H.264 update? Don't understand everything yet

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

giguer

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:17 pm
  • Real Name: Michel Giguere

H.264 update? Don't understand everything yet

PostSat Jan 11, 2020 11:24 pm

Hello all, I'm a new member on the forum but I'm using the H.264 for 2 years now. I'm a hockey coach and use the device to record game live and clip it after.

I've use the H.264 before Christmas and didn't use it last week. Now, nothing wants to work and a window pop out saying I need to update. When I decided to click on update, the laptop shut down (no more battery) and since, could find the update button...

I went on the website to look at the new update and I don't see anything there. The thing is... I don't know which ''latest download'' I should look. I plug and unplug the H.264 and the update window doesn't pop out.

When I'm opening black magic media express. I click on device and I can see my device. It happen to me before so I've done the update and everything was alright after, but now, I can'T find any update and don't know which one is the right update for the H.264.

Sorry about that newbie question but I need help.

Thanks in advance
Offline
User avatar

Eric-Jan

  • Posts: 470
  • Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:58 pm
  • Location: The Netherlands, Haarlem
  • Real Name: Eric-Jan van den Bogaard

Re: H.264 update? Don't understand everything yet

PostMon Jan 13, 2020 6:10 pm

Most of the time you never will know what went wrong, and when this is not too difficult, i would say, try to get a new download of the software in question 264 software codec, de-install the faulty one, and install the latest version/new again.
Depending on which Operating System is on your PC/Laptop, you need to do the steps for that OS...
A google on the web mentioning this should help you also further.

Or you might give some more info of your setup. (Which OS you're running, and hardware you're using)

btw. if you're on Microsoft windows, you might considder to switch to Apple/Mac as OS in the future,
I have been for years on Windows by Microsoft, and switched over to an Apple MacBook Pro, and have no regrets of that, the OS is stable, and you will find all you need, and you're very save against mallware...... for free, no subs needed.
UltraStudio Mini Recorder, Intensity Shuttle, ATEM Mini, Assist 6G. Davinci Resolve 15 > Sierra, Resolve 16 > Catalina. Media Express, MacX Video Converter Pro, UniConverter (Using Apple OS 32 & 64 bit on MacBook Pro hardware)
Offline

giguer

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:17 pm
  • Real Name: Michel Giguere

Re: H.264 update? Don't understand everything yet

PostMon Jan 13, 2020 6:13 pm

So basically, to use the H.264 it's only this software ''desktop video 11.x.x''

I will uninstall everything and let you know. Thanks in advance

And I am with Window now and cannot switch for MAC because the software we are using is only for Window.
Last edited by giguer on Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Eric-Jan

  • Posts: 470
  • Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:58 pm
  • Location: The Netherlands, Haarlem
  • Real Name: Eric-Jan van den Bogaard

Re: H.264 update? Don't understand everything yet

PostMon Jan 13, 2020 6:28 pm

If that's your update yes, but H.264 is a codec, and is within your OS, or linked to.
but a re-install of desktop video setup can't hurt, watch for possible error warnings, and take note of these, to solve things,
UltraStudio Mini Recorder, Intensity Shuttle, ATEM Mini, Assist 6G. Davinci Resolve 15 > Sierra, Resolve 16 > Catalina. Media Express, MacX Video Converter Pro, UniConverter (Using Apple OS 32 & 64 bit on MacBook Pro hardware)
Offline

giguer

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:17 pm
  • Real Name: Michel Giguere

Re: H.264 update? Don't understand everything yet

PostThu Jan 16, 2020 5:44 am

Uninstall everything and re-install everything and still the same issue for now. Doesn't detect any device.

I'm running on Win10. When I go on Media Express, he doesn't detect any device. But when I go to my USB, we can see the connection for the h264.

I have the Desktop Video Windows 11.4.1
Offline
User avatar

Eric-Jan

  • Posts: 470
  • Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:58 pm
  • Location: The Netherlands, Haarlem
  • Real Name: Eric-Jan van den Bogaard

Re: H.264 update? Don't understand everything yet

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 12:35 am

"Any device..." ? which hardware device ? on USB... are there any other USB devices ? they are also not shown ?
This looks like a windows 10 problem, and not related to BMD hard or software.

so, when you remove devices while pc is switched off, turn PC on when windows is past it's start-up sequence,
plug in (USB) hardware, then, is there any response from windows 10 ?
Are there any other programs that use the H.264 codec ?
Could you check the failing hardware on an other pc ?

I'm only guessing here, because i don't use Windows anymore, and found enough tools, that replaced the ones i used on Windows, sorry, i am at a loss for now....
UltraStudio Mini Recorder, Intensity Shuttle, ATEM Mini, Assist 6G. Davinci Resolve 15 > Sierra, Resolve 16 > Catalina. Media Express, MacX Video Converter Pro, UniConverter (Using Apple OS 32 & 64 bit on MacBook Pro hardware)

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests