed Test.app/Contents/MacOS/DiskSpeedTest -d /Users/Shared/SpeedTest/
, but regardless of my folder, including opening it with
Code: Select all
chmod -R 777 /Users/Shared/SpeedTest
(the folder exists on all computers), it's reported that the folder is read/only and cannot be used.

Does anyone have any experience using the command line for running Speed Test?

Thanks!
Offline

Chip.Murphy

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: Blackmagic Speed Test Terminal Arguments

PostWed Aug 21, 2019 1:10 pm

Any updates on this? Would be great to point to a customized location
Offline

Username

  • Posts: 206
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:33 am
  • Real Name: Petter Flink

Re: Blackmagic Speed Test Terminal Arguments

PostFri Aug 23, 2019 11:09 am

I've not found an argument to address which volume to test.
But it appears as if there are no such argument via cl.

Options:
-h, --help Displays this help.
-c, --cmd Control via command-line options, not GUI.
-o, --outfile <file> Print result output to <file> (default: stdout).
-s, --size <size> Stress test of <size> GBs (default: 1).
-n, --iterations <N> <N> iterations (default: 1).
Grew up with a Nikon FM - Evolving with a BMMCC
Resolve Studio 16.2.5 - Fusion Studio 16.2.4
Mac mini & MBP 16GB - PowerColor Vega 56 8GB
Offline

soulessfighter

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:46 pm
  • Real Name: Christopher Ho

Re: Blackmagic Speed Test Terminal Arguments

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 11:56 pm

Was wondering if there's a cli tool that exists for the Windows version of Blackmagic Speed test? Ive tried running the Windows software version using the same options listed above and they do not work.

If someone who knows if it exists or not please help!

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests