AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostSun Apr 24, 2022 12:42 pm

Plan to get a workstation as above.

Appreciate feedback from those using a similar system, the good and the bad.

Thanks.

P/S GPU will come later, undecided.
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4165
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostMon Apr 25, 2022 6:13 am

My setup:
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X + Noctua NH-U12A
Gigabyte B550 Vision D-P
Corsair Vengeance LPX 128GB (4x32GB) DDR4 3600MHz C18
PNY NVIDIA RTX A6000 48GByte
Seasonic PRIME TX-1000 80PLUS Titanium 1000 Watt
WD_BLACK SN850 2TB NVMe; PCIe Gen4
Crucial P5 CT2000P5SSD8 2 TB
Sabrent M.2 2280 SSD Rocket cooler

A few things to consider:
If you populate both NVMe slots with SSDs, you will deactivate one of the three PCIe4.0 slots.
If you are planning to use a faster 10Gbit network in the future you might realize very soon, that the 2.5Gbit don’t cut it and Windows 10/11 does not support link aggregation anymore, so you can’t combine them to 5GBit. So you will need an extra 10Gbit network card.
My board has Thunderbolt 3 so I was able to add that externally.
After I installed the Sabrent cooler onto the SSDs, I realized that those cooler do stick out too much, so I could not install the GPU into Slot 1. The Gigabyte board comes with low profile coolers on their own, but less efficient.

Otherwise the whole setup works great, reliable and super fast. Resolve is running like a dream on this.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostTue Apr 26, 2022 3:31 am

Robert Niessner wrote:My setup:
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X + Noctua NH-U12A
Gigabyte B550 Vision D-P
Corsair Vengeance LPX 128GB (4x32GB) DDR4 3600MHz C18
PNY NVIDIA RTX A6000 48GByte
Seasonic PRIME TX-1000 80PLUS Titanium 1000 Watt
WD_BLACK SN850 2TB NVMe; PCIe Gen4
Crucial P5 CT2000P5SSD8 2 TB
Sabrent M.2 2280 SSD Rocket cooler

A few things to consider:
If you populate both NVMe slots with SSDs, you will deactivate one of the three PCIe4.0 slots.
If you are planning to use a faster 10Gbit network in the future you might realize very soon, that the 2.5Gbit don’t cut it and Windows 10/11 does not support link aggregation anymore, so you can’t combine them to 5GBit. So you will need an extra 10Gbit network card.
My board has Thunderbolt 3 so I was able to add that externally.
After I installed the Sabrent cooler onto the SSDs, I realized that those cooler do stick out too much, so I could not install the GPU into Slot 1. The Gigabyte board comes with low profile coolers on their own, but less efficient.

Otherwise, the whole setup works great, reliable and super fast. Resolve is running like a dream on this.

Noted and many thanks! Your system looks very impressive, high-end spec!

I am both anxious and worried to update the motherboard BIOS, the first time doing that when it arrives in a few weeks' time. If the installed BIOS has 5900X spec, then that will save me the worry.

Wonder why 3600 MHz for your RAM? MB system memory spec says 3200 MHz. Overclocking?

Planning to get CL22 for the ram. Yours is CL18. Noticeable in performance?

Thanks for your pointers.

What is your normal CPU temp when rendering 4K?

Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4165
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostTue Apr 26, 2022 10:20 pm

Updating the BIOS is very safe and easy nowadays, don’t worry.

The 3600 MHz for the RAM isn’t overclocked and works flawlessly with the board. When I bought it, it wasn’t any more expensive than slower RAM. You will notice the speed difference only in very specific use cases, like for example with Neatvideo noise reduction, where it gives a slight advantage.
If you can get RAM with a faster CL then get it, that is more important than a slightly higher clock.

About CPU temperatures I’ll have to take a look and will report later.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostSun May 01, 2022 3:01 am

My parts are slowly arriving by snail post.

Appreciate feedback from Gigabyte B550 users on whether to use Win 10 or Win 11 and why.

My concern with Win 11 is that it is new and I do not want any hiccups in setting up the system.

Aware of BIOS update available for Win 11.

No Win 11 + Gigabyte B550 issues of concern?

Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4165
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostSun May 01, 2022 6:15 am

Can’t comment on Windows 11 as I am using Windows 10 and planning to keep it that way as long as possible. So far no hiccups with Win 10 on this setup.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostSun May 01, 2022 8:59 am

Thanks.

Think it will be better if I use Win 10 and upgrade to Win 11 later once I am happy with the new build.

Cheerio.
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostTue May 10, 2022 7:42 am

Tried Q flash to update the bios. Flashing lights on the mobo and the pendrive for about 2-3 mins. Then the lights stayed on for more than an hour till I stopped it.

Pen drive is fat32, file is GIGABYE.bin. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4165
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostTue May 10, 2022 4:13 pm

I'd use Q flash only if the board needs to be updated for a newer CPU. Otherwise it is better to boot into the BIOS and use the flash tool from there.

* try another USB stick. I've found motherboards to be very picky with USB sticks while in low level access. USB2.0 is your best bet

if you still want to try Q flash:
* make sure that you extracted the bios update file from its archive
* rename the bios file to - > GIGABYTE.bin <- case sensitive!
* USB stick must be inserted into the white USB flash port
* unplug all unnecessary things from the board like network cable, USB drives etc.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostWed May 11, 2022 2:57 am

[img][img][/img][/img]I'd use Q flash only if the board needs to be updated for a newer CPU. Otherwise it is better to boot into the BIOS and use the flash tool from there.

*** No choice for me as I do not have any other AMD CPU besides the 5900X which needs bios 10 (I think).

* try another USB stick. I've found motherboards to be very picky with USB sticks while in low level access. USB2.0 is your best bet

*** Tried 3 diff USB sticks (Kingston, unknown brand). Bought a Sandisk Cruzer 16 GB USB 2 today after watching a few videos on this problem. Still not successful, light stayed on after 2-3 mins of flashing.

if you still want to try Q flash:
* make sure that you extracted the bios update file from its archive
* rename the bios file to - > GIGABYTE.bin <- case sensitive!
* USB stick must be inserted into the white USB flash port
* unplug all unnecessary things from the board like network cable, USB drives etc.

*** Confirmed yes to all the above.

*** Noted that there is no sticky plastic sheet on the white backpanel IO body etc which I saw youtubers peeling off after they have completed the task. It has been peeled off? Maybe I got a second hand mobo?
Attachments
mobo plastic sheet.JPG
mobo plastic sheet.JPG (234.42 KiB) Viewed 3844 times
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4165
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostWed May 11, 2022 5:53 am

That is strange. I got my board last year and installed the 5900X anyway and it booted with that CPU.
Can’t remember if there were plastic sheets in place, but probably.

So it really might be possible you got a second hand board.

Can you try with the CPU installed if it is booting?
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostWed May 11, 2022 11:02 am

From the web, needs bios version 10 to run 5900X on this mobo. My mobo is ver 1.1. Dont know what is its bios version.

The seller is willing to take it back.

Cannot test it with 5900X as some parts are not here yet.
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostSat May 21, 2022 8:14 am

All the parts have arrived yesterday. Pressed the start button today. A few issues here and there, managed to get my first build up and running. Finally.

The first mobo I got is faulty, used item, I guess. Protective stickers were already removed from the mobo when I got it.

My Cinebench score is 21481, which I think is pretty good.

Thanks to all here, especially Robert for your help. Much appreciated.
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4165
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostSun May 22, 2022 4:56 pm

plumberbm wrote:All the parts have arrived yesterday. Pressed the start button today. A few issues here and there, managed to get my first build up and running. Finally.

The first mobo I got is faulty, used item, I guess. Protective stickers were already removed from the mobo when I got it.

My Cinebench score is 21481, which I think is pretty good.

Thanks to all here, especially Robert for your help. Much appreciated.


Glad this worked out for you.

For comparison I tested my system (AMD 5900X) with Cinebench 23 and got a score of 22027.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostThu Aug 11, 2022 11:39 am

Robert,

I am planning to update to the latest BIOS 15d (from 15a) via @bios.

I cannot find the changes in this latest update as I want to decide whether it is worth updating the bios (vs the risk).

Have you updated it to 15d?

Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4165
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostThu Aug 11, 2022 12:58 pm

plumberbm wrote:Robert,

I am planning to update to the latest BIOS 15d (from 15a) via @bios.

I cannot find the changes in this latest update as I want to decide whether it is worth updating the bios (vs the risk).

Have you updated it to 15d?

Thanks.


I haven't updated. If it ain't broken, don't try to fix it...
The update F15d brings a new version of AMD AGESA (the CPU microcode): 1.2.0.7

I've read that this should improve performance with Windows 11:
"This particular version of AGESA gains importance to those on Windows 11, as it corrects a performance-stuttering issue caused due to frequent polling of the fTPM by the OS."


Source: https://www.techpowerup.com/295821/amd- ... s-and-oems

So if you aren't using Win 11, then I see no need to update.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

plumberbm

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 12:19 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Loh

Re: AMD 5900X + Gigabyte B550 DP + 32 GB

PostThu Aug 11, 2022 1:10 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:
I haven't updated. If it ain't broken, don't try to fix it...
The update F15d brings a new version of AMD AGESA (the CPU microcode): 1.2.0.7

I've read that this should improve performance with Windows 11:
"This particular version of AGESA gains importance to those on Windows 11, as it corrects a performance-stuttering issue caused due to frequent polling of the fTPM by the OS."


Source: https://www.techpowerup.com/295821/amd- ... s-and-oems

So if you aren't using Win 11, then I see no need to update.


Thanks.

If the update is not for stability, security, etc, then I better wait. Tempted to upgrade to Win 11, 2 friends have updated to Win 11 , saying it is faster and more stable (they are not using Davnci). So will decide on Win 11 and this FW update in the coming months.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests