Insert timecode into video signal with a Hyperdeck / Atem ?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

antithing

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:57 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Sharp

Insert timecode into video signal with a Hyperdeck / Atem ?

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 11:51 am

I am looking to build out a system with multiple Micro Studio 4K cameras.
They have ref inputs, so I can Genlock them all.

What I need to do on top of this, is add timecode to the data.

This is for two reasons:

The video is streamed live into software that requires genlock, timecoded video.
The recorded data must contain timecode.

Is there a way, using an external switcher such as the ATEM, or a Hyperdeck, to inject timecode into the streams and loop through? Or would I need to inject TC in to each stream and then record it?

For example, run all cameras into the switcher, run TC into the switcher from a master clock, run all video streams with TC out of the switcher.

Is there any way to stream video from the Micro Studio 4K with Genlock and Timecode?
Offline

Howard Roll

  • Posts: 863
  • Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:50 am

Re: Insert timecode into video signal with a Hyperdeck / Ate

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 6:21 pm

There are (more expensive) recorders available from Blackmagic, Aja, and Atomos that will imbed LTC the old fashioned way. If you prefer in-vitro, I believe you could use the Aux outs of an Atem to imbed RP188, though only on the 2ME and larger.

Good Luck
Offline

antithing

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:57 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Sharp

Re: Insert timecode into video signal with a Hyperdeck / Ate

PostThu Sep 17, 2020 7:49 am

Hi, Thanks for your reply.


I am a little lost in this, would you be able to point me at suitable hardware for this purpose?

Thank you!
Offline

Howard Roll

  • Posts: 863
  • Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:50 am

Re: Insert timecode into video signal with a Hyperdeck / Ate

PostThu Sep 17, 2020 3:24 pm

The Hyperdeck Studio Pro, Shogun Studio, and all the Ki-Pros are capable of burning LTC to the recorded track.

Burst or Tri-Level needs to be run to the cameras. Blackmagic makes a sync generatir for this purpose.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... rator.html

The Hyperdeck Minis don’t have LTC or audio inputs making them ill-suited for iso recording.

Good Luck
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1474
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Insert timecode into video signal with a Hyperdeck / Ate

PostThu Sep 17, 2020 4:21 pm

Looping through the aux outputs of an ATEM will embed timecode and frame sync the cameras.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 16.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests