Color grading with monitor in a corner?

Got something to discuss that's not about Blackmagic products? Then check out the Off-Topic forum!
  • Author

JanisRode

Color grading with monitor in a corner?

PostTue Nov 01, 2022 3:20 pm

Hello there, I've finally decided to redo my home office properly and I want to set it up to where I can easily upgrade it in the future. I am merely a hobbyist (my day job is Senior Network Engineer) and I am barely a novice, but I feel like I have learned enough to be able to understand/experiment more, if that makes any sense. Please forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong section. I would greatly appreciate any input.

My first question is about color grading and editing in the corner of a room.
I have been looking for examples of color grading studios that have the main monitor in a corner but haven't managed to find any. Is there a specific reason why?

I couldn't find anything about it neither being good or bad neither in the book "Color Correction Handbook (Second Edition)" by Alexis Van Hurkman, nor "The Studio Builder's Handbook" by Bobby Owsinski and Dennis Moody.

I made a basic drawing of my house to keep track of the circuit breakers and I decided to make a quick drawing of a desk that I was planning on building and where I was considering putting it. I just bought a 48" LG A2 (wife wouldn't let me take the 65" CX from the living room), that I was hoping to place in the corner.

A second question would be regarding noise.
The hatched area is where my workstation will be mounted (it's plumbed to the basement for cooling so I don't want to move it horizontally from that spot). I don't want anything to make noise. I have 4 different dedicated 20A circuits in one corner of the room but neither of these are hooked to a UPS. I am currently using consumer grade UPSes for all my equipment thanks to their silence, but I am hoping to get rid off all of them.