Page 1 of 1

No video input with Decklink 8k Pro

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 12:17 am
by tonydoes3d
Hello,

I’m having a strange issue with my Decklink 8k Pro. There isn’t any video input. I tried with 2 different cameras, one of which is the G2, but I can’t seem to get a video input signal in the app.

From my understanding, and looking at some videos online, it seems like it is plug and play. I tried with 2 different cameras, reinstall the apps, removing and putting the Decklink back in the slot, but it doesn’t seem to work for me.

The Decklink is recognised by the Blackmagic Desktop Video Utility, but no video input information and only a black screen in the Media Express app.

Is there anything I need to set up for it to work?

Thank you.

Tony

Re: No video input with Decklink 8k Pro

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:20 am
by mischaub
Got exactly the same problem, did write yesterday to this forum, no answer so far as well (did send this morning more details, so my topic hangs at the editors of this forum).
So at least the two of us are in sync. :D

Re: No video input with Decklink 8k Pro

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:24 am
by sallison87
Also having the same issue.

Re: No video input with Decklink 8k Pro

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:47 pm
by mariogomi
Hi guys, I was having the same Issue, but i got my Decklink 8k Pro to work, using the Desktop Video Setup utility to change the connection mapping. I have three cameras:

1 Ursa mini 4.6k pro g2 2160p 30 fps or 1080p 60 fps.

2 BMPCC4K connecting trough BM Micro Converter HDMI-SDI 1080p 60fps.

When I use the 2 sub devices (sd1 in, sd2 out; sd3 in sd4 out) connection mapping profile I got to see correctly two cameras, any of the combination of cameras listed above. But when I go to the 4 subdevices config (sd1, in or out, s2 in or out..sdi4 in or out) I cannot see any sígnal of any of any of the cameras.

I Wrote to BM, but they want me to send the card to them, long way from my country to the usa. I don´t think it´s a card issue because it does work properly in the 2 sub devices setup, i guess is more an issue of config or may be a bug.

By the way, when I Open Media Express it doesn´t respond, any clues (I have install and uninstall it severaltimes, no success) also on this, how to make a app work when it doesn´t work form oppening?

thank you!!!

Re: No video input with Decklink 8k Pro

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:11 am
by mischaub
Am very very happy now, thanks to you. It seems I made so many errors too gaga to mention here. Easier to describe my approach, how to use a HDMI signal piped through the HDMI-SDI converter into the card: I had to set all four in-outputs to the same 1080i50, and now even Media Express works.

Re: No video input with Decklink 8k Pro

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:11 pm
by mariogomi
Hi, how did you make it work ? I cant even setting my camera to 1080 i 50

mischaub wrote:Am very very happy now, thanks to you. It seems I made so many errors too gaga to mention here. Easier to describe my approach, how to use a HDMI signal piped through the HDMI-SDI converter into the card: I had to set all four in-outputs to the same 1080i50, and now even Media Express works.

Re: No video input with Decklink 8k Pro

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:14 am
by mariogomi
SOLVE IT.

So, apparently when you connect SD1, IN or OUT in the device 01, wich enables 4 channels of in and out, the Desktop Video Setup doesn´t recognize the signal until you call that video in an app like Media Express o Aximmetry, Unreal, etc! So even if it doesn´t look you are connected, actually you are able to see the signal in the software you are goin to use!