UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jeff Klein

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:58 pm
  • Location: Baltimore, Maryland

UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

PostTue May 19, 2020 1:57 pm

Hi folks,
I've got an UltraStudio HD Mini that I'll be using with ProPresenter 7 on an iMac to send Alpha Key and Fill outputs to our ATEM 1 M/E Production Studio 4K for lower 3rds. It also has an HDMI output, and I'm wanting to know if that means the HD Mini shows up as 3 video outputs to the iMac or is the HDMI only a copy of one of the two SDI outputs? PP7 now allows up to 7 outputs so we're looking at using an output for the new Announcement layer (basically a digital signage type use) so thinking about using the Mini's HDMI output if it's configurable as a separate/3rd output.

Thanks,
Jeff
Jeff Klein, DMC-E
Baltimore, Md

ATEM 1 M/E Production Switcher (HD & 4K)
ATEM Advanced Panel
Record PC:
2017 iMac 27", 3.4GHz, 8GB RAM, Ultrastudio Mini Recorder (TB2/TB3)
Control PC:
Win10 Pro Dell Optiplex 3050 Micro, 2.7GHz i5, 8GB RAM
Offline

Scottie B

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 1:47 am
  • Real Name: Scott Bahler

Re: UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

PostTue Aug 25, 2020 1:51 am

I too would like to know more on this! I've been spinning my wheels for a while now.
Offline
User avatar

Jeff Klein

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:58 pm
  • Location: Baltimore, Maryland

Re: UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

PostTue Aug 25, 2020 2:23 pm

You know, I finally got this put in last month, and I totally forgot to check this. We're just starting to test the Alpha Key functionality with ProPresenter, and we did get it to work just fine with running the dual SDI outputs our ATEM 1 M/E 4K, but haven't done much more as I'm waiting on the church ProPresenter creators to start giving me actual content to test with.

Jeff
Jeff Klein, DMC-E
Baltimore, Md

ATEM 1 M/E Production Switcher (HD & 4K)
ATEM Advanced Panel
Record PC:
2017 iMac 27", 3.4GHz, 8GB RAM, Ultrastudio Mini Recorder (TB2/TB3)
Control PC:
Win10 Pro Dell Optiplex 3050 Micro, 2.7GHz i5, 8GB RAM
Offline

Scottie B

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 1:47 am
  • Real Name: Scott Bahler

Re: UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

PostTue Aug 25, 2020 6:34 pm

Thanks for the update!
That's great to hear! I've been having to use a green chroma key on the BMD switcher so I could send lower thirds to our live stream.
It all gets crazy complicated when you are doing live feed AND live to a screen in church. Trying to send green backgrounds to live feed and regular backgrounds to the screen. Not easy.

Get to know the "looks" options...
Offline

Scottie B

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 1:47 am
  • Real Name: Scott Bahler

Re: UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

PostTue Aug 25, 2020 6:36 pm

So did you just connect 2 SDIs to your switcher?
Offline

davenice

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 11:53 am
  • Real Name: Dave Nice

Re: UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

PostWed Oct 07, 2020 11:55 am

Hey all,

I wondered whether we had a definitive answer to the question originally raised; does the UltraStudio HD Mini support 2 separate SDI outputs as well as an HDMI output?

I am considering using one with PP7 with the 2 SDI outputs as key/fill and the HDMI output running my main display.

The doc doesn't say, the specs don't suggest that it's shared .... but I'm suspicious!

Anyone able to help before I give BM a call?

Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Jeff Klein

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:58 pm
  • Location: Baltimore, Maryland

Re: UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

PostWed Oct 07, 2020 6:13 pm

Scottie B wrote:So did you just connect 2 SDIs to your switcher?


Hi Scottie,
Yeah, we connected the Ultrastudio HD Mini's two SDI outputs to the ATEM Switcher, and set one as Key and one as Fill and it worked like a champ in PP7 (and PP6 for that matter, we tested it with the demo module before testing it on PP7).

Hope this helps,
Jeff
Jeff Klein, DMC-E
Baltimore, Md

ATEM 1 M/E Production Switcher (HD & 4K)
ATEM Advanced Panel
Record PC:
2017 iMac 27", 3.4GHz, 8GB RAM, Ultrastudio Mini Recorder (TB2/TB3)
Control PC:
Win10 Pro Dell Optiplex 3050 Micro, 2.7GHz i5, 8GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

Jeff Klein

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:58 pm
  • Location: Baltimore, Maryland

Re: UltraStudio HD Mini outputs?

PostWed Oct 07, 2020 6:15 pm

davenice wrote:Hey all,
I wondered whether we had a definitive answer to the question originally raised; does the UltraStudio HD Mini support 2 separate SDI outputs as well as an HDMI output?

Anyone able to help before I give BM a call?


Hi Dave,
Sorry I've not been able to verify this, I keep getting sidetracked. I'll be up there tonight so if I remember I'll plug something into it and see if I can figure it out.

Jeff
Jeff Klein, DMC-E
Baltimore, Md

ATEM 1 M/E Production Switcher (HD & 4K)
ATEM Advanced Panel
Record PC:
2017 iMac 27", 3.4GHz, 8GB RAM, Ultrastudio Mini Recorder (TB2/TB3)
Control PC:
Win10 Pro Dell Optiplex 3050 Micro, 2.7GHz i5, 8GB RAM

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests